Magic Camera Monday: July 18, 2011

MCM_Fishing Cat

I feel very fortunate to have so many friendly, affectionate, well-behaved and low-maintenance companions.

MCM_Rooster

Each time I look at them, my heart fills with joy.

MCM_Yellow Cat

They carry lots of happy memories.

MCM_Red Dog

They are willing to do anything to make you smile.

MCM_Reindeer

Everywhere I turn, I see a friend.

MCM_Solar Cat

Each time I enter a room, one of them tries to get my attention.

MCM_Yellow Dog

They are a constant source of inspiration.

MCM_Green Fish

Some days they can express things that I can’t.

MCM_Piggy Bank

Other day’s I just want to shake them.

MCM_Blue Dog

Just when I think I’ve seen it all, they surprise me.

MCM_Yellow Crab

They can give me that certain look and my heart melts.

I hope you enjoyed seeing a few of my pets. They were initially a little shy about having their pictures taken, but eventually settled down. I plan to capture a few more shots in the future, but thought this would be a great way to introduce my menagerie to you.

Stay tuned . . . I have big news to share this week.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Magic Camera Monday: July 18, 2011”

  1. Sharie - Moss Bluff Says:

    I love all your critters. I have a few of my own, those that eat, and those don’t.

    • Tom Says:

      Hi Sharie, Thanks. I’m glad you enjoyed my little show. Until I started photographing this little group, I didn’t realize how many animals I had. This photo essay doesn’t come close to covering all of them, but it’s a reasonable pet deposit.

      I enjoyed shooting them and plan to do it again. They are interesting to look at and a bit of a challenge to shoot. I just need to get better at capturing their personalities.

      Thanks for your comments.

  2. DeNiece Says:

    what — no fish!

    • Tom Says:

      Hi DeNiece, Sure there’s a fish. He’s the fourth from the bottom. He’s green and looks a little angry. I have several fish waiting for their close-ups. I just need to figure out the best way to shoot them.

      Who would have thought fish could be so difficult to work with?

  3. jayardi Says:

    • • • Very interesting collection. Do they have names?

    • Tom Says:

      Hi there, I never considered them a collection. They are just things I’ve gathered over time, but I guess you’re right. They are a collection of sorts.

      No, they don’t have names, just familiar faces. They are old friends and touchstones to my past. They remind me of many happy times.

  4. purejoy Says:

    Tom, what a cool collection. They’re all magnificent, and I love how they each hold a special memory. Hope things are going well for you… your gift with textiles…wow!! Congratulations to your success! There was a huge quilt show here in town and I thought of you. 🙂

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi there, What a blast from the past. You look great! Things are going pretty well here aside from the heat.

      Yes, the AQS show is a pretty big deal. I hoped to come to K-town for it, but it didn’t fit into my schedule. I plan to get back to Knoxville again, but things have to settle down first. Hopefully things will settle down sooner, rather than later.

      Thanks for dropping in to say hi!

  5. Ali Says:

    I love the blue dog, so cute! This menagerie gets around the painful fact that regular pets don’t live as long as we do, I think you’re on to something here :o)

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Ali, That little blue dog is pretty cute. He stands about 3-inches tall and is made of a recycled piece of metal from a 1981 GMC truck.

      Yes, the real ones leave us far too quickly. The other nice thing about pets like these . . . no vet bills and no poop clean up. 🙂

  6. Ali Says:

    That wasn’t the emoticon I wanted …

    • Tom Russell Says:

      I like the emoticon. The parenthesis on the right almost looks like a hand. I assumed you were just giving me a big shout out. It was also a welcome response.

Comments are closed.


