Magic Camera Monday: November 21, 2011

Magic Camera Monday: Pens

Magic Camera Monday: Circle Templates

Magic Camera Monday: Embellishment

Magic Camera Monday: Rhinestones

Magic Camera Monday: Needles

Magic Camera Monday: Velvet

Magic Camera Monday: Notions

Magic Camera Monday: Chicken Art

When you have as much as I have there is very little room for more, but when I stumbled across these beauties during Quilt Festival, I just had to have them. Besides my stash is like jello—there’s always room for (little) more.

The best part about this stuff is that several pieces were given to me by friends. They saw the item and thought I should have it. Friends like this are a blessing indeed.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

28 Responses to “Magic Camera Monday: November 21, 2011”

  1. Margo Says:

    Fun stuff! Just be careful with those FriXion pens! My (very un-scientific) testing shows that the ink does NOT wash out of the fabric! It may look like it’s gone after washing, but when exposed to cold (in the freezer or from really cold weather) the marks will return!!!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Margo, Yes, it is fun stuff. I can’t wait until I have some time to play around with my new treasures. Thanks for the heads up on the Frixion pens. I had heard they might come back after ironing, but bought them anyway.

      I have a few projects that I think they will be perfect for. If the lines come back no one will notice.

      I plan to do a few experiments along the way too. These pens have too much potential to not use them in some way. I’ll keep you posted on how my experiments go.

  2. Nikki Brackin Says:

    I agree with Margo – I saw photos where someone did a test with 5 different colors – the next photo showed the color up the middle gone after washing it out – then the next photo showed the color coming back after the fabric had been in the freezer. I pretty much stick with colored chalk for markers. I use those pens with the real thin chalk – white, green and blue.

    Love the glitter and the glue pen you use with it – I got one too and can’t wait to use it!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Nikki, Thanks for the info. I use chalk and a few other making tools, but the line is so difficult to follow. These pens remind me of the white blooming pen that is out for making fabric. I just know there is a way to make the marks disappear and never return.

      I plan to play around with a few small things before I consider putting them on a show piece. These pens will still come in handy for applique and embroidery.

      Oh yeah, the glitter is something special. I can’t wait to show you what it can do. Man, oh man . . . the glitter is full of potential. I didn’t plan to buy it at first, but once I was shown what you could do with it, I thought “I MUST HAVE IT!”, so I got it. 🙂

  3. Lynn Kelly Says:

    Interesting that ‘cold’ brings it back. Hmmmm. There is actually something ‘scientific’ about that, but would take too much energy to think thru it! ha

    But it certainly appears that there is some FUN in Tom’s future with all the new toys!

    And great camera work. Brilliant color and detail. Those needles look like ancient spears!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Lynn, Yes, cold is supposed to bring the marks back. It has to be freezing cold, but cold is cold and you don’t know where your quilt may be traveling, so this issue is an issue.

      The fact that marks come back means that the ink hasn’t been completely removed from the fabric. I think that is the key to fixing this problem. COMPLETELY removing the ink. That is the problem we must solve to put these pens to work.

      Yep, I have lot of fun in my future. These news tools/toys are going to make playtime even more fun.

      I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. Sometimes it’s a real challenge to photograph the items. That’s one of the great challenges of photography, learning how to use the camera to see. If you tilt the camera at a good angle and crop just right, a wonderful shot can appear out of nowhere.

      I thought the needles turned out well too. I was grasping for ideas when it came time to shoot them. It was one of the more difficult shots.

      The velvet was a little tricky too, but it’s velvet and luscious and the biggest trick is not messing it up.

      I appreciate your comments and would love to hear how you might be able to remove the pen residue.

  4. eileenkny Says:

    I didn’t buy ANY fabric at Festival. DH and I were so overwhelmed by it all. Love the velvets.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Eileen, This was the only fabric I bought. I don’t usually buy fabric. I have tons of it and get more given to me all the time. I look at Festival as a chance to see new tools and embellishments.

      This year I found wonderful things to embellish my quilts with. I also found new products to alter my fabric. This has become a new interest on mine. I am not interested in making art cloth. I’m interesting in changing the fabric in a more subtle way.

      Now that I have these new tools, I’m going to start experimenting and see if I can make my visions come true.

      Festival can be overwhelming. I usually spend a day, just absorbing it all. Once I get a feel for what’s interesting I start to explore. Festival really can’t be done in a day because it is overwhelming. It should be savored over the course of several days.

      I couldn’t pass up the velvet. It was hand dyed and only $9 for a fat quilter. This alone is a great price for hand dyed velvet. On top of the great price—it’s silk. I could hardly believe my luck in finding it.

      When I look at it, I melt.

  5. deniece Says:

    Ok…. Now i need detailed description on what to do with each item…. i often buy things, because i LOVE them and then i end up with paritial projections….

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey there, I’ll be giving detailed explanations later as I start to experiment. I can’t wait to show you what these items can do.

      I’ve had my eye on several of them for a while, just put off buying them. Now that I’ve watched them being demonstrated, I think they have more potential than I had previously imagined.

      Some of these tools/toys are going to add a whole new dimension to my work. Oh . . . this is SO exciting!

