Magic Camera Monday: November 28, 2011

Magic Camera Monday: blue_green_fringe

Magic Camera Monday: red_purple_spools

Magic Camera Monday: blue_beads

Magic Camera Monday: blue_spools

Magic Camera Monday: red_fringe

Magic Camera Monday: gold_silver_spools

Magic Camera Monday: green_fringe

Magic Camera Monday: green_spools

Magic Camera Monday: purple_fringe

Magic Camera Monday: gold_clear_spools

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

28 Responses to “Magic Camera Monday: November 28, 2011”

  1. Cynthia Strang Says:

    Beautiful! I absolutely love the vibrant colors!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Cyn, Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed the show. These threads and trim were given to me by two of my dearest friends, Kathy Drew and Jim Gatling.

      They thought I could use these in a future project. I couldn’t help but agree with their decision.

      When I was photographing them, I couldn’t believe they were actually mine. Oh, I am a LUCKY man!

      Thanks for dropping by and checking out the photos.

  2. Sherry Says:

    I see you’re decorating for Christmas!

  3. shawkl Says:

    Oh, my crazy quilting muse is drooling all over my shoes!

  4. Carla Says:

    Love the pictures. Wish I was half as good as you.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Carla, Thanks, but what do you mean “I wish I was half that good?” You are that good! 🙂

      Thanks for cheering me on. Your praise makes me feel tingly all the way down to my toes.

  5. Jayardi Says:

    • • • LOOK at all those sparklies. ooooooooooooooh

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Jayardi, Yes, they sure are sparkly and twinkly and glitterly and so scrumdiddlyumptious!

      As you can imagine, I am quite taken with these beauties. I am looking forward to using them on one of my next projects. I just need to spend a little time playing around with them first.

      The glittery thread is wonderful, but I think it’s a little delicate—just like me. 🙂

  6. JoAnn Says:

    Fantastic pictures. Makes me smile as I am off to the gym……..
    big hugs

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi JoAnn, Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. All of this wonderful stuff brings a smile to my face too.

      One of the biggest reasons for me to smile is because this wonderful stuff came from my friends. I know my quilts will be better because of their generosity.

      Hope you had a great workout!

  7. eileenkny Says:

    Bling!

  8. Nikki Brackin Says:

    wow!!!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Nikki, I KNOW! That’s what I was saying with Kathy and Jim gave me this stuff. I still can’t get over it. Isn’t the thread amazing? I can’t wait to try it on my next project.

      I can see so many uses for this stuff. It will be a great compliment to the beading. Oh, I’m so excited!!!!

  9. Jackie Says:

    I bet walking in your studio, would be like walking in Charlie Wankas Chocolate Factory ??? ;o)

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey you! No, my studio isn’t that grand. I think you’d be bored if you saw it—that is unless you were three inches tall—then you would love it in my studio.

      If you were three inches tall, you could have a lifetime of adventures in my studio. Being full-size, you’d fall a sleep because of boredom.

      That’s the great thing about the Magic Camera, it makes the ordinary . . . extraordinary.

      You gotta trust me on this one.

  10. Eddie Landreth Says:

    Wow, pictures so beautiful you just want to eat them. 🙂 A feast for the senses.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Eddie, Thanks. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. The details in this stuff are amazing. I love fringe, no doubt about it, but when I started photographing this stuff, I fell in love all over again.

      Thanks for dropping by!

  11. lindaschiffer Says:

    OOOOH, shiney! 🙂 Thanks for sharing such lovely photos. Hope your heart is healing.

    Linda

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Linda, It’s nice to hear from you. Thank you for the generous compliment about my photographs.

      I seriously doubt that my heart can ever heal. This kind of pain leaves a very large wound.

      I am learning that the pain is equal to the joy. I know I am lucky to be in such pain. As much as it hurts, I know I have been blessed.

      I miss him.

  12. deniece Says:

    ok, me here…. in the first pic, the beads on the ribbon, why is the ribbon so nice? I thought the ribbon was supposed to be sewn so it wouldn’t show…. if it is supposed to be seen, why isnt’ it goregous?? just so curious here…

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Sweetie, What a wonderful surprise. The ribbon is so nice because you don’t have to hide it if you don’t want to. It doesn’t have to be sew into a seam to be used.

      Lots of people topstitch it down and revel in the ease of doing so.

      When I sew on fringe I hide it because I don’t want the satin finish in my work. If I fell in love with the satin, I’d make it a part of the design. There is no right or wrong.You are free to use it any way you’d like to.

      Based on your comments, I think you should topstitch it down. 🙂

  13. Clara Kosloff Says:

    Tom, Your pictures just get better and better. Love the colors and textures. Your photos make them pop. Just another avenue for your gift of design. Aunt Clara

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Thanks Clara. I really enjoy the process, even when it’s challenging. Learning to use this camera has helped me grow in ways I couldn’t have imagined.

  14. Jackie Says:

    Absolutely gorgeous, you take great pictures. I’d love to have a wall of you pics to inspire me. Are these pictures of items you have in your sewing room – if so would you adopt me?

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jackie, Thanks for the compliment. I don’t know what to say. To hear that my photography inspires you thrills me to no end.

      Yes, all the sewing items I’ve featured in Magic Camera Monday are from my studio.

      As much as I would love to adopt you, I’m not in a position to do so right now. Until that blessed day arrives, I’ll do my best to share photos from my studio. That way, when you get here, everything will feel like home.

      Have a wonderful day and thanks for making me laugh.

Comments are closed.


