Call Of The Wild

Pretty Wild: Fusible Scrap Project Update

I’ve been working diligently on my fusible scrap project since my last post. I’m pretty happy about how the blocks are turning out, so I thought I would share a few of them with you

Assortment of 3x3in. and 6x6in. Blocks

When you use a light-weight fusible for applique, you MUST secure the edges or the applique will fall off. My favorite method for securing these edges is to use a buttonhole stitch. This very simple stitch adds a lot of dimension and color to your applique. I think it really kicks everything up a notch—don’t you?

Assortment of 3x6-in. Blocks

Assortment of 3x6-in. blocks for your viewing pleasure.

Matching the embroidery floss to your applique is easy, but sometimes it’s boring. Using a different color, or a shift in value adds new levels of interest and complexity to your work.

9x9in_Fusible Block With White Flower

Example of a complex 9x9-in. block.

I LOVE this block. It’s one of my favorites. Did you notice how I shifted the color in the floss. Matching color is great—but LOOK at this block! I can’t think of anything more to say. This block ROCKS!

9x9in_Fusible Block With Pink Flowers

Another example of a simple 9x9-in. block.

I love this block too. That’s why I’m showing it to you. I have a few more blocks to finish (three 12×12-in.), then I’ll be moving on to the decorative embroidery stage. I’ve waited months so say that. I’m SO excited. The next stage is almost here . . . YEA!

After reading your comments about being frustrated by the jeanetics teasing, I knew I had to come up with a special way to make it up to you. (Because we’re BFFs and you are very special to me.) I spent all day thinking of you and working on this post, as a way to make amends.

Now that I am fully aware of your feelings, I promise to keep teasing to a minimum.

I hope you enjoyed the show. I had a blast bringing it to you.

Are we still BFFs?

Look forward to hearing from you. TTFN

Tags: , , , , , , ,

17 Responses to “Call Of The Wild”

  1. Lynn Kelly Says:

    The backs of your blocks are quite neat. 🙂

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Lynn. I try to keep the back of my work neat. To me it’s a sign of good craftsmanship. Being a good craftsman is very important to me.

      I think the back look kinda pretty. The only problem I have with them are the knots. I know there are ways to knot/tie off embroidery, without getting that bump, but I’ve been too chicken to try them.

      For some reason I am afraid the floss will work itself loose. It’s not a totally justified fear, but I’m not ready to let got of my knots.

  2. Margo Says:

    Another tease!! I wanna see the “other” side too!! 🙂

  3. Brenda Wall Says:

    I lover your blocks. Your talent just oozes out of the computer screen. Thank you for sharing.

  4. jayardi Says:

    • • • Still BFF’s, but it does NOT make up for the teasing. You better cough it up soon. {do you see my tongue?}

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey there, You make me laugh. I can see your face right now. 🙂

      Since this blog is a part of how I document my quilts, I have to show you everything I find interesting. I think these backs are really interesting. When I look at them, I can see how much better I have gotten at doing the buttonhole stitch.

      Stay tuned. The other side will be revealed shortly.

  5. Eileen Keane Says:

    You can tease, just don’t torture us. What does the front look like?

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Eileen, I have to tease you every now and then, to make sure you are still there.

      By the number of hits and comments I’ve received, it appears you are still here and paying attention.

      The shows about to start, so get something to drink and find a comfy chair, cause I’ll be showing every—EVERY—block I’ve completed so far.

  6. Nikki Says:

    now see – that’s how dumb I am – I kept looking at those blocks thinking “why would he cut out and then refuse the same exact fabric back on top of itself – and all you can see is the stitching around them” LOL – ya’ll are so smart or I’m just soooo dumb!

    • Nikki Says:

      I just realized from the stitching – this is some more of his scraps from other shapes he’s cut out. ding ding ding – brain in gear now – can’t wait to see the colors!!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi NIkki, You are many things, but dumb, isn’t one of them. Your reaction was exactly what I was hoping for. If you were closer I’d give you a great big hug for making me smile.

      You are a blessing to me in ways that I can’t begin to describe.

      Stay tuned . . . color is on the way. 🙂

  7. fiberdoodles Says:

    Those are some very tiny circles there my friend! I bet the front is amazing!! Do you use a heavier weight thread or do you vary? Do you have a preference for fusible or just any light weight?

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Sharon, Yes, those are tiny circles. Several of them are smaller than a quarter inch.

      I love circles as you know and I find these tiny ones fabulous to work with. They are like little jewels on the surface of the block.

      Those are great questions. I plan to cover each of these question in greater detail in another post, but here’s a brief explanation.

      I always use a light-weight fusible (Wonder Under). I use it for several reasons, but I’ll only go over the top two here.

      The first reason I prefer this fusible is because I don’t personally like stiff quilts. Using a heavy-weight fusible makes fabric very rigid, which I don’t find as appealing. I could list several other reasons, but I need to do it in a separate post.

      The second reason like light-weight fusible, is because I do a lot of hand work and its easier to needle through multiple layers. As you know, my pieces are full of layers, so this is really important.

      For this project, I made the decision to do the buttonhole in two weights of floss. Based on the size of my stitches, I thought two and three strands worked best. The bigger applique pieces get three strands and the more delicate pieces get two.

      Limiting the number of strands creates consistency throughout the piece, which is very important.

      These were really great questions. I hope these answers helped. I promise to cover everything in great detail soon.

  8. Dee Ann Mooney Says:

    Oh wow, I thought this was the front too, just like Nikki. I kept wondering why you called it applique when you were doing such lovely embroidery. Duh! Well, I can’t wait to see the front.

  9. Dreamz Happen Quiltz Says:

    And I thought I was the only one to check the back first? Of course we’re still BFF’s!!
    HUGS!

Comments are closed.