  6. Jayardi Says:

    • • • Lucky YOU! Have fun with all your new toys.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey there, I plan to have a lot of fun with them. I’m also going to share my experiments. I think you’ll see the same potential in them as I do.

      Oh, this is going to be good. I just have to figure out which tool/toy to experiment with first.

  7. Barbara Says:

    Cool Pix…makes me want to run upstairs to my sewing room and sit in the floor with all my new toys!! Love the picture of needles!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Barbara, I’m glad my pictures inspired you. Magic Camera Monday has the added benefit of inspiring me too. The whole time I was shooting I was thinking . . . “I can’t wait to try this out on my next project.”

      I always shop for needles and found several new ones to try. My fingers are itching to do more applique and embroidery, so I need to be prepared.

      Thanks for dropping by!!

  8. Barbara Says:

    And the “chicken art”…how cute is that?!! Is it yours? 🙂

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey there, No, the chicken art isn’t mine. It was created by a wonderful artist named Laura Maclay. She creates these amazing one-of-a-kind applique purses. They are stunningly beautiful and I couldn’t stop looking at them.

      I debated for a while about buying one to use as a sculpture, but I couldn’t justify it, but as I was looking at all her lovely pieces I spied the chicken in a rack at the front of her booth. It didn’t make it to the front of a purse, but it sure makes for a wonderful piece of art in my home.

      I can’t wait to get it framed and in my kitchen. I am SO thrilled to have a piece of her work. She is truly talented and a delightful person to talk to.

      Here’s a link to her web site: http://www.pursesnatcher.com/site/index.htm

      Check it out. You are gonna love what she does. I know I do.

  9. Jackie Says:

    I love all the pics you take, your not only a talented quilter but photographer. The colours make one want to go over to your house and play. I can only imagine how interest

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jackie, You are too kind. I feel like I still have a long way to go photography-wise, but if these shots give you that kind of feeling, then I know I’m on the right track.

      My sewing room is kinda boring. That’s the cool thing about photography, you can take something boring and make it interesting.

      All it takes is finding the beauty in an object. If you look at something long enough, it’s beauty starts to show through. Once you can see it, it’s not too hard to photograph it.

  10. Jackie Says:

    Crap…hit the wrong key and didn’t get to finish my comment….so “I can only imagine how interesting it would be to walk around your sewing room.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      My sewing room isn’t that big. You could stand in one spot and see it all. Now what’s hidden away . . . that’s interesting and sometimes surprising, but I won’t go into that here.

      One day you’ll have to come over and see it for yourself. We could visit and have a sew day.

  11. Debbie Says:

    I’m curious anout the pens-I haven’t seen them before-take care, Debbie

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Debbie, The pens are called Frixion pens. They are erasable pens. Quilters are using them to mark fabric for quilting and embroidery work.

      The pens have an eraser to remove the ink, but the marks can easily removed with an iron. As you know marking a quilt is difficult task. These pens came on the market last year and they appeared to be a God send for quilters needing to mark a quilt.

      Currently there are various chalk products out there and they are adequate at best and poor most of the time.

      That’s why these pens have generated such a buzz. They mark cleanly and precisely and the marks disappear with heat. That means a quilter doesn’t have to wet the quilt to remove the marks. This is obviously fantastic news for people who need to mark their quilts.

      The only problem with these fantastic pens is that the ink will reappear if the quilt is exposed to temperatures below 32 degrees. In most cases that won’t be a problem, one never knows where a quilt will travel, so the risk is great for competitive quilters.

      This problem is also a pretty big deal for longarmers too. Longarmers can’t afford to have a customer have a serious emotional reaction if the marks show back up. A bad reaction could seriously damage their business.

      Although the pens are great, they may not be useful as everyone hopes they will be. As I mentioned earlier, the key to solving the problem is completely removing the ink. Once we solve that problem the pens will be a God send.

      I hope this answered your question. If not, let me know what you didn’t understand and I’ll give it another try.

  12. Shirley Jones Says:

    Looooovvvveee the little chicken. She is darling.
    Shirley Jones
    NE Arkansas

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Shirley, Yes, she is a sweetie. Every time I look at her I smile. All I have to do now is find the right frame and get her hung.

      She is a great addition to my art collection.

  13. Clara Kosloff Says:

    Tom, Love your photography. You truly are an artist. I so enjoy looking at your latest blog. Hope all is well. Aunt Clara

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Thanks Clara! I am glad you like my experiments. It’s a lot of fun to play around with the camera and see if I can capture what I’m trying to. I still make a lot of mistakes, but I’m not showing those. 🙂

  14. Jackie Says:

    Hi Tom, I’m slow…but is “Magic Camera” the name of the camera you use or is it just what you title the Pic’s you post on Mondays. Sorry to ask such a silly question considering you’ve been doing this for sometime now…but the pictures are so beautiful , I want that camera. Or will you tell me “it’s all YOU”?

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jackie, You’re not slow—far from it. The Magic Camera is the name of my camera. It’s officially called a Fuji FinePix 14MP 24X Zoom SLR-Style Digital Camera. It’s a great all-in-one camera.

      I’m not that good at taking photographs. The camera makes me look like I know what I’m doing!

      I know you’ve been good, so I’m sure Santa has one already wrapped up for you.

Comments are closed.


