Magic Camera Monday: December 12, 2011

Magic Camera Monday: White Christmas Cactus

Magic Camera Monday: Red Christmas Cactus

Magic Camera Monday: Scrabble 1

Magic Camera Monday: Scrabble 2

Magic Camera Monday: Scrabble 3

Magic Camera Monday: Pinecones 2

Magic Camera Monday: Pinecone Tips

Magic Camera Monday: Pinecones 1

Magic Camera Monday: Pine Nuts

Magic Camera Monday: Almond Lace Wafers

Magic Camera Monday: Plastic Bags

Magic Camera Monday: Rose bud

Tags: , , , , , ,

25 Responses to “Magic Camera Monday: December 12, 2011”

  1. Jayardi Says:

    β€’ β€’ β€’ There you are. πŸ˜€ Been looking for you all day. I see you really went scrounging to find today’s photos. Thank you.

    Have you played the Scrabble Flash yet? Do you like it?

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi there! Sorry for the delay in posting. We had beautiful weather this weekend, so I took advantage of it and did a LOT of yard work.

      I’m very happy with the outcome, but all that work left me sore physically and mentally and barely able to move, so I’ve been a little slow in getting myself photo subjects together.

      That said, the images are anything, but random.

      The first two photos are of my Christmas Cactus. They start blooming this time of year and from the looks of them, it’s going to be a good year for blooms. Bill bought the cactus last year and they have doubled in size. I’m sure Bill is making them grow like this, because I know nothing about these plants. All I do know is that they are beautiful when they bloom.

      The Scrabble Flash was a gift from my friend Barb. At a recent gathering Barb gave all the people in our little sewing group this game. All my friends play word games and they all fell deeply in love with this game. I fell in love with the idea of photographing it.

      I haven’t played it yet, but i understand it is very addicting and a WHOLE LOT of FUN.

      The pinecones are also a gift from Barb. These pinecones made a the trip from California. I just LOVE them. The colors and textures are AMAZING. I also love the details. That’s why I photographed the broken pieces and the pine nuts. When you focus on something you get the opportunity to really see it and fall in love with it. I fall in love quite often. πŸ™‚

      The textured tubes are actually Almond Lace Wafers, made by my friend Kathy. She gave everyone in the group a few to take home. These wafers are SO SERIOUSLY GOOD, that I have doubts that any of them actually made it to their intended destination. I saved mine so I could photograph them.

      The plastic bags were given to me at the gathering by my friend Candy. Candy knows that I have a love affair with zip locking bags, so she gave me a ton. I photographed them because I can’t help myselfβ€”I’m weird like thatβ€”and my friends love me anyway. πŸ™‚

      I also thought it would be a challenge to see if I could make the bags look interesting. That kind of challenge I’m always up for.

      The last photo is from my front yard was given to me by my friend God. I had 5 roses bloom last week. Most of the roses were too damaged to shoot because of a recent cold spell, but this bud was in great shape, so I had to take a picture.

      I thought is was interesting that roses were blooming outside at the same time of year that Christmas Cactus was blooming on the inside.

      Whew, that’s a long reply, but now you know the rest of the story.

      • Jayardi Says:

        β€’β€’β€’ When I couldn’t find you, I thought uh-oh, I hope nothing is wrong. Happy to hear it’s nothing serious. We’ve had 40Β° and sunshine here too, but I didn’t venture out too far.

        My mistake on the scrounging. You obviously put a LOT of thought into that selection. And, now that I have seen them through your eyes, I see what you mean.

        I’m a big word game fanatic as well and have contemplated getting the flash, but not a whole lot of time for games these days.

        Thanks for your diligence in posting follow-ups and I hope you are feeling better.

  2. Penny Says:

    Mmmm! You really captured the essence of the…the..the…ziploc…. I still have camera envy because I couldn’t make a ziploc look that good!! πŸ˜‰

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Penny, Yes, capturing the essence of a plastic bag can be daunting, but there is a lot of fun in meeting the challenge. Of course you can make a plastic bag look good. All you have to do is get a Magic Camera. It’ll do most of the work for you.

