PSA for MDA

MDA Quilt Raffle Announcement

Glimpses of a few of the raffle quilts you could win.

If I May Quilters are an amazingly generous and caring group of people. They are also passionate, patient and driven. If they feel that there is someone in need, they will do whatever they can, for as long as they can, to ensure that the person in need is helped.

I Just Gotta Say I have such a friend. Her name is Jean. She has been steadfastly raising money for the Muscular Dystrophy Association (MDA) for the past 20 years.

There’s No Way Jean started supporting this cause to help a young boy she didn’t even know. His name is Matt. Matt was only two when he was diagnosed with this disease and wasn’t expected to live to see the end of his teenage years. With dedicated research, advances in medicine, and the unyielding commitment of people like Jean, Matt has not only survived, he has thrived. He is now in college, married and recently celebrated the birth of his first child.

You Just Don’t Say In honor of her 20th anniversary, Jean decided to do something special for Matt, his family, and the MDA. This year Jean set a goal to raise $5,000 for the charity. This is a lofty goal and she knew it. She also knew she couldn’t reach it by herself. So, she did what quilters always do—she asked for help—and boy, did she get it. Quilting friends from across the country donated over 35 quilts to help Jean reach her goal. Because of their unwavering generosity The Great MDA Quilt Raffle was born. (Click on the link or one of photos to see the donated quilts.)

How Can I Play? For every $5 you donate, you will receive three chances (tickets) to win one or more of these wonderful quilts. That right. I said it. One price. . . three chances to win—sweet! Another really cool thing about this raffle is that you do not have to be present to win.

Hurry, Don’t Delay Winners will be contacted by email after the drawing on April 29, 2011. Since April is almost here, there isn’t much time left for you to enter. So, tell your friends . . .  tell your family . . . tell your in-laws . . .  and your outlaws about this raffle.

Just Stay Outta Her Way As if the quilts donated weren’t enough to encourage you to purchase tickets, Jean is adding a little something extra to sweeten the deal. (Remember what I said at the beginning? . . .passionate, patient and driven.) For every $50 you donate, you will receive one special ticket to be entered into a special bonus drawing. This special ticket gives you a chance to win this special quilt.

Feathered Flower Quilt

Feathered Flower Quilt

Oy Vey! You cannot purchase tickets for this beautiful quilt—so don’t ask. The special drawing will only be held if Jean reaches her $5,000 goal. The fabric alone is worth more than the price of admission. So, the only way you are going to win this quilt is by personally donating or raising donations for the The Great MDA Quilt Raffle.

Where Do I Pay? Please make checks payable to MDA and snail mail them to Jean. Checks MUST arrive by April 23, 2011 for your tickets to be entered into the raffle. For questions and mailing address, contact Jean at: jayardi@wi.rr.com.

Is There Another Way? Sure, credit card donations will be accepted through PayPal, but there is a $25 minimum charge. (Remember the bonus quilt? You know you would hate for someone else to get it.) If you use PayPal, you must mark it as a Donation Gift. You will be responsible for all fees incurred. Please contact jayardi@wi.rr.com if you have any questions.

Is There Anything Else I Can Say? Will you please join me in helping Jean reach her goal? If you do, I promise won’t make all the subheads in my next post rhyme with “A”.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “PSA for MDA”

  1. Jayardi Says:

    ••• Tom, you are a gem! I should have asked you to write everything up for me. Thank you so much for helping promote The Great MDA Quilt Raffle.

    Just need to point out one little typo. 😦 Only because it is in my e-mail address. (change the comma to a decimal/dot) It should read jayardi@wi.rr.com.

    Thank you so much!!!! ♥ ♥ ♥

  2. fiberdoodles Says:

    Such a beautiful quilt and what a wonderful thing Jean is doing! Many blessings to her for such a kind and caring heart!! Thank you Tom for sharing this with us.

