3 Some

3 Some: 3x6in. Fusible Scrap Block Showcase

Here’s the next set of blocks I want to share with you. They’re slightly larger that the last group—and filled with details—so you know I had a lot of fun working on them. 

Can you see how I shifted the values and added color with the floss?

These little details make a HUGE difference in the look of a block. The floss adds interest and helps define the shapes, but is not distracting. You won’t notice these subtleties from far away, but they make quite a statement when the viewer looks at the quilt close-up. I also use this technique to distribute color across the quilt.

3 Some: 3x6in. Fusible Scrap Block Showcase_pt. 1

A few small details can completely change the look of a block.

I used a very tight buttonhole stitch around the smaller elements, which really enhances their shape. The buttonhole almost looks like a satin stitch. It takes a bit of time to do, but I think the results are well worth the effort.

Buttonholing the smaller corduroy pieces was a bit of a challenge, but I LOVE the look. You just can’t beat corduroy for adding texture.

3 Some: 3x6in. Fusible Scrap Block Showcase_pt.2

These blocks are fun, but they are screaming for embellishment.

Well, that’s it for this little showcase. I hope you enjoyed it.

If you’d like to see more blocks, just let me know.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

18 Responses to “3 Some”

  1. Karen E Overton Says:

    Absolutely – we want to see ALL! You are sooo inspiring my dear friend.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi there, Glad you enjoyed the show. You do a lot to inspire me too. Congratulations on your completed renovation. I’m looking forward to seeing the studio in person.

  2. Nikki Says:

    what Karen said!!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey there, Your are an inspiration to many. I know your postcards inspired some people to consider making them, but it was your willingness to challenge yourself that has inspired and motivated the most people.

      You are an inspiration to me. 🙂

  3. Victoria Powers Agee Says:

    Hi Tom- Love this little trio of yours that I was looking at today. Now you tell me about corduroy after I just gave away a huge bag of it! Victoria

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Victoria, Sorry about the corduroy. I wish I’d mentioned it sooner. It’s a great fabric to work with. A little challenging at times, but the effect is worth the effort.

      I also enjoy using Doe-skin suede. It’s a light weight version of ultra suede. It comes is wonderful colors and looks beautiful with a buttonhole stitch.

      Standard quilter’s cottons is great to work with, but you get much more drama and interest when you mix thing up a bit.

      I plan to cover some of this in future posts, so stay tuned.

  4. JoAnn Says:

    Bring ’em on………

  5. Lynn Kelly Says:

    Are these the jeans? They look like fabrics (cotton). They are really well done Tom. Great detail…….with more to come!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Lynn, No jeans here. This is all cotton, with a few extras thrown in. The jeans are for a different project.

      I’m gathering things for my jeans post now, so stay tuned for details. I think you are going to enjoy what I’m planning.

  6. jayardi Says:

    • • • As if you have to ask. You know we want to see them ALL. I really like the unique shapes.

  7. Brenda Wall Says:

    Tom did I miss what the background is done in? The blues (being my favorite color – and my future casket color) matches my eyes.
    And was there a question there about seeing more blocks????? Of course. The more you show us the more we long to see. It is such a pleasure to see all your work.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Brenda, No, you didn’t miss anything.The backgrounds are done in cotton. Lynn asked about blue jeans because of sent out a teaser post I sent out earlier this week.

      Just stay tuned and you’ll get to see everything.

  8. Kathy Colvin Says:

    ditto to all… Absolutely!

  9. Geri Blanton Says:

    Of course we want to see more blocks. (And you know we do).

Comments are closed.