  3. Leslie C Says:

    I love the randomness! And… I don’t know what Scrabble Flash is, but I think I need to get one for my husband’s stocking. Thanks!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Leslie, All my friends love this game. They were telling me stories about how they lost hours playing it and they don’t even remember where the time went.

      I think it’s a fantastic stocking stuffer. Those little cubes are packed with many hours of fun. I”m sure your husband will love it.

  4. Clara Kosloff Says:

    How extra ordanry you make the everyday things appear. I particularly loved the pine cones. Aunt Clara

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Thanks Clara. I love the pinecones too. They are loaded with potential and I’m looking forward to shooting them again. The colors, combined with the textures is inspiring.

      I also have a few crafty ideas for these beauties, which I plan to share with everyone later, so stay tuned.

  5. deniece Says:

    what — no beer? LOL mmwwwaaa niecey

  6. Jackie S Says:

    I kinda understand this post cause I can very
    easily do 20 things at one time. At the same time the organizing side of my brain is blowing up trying to figure what the all have in common? O well thanks for the pictures I love them.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jackie, I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. Most of the items I featured were gifts I received at a recent gathering of my sewing friends.

      The flowers were a gift from God to brighten up my day. I don’t know much about Christmas Cactus, but I am becoming a fan.

  7. Brenda Wall Says:

    You are hilarious. What a combination. Beautiful, practical, and fun.

  8. Barb Says:

    Makes perfect sense to me ;0). I just don’t understand how you had the cookies long enough to take pictures.
    Merry Christmas!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Barb, I thought the photos made perfect sense too. The cookies survived (only) because I needed them for this shoot.

      Oh, the sacrifices I make for Magic Camera Monday. πŸ™‚

  9. Jeff Strang Says:

    Happy Birthday Tom!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jeff, Thanks. I’ve been reading your blog. YEA! The cherry cake in the recent post sure looked good.

      I plan to plant tomatos and herbs this year so I can try the marinara. It looks scrumptious!

      Love to you and Cyn. Merry Christmas!

  10. Lynn Kelly Says:

    Proves once again, “ANYTHING can be intriguing in the right environment and with good lighting!”

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Lynn and thanks. I couldn’t agree more. I think with the right lighting and camera angle, anything can be interesting to look at.

      Since I find beauty in everything, it’s easy make something ordinary look special.

      This is one of the magic things about Magic Camera Mondays. You get to see the world from my point of view.

  11. Jim Gatling Says:

    Of course I just love these pictures!!! Oh, I really enjoyed the email you sent of the unusually fantasic photographs a week ago. The are amazing to view and I have set and watch it 3 times. Thank you!!! I just took a picture of my Christmas cactus for my blog. And like you my thumb is brown, not green. I have no clue how I have kept my plant alive for 3 years and got blooms this year! LOL! Oh, how did Kathy get those little things round and hollow??? Has your ears been burning?? We talked about you at Carol Ann’s Saturday. Susan Bragg and Marilyn Weaver helped iron/fix/square something that I made that they said you need. So, when I get it finished I’ll send it down to Texas. Talk soon.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi there, I’m glad you enjoyed the donuts. I guess looking at the donuts is a great alternative to eating them. I have to admit, I’ve looked at them several times as well . . . ah, sweet memories. πŸ™‚

      Congratulations on your cactus. I can’t wait to see the photos.

      Kathy’s magical and she can make the cookies roll up on their own. It’s something to see.

      Hmmmm, Susan and Marilyn this I need something . . . This sounds very interesting. It’s best not to argue with those wonderful ladies, so I’ll be looking forward to my special gift.

  12. carla Says:

    I have a rose picture in my next blog and a BEE. It buzzed in while I was trying to take the picture. I’m like your friend I can’t make a zip bag look that good.
    Thanks for sharing!

Comments are closed.


