Shock and Awe

If you want to be amazed and inspired, you have to check out this show. Click on the photo. It will take you to the slide show.

2011 Tokyo International Quilt Festival

Dozens of jaw-dropping quilts were on display

warning This is not something that you be able to do in ten minutes. This show is amazing and there are a LOTS of photos. This show is kinda like a long road trip, I recommend going to the bathroom prior to viewing.

trust me You won’t want this show to stop once it starts. I also recommend you have napkins handy. Drool is SO hard to clean off a keyboard. I hope you enjoy the show.

Thanks for all the wonderful comments yesterday. You made my day!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

20 Responses to “Shock and Awe”

  1. Margo Says:

    GORGEOUS! Thanks for sharing!

  2. jessica Says:

    Hello Tom!

    I kept my fingers crossed that you would start a blog! Welcome!!

    The Shock and Awe show is beyond beautiful. They are gorgeous quilts!

    Looking forward to following your blog.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jessica,

      I’m glad you’ve signed up. Yes, the quilts are gorgeous. I hope be that good one day. The slide show was great, but I’d love to see the quilts in person. That would be a treat indeed.

    • jessica Says:

      I bought a (back copy) of Patchwork Quilt Tsushin once I discovered it had pages and pages of glorious quilts (several years of winning quilts?…if I could read Japanese I’d know for sure!!). I was so tempted to buy several (at the LQS), but at $17 a copy…I thought that I’d wait for their 1/2 off sale!!

      Today, is a sad day for Japan. I just want to note that everyone there is in my prayers.

      …I am really happy to link you to my blog (Fabric Flowers – Taught by Tom Russell)! …that Friday Night PJ Party @ the HGTV Quilting Board was a lot of fun.

  3. Kathy Shaw Says:

    Congratulations on your blog! So glad to see you do this…your work is inspiring and it is nice to know so many will be able to share in your creative experience with you!

    Thanks for sharing photos of the Japan show, I loved every single one of them! Even the quilts in the vendor booths were great!

    Sending you hugs and well wishes!

    Kathy
    http://www.shawkl.com

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Thanks. I’m happy to be here. It’s only taken a couple of years of urging from friends to do it, but I’m finally here.

      The quilts are amazing. I’ve looked at the slides multiple times and I start adding things to my to-do list. Some of the techniques used are so innovative . . . as well as the fabric choices. What can I say that hasn’t already been said. You can learn a lot from studying these quilts.

  4. Patricia Eaton Says:

    Tom, This post really is Shock and Awe!!! You know I love details, so these many wonderful quilts supplied me with a truly awesome array of detailed quilts….many reminding me of YOURS. Thanks for giving me an opportunity to visit this wonderful quilt show without having to leave my house! I am inspired today, thanks to your blog. Have a wonderful day….pat

  5. lyn lewis Says:

    Wow what an amazing show that must have been, would have loved to see some of those in real life. Thankyou for the peek at thats work. Im not a great patchworker and have forayed into boro-ish currently, but I can SO admire great handiwork and lust after the quilts, with the best of them!
    Good luck with the blog, sounds like you already have pals in cyber world so how hard can it be! lol Lyn

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Lyn, Thanks for stopping by. The quilts are truly inspiring for so many reasons.

      Yes, I’m very fortunate to have so many wonderful friends to join me on this new adventure.

  6. Pam Gonzalez Says:

    All I can say is WOW. Thanks for taking me there! It’s so humbling to see the beautiful work. These are some talented quilter’s. Thanks for a beautiful start to my afternoon. Pam

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Wow, that’s what I said too. It is humbling, but also inspiring. You can use any of those ideas as a launching off point for one of your own pieces.

      You can also reference these photos when you are stuck creatively. Nothing like a good quilt show to spur the imagination, and get those juices flowing again.

  7. Will Quilt for Chocolate Says:

    Wow! I got through them all once, but I have to see it again! Thanks for sharing that!

  8. Tammy Bowser Says:

    Hi Tom, met you at the HGTV retreat in Houston. Your quilt show was wonderful! So glad to see you started a blog. I will be watching what you do with those tiny scraps. I have been saving mine too.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Tammy, Thanks for dropping by. I LOVE little pieces and have try to use them every chance I get. I have a lot to share. Hopefully some of my ideas will work for your scraps too.

  9. kathydrew Says:

    What beautiful quilts. I had to go thru it twice. The colors, textures and embellishments are to die for. Thanks for showing it.

  10. Sherry Ford Says:

    Wow, Tom! I only just now had a chance to sit and watch the slideshow — ironically with CNN in the background reporting on the earthquakes and tsunami. Such a reminder to all of us to never take anything (or anyone) for granted.

    After seeing these incredible quilts, I’m so inspired and motivated. Of course, now I want to watch it again and pause to take notes and make sketches (if I could only sketch that as well as you do!). The level of detail and the amount of variation within each quilt is just amazing. I have to say that, more than once, I had visions of your quilts as I looked at these.

    Thank you, Tom, for the opportunity to see these quilts. Your blog is getting off to a wonderful start and I look forward to lots more inspiration in the future.

  11. Linda Teddlie Minton Says:

    Oh my gosh! Thank you so much for posting this link, Tom … you were right, I just had to look at each and every quilt … spectacular!

Comments are closed.


