Quilt Show and Tell

Hand Dyed Bundles

Hi Everyone! This post is really short, but I hope you will enjoy it.

On one of my recent internet surfing adventures, I came across a couple of sites that I thought were interesting. Since I thought they were interesting, I figured you might think so too.

My first link comes from Steele Angel, a member of the hgtv.com message board. She took these wonderful photos during her visit to the Quilters Unlimited Show in Northern Virginia. There is a lot to see, so grab something to drink, sit back, relax and enjoy the show.

This series of posts comes from Quilts in the Barn. Linda C. tells us about meeting up with friends, old and new, on her trip to see the Red & White quilt exhibit, held at the Folk Art Museum in New York City. She kicks off her coverage by showing photographs that give a first-person, show-floor perspective, highlighting the drama and scale of this amazing exhibition. To bring the show down to a more personal level, she shows us a variety of beautiful full-view photographs, followed by equally beautiful close-ups. Linda C. promises to post more photos from her trip—so if I were you—I’d keep checking in to see what she shows us next.

If you haven’t seen my earlier posts on the Red & White exhibit, you can go here and here.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Quilt Show and Tell”

  1. jayardi Says:

    • • • Thank you for all you do to inspire us.

  2. Tom Says:

    Glad you enjoyed the show. I’ll be posting links to as many as I can find. I love a good Show-n-Tell.

  3. Carmen D'Amico Says:

    Both sets of photographs are beautiful and made me wish I could have been there! My other wish would be that the Red & White Exhbit could somehow tour the United States so that all Americans could have an opportunity to view those magnificent works of art.

    • Tom Says:

      Hi Carmen, I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. The quilts are wonderful indeed. From what I understand, there is talk about having the Red & White exhibit happen again.

      Where is will happen is up for debate. Based on the overwhelmingly positive reaction to the show, I think we will see it again in the near future. Who knows, you may see parts of it at some of the larger quilts shows or in a museum.

      The entire exhibit of 615 quilts would be hard for any venue to handle, but they could easily handle parts of it.

Comments are closed.


