Magic Camera Monday: July 25, 2011

Magic Camera Monday: Crepe Myrtle Close-up

Magic Camera Monday: Frog

Magic Camera Monday: Daisy_1

Magic Camera Monday: Sago Palm Spiral Close-up

Magic Camera Monday: Oleander Blossom_1

Magic Camera Monday: Stump

Magic Camera Monday: Daisy_2

Magic Camera Monday: Oleander Cluster

Magic Camera Monday: Oleander Blossom_2

Magic Camera Monday: Oleander Blossom_4

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Magic Camera Monday: July 25, 2011”

  1. Dreamz Happen Quiltz Says:

    I’m sure you’ve already told us,, but what camera do you use? You’re pictures are beautiful!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Julie, Thanks. I’m glad you like the pictures. I think there is beauty in everything—even flowers that are dying.

      I was hoping to capture the flower’s remaining beauty and a little bit of sadness. The second Daisy and the Oleander blossom in the mulch are my favorite shots.

      The camera I use is the Fujifilm FinePix 14MP 24X Zoom SLR-Style Digital Camera.

      It’s a pretty good all-in-one camera. It’s smarter than I am, so I struggle sometimes to get the shot I want, but that is an issue with me, not the camera.

      I mostly set it on Auto and it takes care of the rest. I started Magic Camera Monday to force me to learn how to use the camera. So far, it’s been a fun, but sometimes frustrating challenge.

      My biggest hurdle is shooting indoors. I can’t get the lighting right. I know this is me—not the camera. That’s why the images in this post were shot outside. It was easier to do.

      I’m sticking with it, so stay tuned for more Magic Camera Monday moments.

  2. jessica Says:

    Beautiful photos!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jessica, Thanks. I love photographing flowers. I also love extreme close-ups. I think the next camera I get is going to have a super-duper-ultra-close-up-macro lens.

      I wanted to get much closer to my subject, but the camera lens kept hitting it.

      Magic Camera Monday was created so I could learn about my camera. I’ve learned that I really want to get in close and this camera does a great job, but I wanna get even closer.

  3. jayardi Says:

    • • • Looks like you could use a little rain over there.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jayardi, Yes, we could use some rain, but I intentionally photographed the dying flowers. I thought they were pretty and sad and I hoped to capture that feeling.

      Creating good (or reasonably good) photography is hard work. I think I shot around 150 to get the 11 I’ve shown you.

      Hopefully I’ll get better at capturing this moment as time goes on. Right now I’m taking the learning curve very SLOWLY.

Comments are closed.


