Fusible Scrap Leftovers

Before I get started, I want to thank all of you who have subscribed to my blog. It’s always great to start a new adventure surrounded by friends. I feel truly blessed.

Now, on to the first project . . .

fusible scrap pile

10 years worth of little bits and pieces

the beginning I started this piece in a way, when I started quilting, or should I say I started this piece when I learned about fusible applique? Fusible applique is a magic method of applique. It’s easy to use and offers a way to add applique to any project without the stress of some other methods. I have used it off and on for the last ten years.

side effects There is an annoying side effect to using this method. The side effect is you are left with odd shaped pieces of fabric with even weirder shaped bits of fusible attached. This is a problem for a scrap quilter like me. I keep everything, so lots of little pieces of fabric—that in my mind are still useful—shouldn’t be thrown away. I’ll show you my methods for keeping these scraps under control later.

I’m sure some quilt in the future is desperately going to need one of these little pieces of fabric, and since the fusible is already attached, that quilt will be finished that much sooner. I know lots of you wouldn’t even consider keeping what I have lovingly kept for years, but I bought the fabric . . . I still like it . . . so I’m going to use it until the pieces are so small it will be considered lint by most people.

Beyond the problem of leftover fusible being attached to the scraps, there is left over scrap—which is totally unusable at this point because it’s still attached to the fusible. I know, I know, you’re thinking . . . he’s not a well man.

what to do? I’ll let you know what I decided to do in the next post.

Tags: , , , , ,

17 Responses to “Fusible Scrap Leftovers”

  1. Brenda Wall Says:

    You know there may be some Amish in you. They used minute pieces to make their pieces, but they just did not have the helpful fusible.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hmmm, Amish, I have no idea, but anything is possible. Instead of traditional Amish, I could be the dance mix. 🙂

      It’s good to hear from you. Thanks for dropping in.

  2. deb aka purple princess Says:

    The problem with actually KNOWING the person writing a blog? You hear their voice in your head as you read their blog. Now I’m gonna have Tom’s voice in my head until Pat posts, again. Thank goodness Jim doesn’t write a blog! I can just hear Tom talking about his scrap collection…gggg! Tom, I want to know this: HOW did you get all those petals quilted so evenly on the quilt in the masthead!!!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi there, Sorry for not getting back with you. I’ve had so much activity, I’m having trouble keeping up. I do the same thing. I hear you, Pat, Jim, Brenda, Kathy, Sharon, JoAnn, Jean and several others. I also hear ME in my head. Knowing all of these people makes blogging that much more fun.

      The petals lay so well because it was quilted by a wonderful friend of mine. Her name is Kathy Drew and I’m going to tell you about her and her quilting in an upcoming post. She does amazing work. You are going to LOVE and be inspired by it.

  3. Gari Says:

    THAT my friend…. is HILARIOUS!!!! I thought my husband and my aunt kept everything but you win, hands down. I can’t wait to see how you keep it stored. I will admit, I have thought to myself, as I throw those little scraps away, “I paid for that…….” but that is as far as the thought goes. You truly found your calling in quilting, no doubt!!! 😉 Can’t wait to see more!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Gari, I’m glad you enjoyed my post. The fusible scraps are only the beginning of what I keep. I’ll be sharing the rest as I continue to blog. I don’t know exactly what I’m going to do with all this stuff, but I know that I love it and it will find a home eventually. Stay tuned. I have a lot to share.

  4. Patricia Eaton Says:

    Well, Tom….I’m so excited for you…this is going to be a great blog to visit and you’re already off to a great start. I love the photos of the scraps…so colorful and interesting…just like your fabulous quilts. Everyone is in for a great time when they visit your blog. I can’t wait to read of their reactions! And, I know we are all going to learn something each post. You have a great day! pat

  5. Pam Gonzalez Says:

    Well I gues there’s at least 2 of us that do this!! I have mine in ziplock bags from each project I do with fusible web. I’ve even had other people give me theirs!! I make “new” fabric with them. I’m starting to do journal quilts and they work perfect for that!! Pam

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Pam, I think there are actually more than two of us. I think there are thousands. I find these little scraps work perfectly for a lot of projects. It’s just a matter of being able to see their potential—and being able to keep them under control.

  6. Analisa Says:

    I look forward to reading your blog entries. I love the quilt on your header is it yours? I to love fusible and find a lot of uses for them! Analisa

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Analisa, Thanks for taking the time to read my blog and commenting. Yes, the quilt in the header is my. It is my entry in the Simply Quilts Scrapbag Challenge episode. Since I’ve had a few questions about it. I plan to show the full quilt and talk about it in an upcoming post. I love fusible too!

  7. fiberdoodles Says:

    Fusible is the only way I would consider doing applique and I just love it! I too hate to waste or let go. I giggled at your remark of lent….even the smallest of pieces can be contained with a bit of tulle. Don’t ask me how I know this ;0)

    Happy blogging!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      It’s a wonderful way to applique. It’ can help you do amazing things in a very short amount of time. Hmmm, don’t ask? Now you really have me curious.

  8. Sherry Ford Says:

    Tom, I cannot wait to hear about your method for keeping scraps under control! (By the way, are you going to have a cliff-hanger like that in each post? My nerves may not be able to survive that!) After the string-quilting classes I’ve taught, you can imagine how my scraps have multiplied! A few have fusible attached so I may pick those out and send them to you! I haven’t really been a big fan of fusible so I await your inspiration! Also, will you share your favorite brand (the name, not the actual stuff!)?

    • Tom Russell Says:

      My methods for keeping the pieces under control are simple and work for the way I work. I think that is the key to creating an effective method of controlling your stash. It’s all about how you work. One method doesn’t work for everyone.

      I bet you do have a lot of scraps. I have all sorts of ideas and am looking forward to sharing them with you. Because you love crazy quilting, you are going to love what I do with these little fusible scraps.

      I do plan to discuss fusibles in the future. There are so many kinds out there to choose from, so I thought I would talk about them in greater detail in another post. I definitely have my favorites and will share them with you—by name.

  9. Jayardi Says:

    • • • I too have a weakness to throwing anything out. The only problem is… my pieces are really small but no fusible on the back. There are even times I’ve saved the teeny triangles when squaring up HSTs. *geesh* Luckily, the move took care of those.

Comments are closed.


