Magic Camera Monday Premier

I’m excited, proud, anxious, giddy, eager and delighted to introduce you to Magic Camera Monday. This new photographic feature is part of my ongoing efforts to make this blog MORE EXCITING and INTERESTING.

Yellow Daylily

Daylily

Several bloggers publish image-only posts on Wednesday. They call these posts Wordless Wednesday. I love the idea, but didn’t want to be a complete copycat—so I chose Monday. I love Monday because the word Monday melds effortlessly with the word magic—and I have a Magic Camera. Besides, all the other days of the week sounded stupid with the word magic.
Gardenia leaf

Gardenia

I will post photographs each Monday that feature things I find interesting, for one reason or another. I know that if I’m serious about being a better photographer, I have to take more photographs—lots more.

Lantana cluster

Lantana

I am hoping that Magic Camera Monday will force me learn about my camera and all the features it has. Seeing the world through a viewfinder is very different from looking at it with two eyes.
Lantana flower cluster closeup 2

Great photography is about catching a moment. My goal isn’t to be a great photographer. My goal is to tell better stories and a key component to better stories—is better photography.

Lantana flower cluster starting to bloom

Magic Cameras make difficult shots easier to get. They should—they’re magic after all.

Crepe Myrtle flower cluster

Crepe Myrtle

Magic Cameras can’t correct awkward compositions. Magic has it’s limits, but it is still a great reference photo.

Hens and Chicks closerup 1

Hens and Chicks

Hens and Chciks 2

Who would have thought that there could be so much color in something that appears boring and gray from 3-feet away?

Well, I hope you have enjoyed the first Magic Camera Monday. Please let me know what you think.

Tags: , , , , ,

26 Responses to “Magic Camera Monday Premier”

  1. Nikki Says:

    I think you captured God’s works of art exceptionally well!

    • Kathy Colvin Says:

      Thank goodness Mondays will be more exciting now: they will be colorful and fun thanks to you. I can’t wait to see what you and that Magic Camera find interesting! I love seeing the dew on your succulents, leaves and lantana 🙂 Unfortunately, Karen, there has been very little rain, if any on this side of H-town.

      • Kathy Colvin Says:

        Nikki: Sorry I posted that comment to you. That was meant for Tom but I also wanted to say Hi to you separately. Can you tell I don’t post very often?

      • Nikki Says:

        Hi Kathy – he does have a way doesn’t he?

  2. Karen E Overton Says:

    Magic Monday makes me think that your side of H-town has had some showers. Will you ask your magic camera to send the rain this direction – you could even come with it and capture the waves for your next magical post

    • Tom Says:

      Hi there, That isn’t rain, just the sprinklers. It’s just as dry here as it is in your neck of the woods. I think the Magic Camera would enjoy a trip to the water’s edge. I haven’t tried to shoot water yet.

      Congratulation on finishing your studio remodel. The photos look great!!

  3. Karen E Overton Says:

    PS I did enjoy both the post and the photos! keep it up, you have a talent for all things bloggie

  4. Lynn Kelly Says:

    Loved it Tom. And we share many flowers! I usually take my ‘prettiest’ garden shots in May – before it gets so hot. ha Not this year! Hot early, but thanks to a higher water bill, my insect community is healthy and happy. Even have eggs on my Butterfly Weed and they will be new Monarch’s soon!

    • Tom Says:

      Hi Lynn, I agree, May would be a great time to shoot. My garden isn’t doing great because of the heat. That’s why all the shots are close-ups.

      Congratulations! I would love to have a Butterfly bush, but don’t have the room for it. The color of the bush is so amazing and I love the structure.

  5. Sharon Dixon Says:

    Tom, it looks like you’ve definitely got the hang of using your Magic Camera:) The photos are beautiful!

    • Tom Says:

      Hi Sharon, I’m glad you like the photos. Magic cameras really make it look like I know more than I do.

  6. Lorena Messenger Says:

    Tom, these are gorgeous. Looking forward to your Magic Mondays. What a treat for us to see.

    • Tom Says:

      Hi Lorena, I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. For the first time in 20 or so years, I actually enjoyed taking them too.

      My photography instructor would be so proud. I barely got out of class with a B. My hands shake and constantly made my photos slightly out of focus. It drove both me and her crazy.

      This camera makes the process SO much easier. Now I can focus on the subject and not the camera.

  7. Dot Collins Says:

    You did make it a magic Monday. The pictures are beautiful. I would love to duplicate the day lily in a quilt if I have your permission. I hope I can capture the water droplets. Thanks for a spirit lifter. Dot

    • Tom Says:

      Hi Dot. Glad you enjoyed the photos. You have my permission and I will be looking forward to seeing your quilt.

  8. jayardi Says:

    • • • Looks like the magic has seeped into your fingers. : ) Love the photos and I look forward to more Magic Mondays.

    • Tom Says:

      Hi Jayardi, I WISH! My photos are better, but I have a ways to go in my opinion. The shots turned out better than I expected, which is a pleasant surprise.

      The Magic Camera definitely makes the photographing process easier, so I hope I will continue to improve. It’s so much easier, that I’m actually looking forward to Mondays.

  9. fiberdoodles Says:

    Tom, these pictures look wonderful! I have recently been taking a lot of photos as well trying to improve my picture-taking skills. This will be fun, something to look forward to on Mondays. Thanks for sharing ;0)

    • Tom Says:

      Hi Sharon, Thanks! Good for you. Taking great photographs isn’t as easy as some people make it look. A good camera helps, but learning how to compose a shot—that is a little more difficult.

      Congratulations on taking on the task too. Your blog followers will appreciate your effort.

  10. Carol Ann Wilbourn Says:

    Dear Tom,
    The photographs are wonderful. I love to take pictures of all my flowers, too! They are wonderful subjects and they are always beautiful.
    Thanks for sharing yours.

    • Tom Says:

      Hi Carol Ann, I agree. Flowers are the best subjects ever. I plan to shoot lots more of them in the future. Besides learning the camera, the photos will be great reference for future quilt designs.

  11. Carla Says:

    Looks like you’re on the right road to Magic Camera Mondays. I keep telling myself the same thing if I want to improve my picture taking then I need to take more pictures but things keep side tracking me. Love the pictures and the subject matter. They don’t talk back like the human subject does. ;o) Thanks for sharing

    • Tom Says:

      Hi Carla, Thanks for the compliment. I can’t imagine you needing more practice. You always have a camera around your neck.

      When I was considering this camera, I was initially afraid that the size and weight would prevent me from enjoying whatever event I was at. Then I remembered that you always have a great time wherever you are, and you always have a camera around your neck—so I knew I could handle it.

      Thanks for inspiring me to purchase the Magic Camera.

  12. Thearica Burroughs Says:

    Tom… I so enjoyed your photos! Our flower gardens are suffering because hubby has just not had the time to devote to them like he needs to in a long time! We do get some occasional good shots so maybe I can share with you before summer is done! For now, I will live vicariously through your flower gardens! 🙂

    BTW: I have added a new page to my blog. It is called The Border Patrol. Come check it out! 🙂

    • Tom Says:

      Hi Thearica, I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. My garden isn’t doing that well this year. The heat is really taking a toll. If you will notice, all the photos are close up. That way you won’t see all the dead things.

      I would love for you send me pictures of your garden. I checked out your Border Patrol page. That is very cool, and much needed. Everyone looks for examples on how to quilt a border, and you have just made it easier to find. I can’t wait to see what you add next.

      For those of you interested in Thearica’s Border Patrol, here’s the link to her blog http://www.pigtalesandquilts.com

Comments are closed.