    • Tom Says:

      Yes, it is a beautiful quilt. The one who wins that is going to be very lucky indeed.
      I feel blessed to call Jean my friend. I’m going to do another post about her in a couple of days. Beyond the MDA, she has a passion for challenges. I’m looking forward to sharing that information with everyone.

  3. kathydrew Says:

    What a wonderful lady and what a wonderful cause.

  4. Dot Collins Says:

    Tom, I think there is a typo in the blog entry. Jean’s e-mail address will not go through as typed. I think it should be jayardi@wi.rr.com. I sent a message to the changed address so I will see if I get a reply. Since I am on roadrunner too, I recognized the error. Dot

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Dot, thanks for letting me know. I thought I could make a link that would let you email Jean, but that didn’t work. I fixed the comma, and removed the link indicator. I should be able to create an email link, but I can’t find out how to do it without the person having a web site or blog. Oh well, I tried. Thanks again.

  5. Thearica Burroughs Says:

    Hi Tom! Thanks so much for posting all of this information on your blog! I wish you were coming to our retreat so you could help the firemen draw the lucky winners out of the hat!

    The Feathered Flower quilt was part of the Ronald McDonald House Charities Raffle that I hosted on the HGTV Forum and Jean won the quilt! She is now going to pass it on to another winner if she raises 5,000.00! I could not believe it when she called and asked if I would be upset if she did that!

    The quilters from the HGTV Forum made all of the blocks and sent them to me and me and my friend Marie put them together. I still have to quilt it but will be doing that in the next 2 weeks! I hope I win it back!!

    So come on everyone…lets buy tickets so we can raise 5,000.00!! 🙂

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi there, I know the retreat will be a blast. It always is. You can’t have that many wonderful people in one room and not have a blast.

      I think the firemen will be in for a real treat. I’m sure that in spite of all the situations they’ve been trained to handle, they are really not prepared for the COF retreat. Who knows, after this visit they may decide to develop a nationwide training program so firemen will be prepared should they have a retreat in their area.

      Jean is a dear. I would have a hard time letting that quilt go too. Someone is going to be very lucky to have that quilt. It is beautiful now, but I know it’s going to be even more spectacular after you’ve quilted it.

      Once it’s quilted, please send me photos. I’d love to share them with everyone.

  6. Thearica Burroughs Says:

    I will definitely send you photos.

    The firemen have pulled our tickets for all 6 raffles we have done so far. The first raffle we did in 2005 was a coincidence that they were in the mall. We went down to Mary Jo’s Cloth Store to meet up with other forum members who lived in NC, SC, and GA and they were there doing their check-ups at some of the businesses. We asked them if they would care to draw our winner and they graciously accepted. That first year was only 1 quilt… boyyyy..they didn’t know what they were getting themselves in to.. LOL

    6 years later and through 6 raffles, we have always gone down to Mary Jo’s and the fire chief is still sending us firemen, or having us go to the fire halls either one… And that one quilt has grown to them having to pull as high as 31 tickets so far… Jean may bust that number this year…

    The firemen always have a great time and kid around with us.. and we love having them be a part. 2 years ago we actually presented them with 8 quilts to be used in the fire stations lounge areas for their support of our raffles. They loved that!

    When I first asked if we could give them some quilts, I had a hard time getting the chief to agree because they are not to be compensated for their community works. But after I told him we didn’t want to give the quilts to certain firemen for them to take home…that we wanted the quilts to go in the lounge so they could wrap up while watching tv… I finally won my case. 🙂

    Those quilts came from forum members too… Those ladies are fantastic and have hearts as big as Texas itself!… if not bigger! 🙂

    The firemen are in for a treat this year because there has been as high as 12 people present at the raffle drawings….but never 86!!!! 🙂

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Congratulations on getting the firemen to accept the quilts. I’m sure they are comforted by them.

      I hope the firemen get plenty of rest before the retreat. Being surrounded by 12 quilters is one thing—86 is a whole nother story.

      North Carolina will never be the same. I’m looking forward to the retreat recap.

Comments are closed.


