Magic Camera Monday: December 19, 2011

Magic Camera Monday: Xpedia Gnome

Magic Camera Monday: Norfolk Pine

Magic Camera Monday: Red Metal Star

Magic Camera Monday: Red Christmas Cactus

Magic Camera Monday: Sharla's Stocking

Magic Camera Monday: White Christmas Cactus.2

Magic Camera Monday: Green Duck

Magic Camera Monday: White Christmas Cactus.1

Magic Camera Monday: Christmas Tree Plate

Magic Camera Monday: Frog Matryoshka Dolls

Magic Camera Monday: Apple Ornament

Magic Camera Monday: Gifts From Jeff & Cyn

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

Since so many of you were interested in seeing my photoshoot background fabric, here it is for your viewing pleasure.

Magic Camera Monday Fabric: Red to Green

Glacier Park by Caryl Bryer Fallert, Ombre Stripe Heaven's Peak

Magic Camera Monday Fabric: Purple to Blue

Width of fabric is folded in half (22-inches).

Magic Camera Monday Fabric Folded in Half

Fabric at fold line. Yummy!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

26 Responses to “Magic Camera Monday: December 19, 2011”

  1. DeNiece Says:

    I so LOVE the FROGS!!!

  2. Lynn Kelly Says:

    Beautiful Christmas cactus colors. Mine in in mutiny right now as it tried to die this summer. Recovering but still in ICU I believe. Christmas colors so brilliant!

    Makes me wonder what I could do with my little camera if I even tried to do more than point n shoot? Naw, I’d rather sew!

    Exquisite as usual, Tom.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Lynn, Thanks for dropping in. I’m sorry to hear about your cactus. I hope they recover soon. I’m sure that under your supervision they are receiving the best care possible.

      Mine have bloomed in a way that I didn’t think was possible. I am in awe of the blossoms. I had a few blooms last year, but they are nothing like this. They are an amazing little plant.

      I can answer your question easily. The answer is yes. All you have to do is spend a little time shooting each week. You know you can’t sew all the time. 🙂

  3. Brenda Wall Says:

    So look forward to your camera art each Monday. Where did you get the stacking frogs? I have Santa and and Angel set, but no frogs. The Christmas Cactus is really showing itself off isn’t it. Thanks so much for sharing.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Brenda, I have a great time doing it and am glad you enjoy it too. The stacking frogs were a gift from one of Bill’s friends. I don’t know where they came from.

      Yes, the Christmas cactus is really showing off this year. I’m constantly in awe of their beauty.

      Thanks for all your wonderful comments. Merry Christmas!

  4. Eddie Landreth Says:

    OK, the Christmas gnome creeps me, but love the duck, haha! And the silver stacked presents are really cool, lots of bling! The cactus, star, all of it, scream Christmas. I love this time of year, still a kid I guess. I hope you have a blessed Christmas, Tom, with all the joy and peace the season holds.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Eddie, Sorry the Gnome creeps you out. Does he creep you out because he looks like he’s thinking or does he creep you out because he’s a Gnome and not an elf?

      I’m glad you like the duck. He was very photogenic and a lot of fun to shoot. I love how the camera lens distorts his body. It really adds to his personality.

      The wonderful stack of boxes arrived in the mail yesterday. They were a gift from my friends Jeff and Cynthia. Each box is filled with amazing goodies like truffles, peanut brittle, chocolate. This was a huge surprise, because I would have been thrilled, just to get the boxes. They are BEAUTIFUL!

      In addition to the sugary confections, I received a note and a photo. These last two items were the sweetest gift of all.

      I’m glad you thought my photos screamed Christmas. Really, all I was shooting for was red and green, but I’m happy that the shots reached full Christmas status. Yea!

      Thanks Eddie. I hope your Christmas is filled with all the love and joy you can handle.

      Merry Christmas!

  5. Nikki Brackin Says:

    the apple is my favorite – Merry Christmas Tom – (tell Kathy too) – Love you both and look forward to seeing you soon!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey NIkki, I love the apple too! I thought it would be hard to get a good shot, but the apple surprised me. The camera loved it. It always amazes me how a simple object can make such a statement when you focus on it.

      Kathy and I are SO looking forward to seeing you in Beaumont. We’ve cleared our schedules to make sure that nothing gets in the way of our visit. This is going to be so much fun.

      Merry Christmas to you too. Here’s a cyber Christmas ((((((hug.)))))) Love you!

  6. Jayardi Says:

    • • • Everything is so vibrant, cheery and red. BEAUTIFUL! Your background is very interesting too. Can I see more of it?

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi there. Thanks for you kind words. The shots came out a lot bolder than I thought they would. The difference in what the viewfinder shows and what the camera picks up in pretty amazing.

      As I was taking the photographs, I kept thinking they weren’t going to work out.The background was too distracting and it was causing me all sorts of problems.

      After reviewing all the photos I was surprised at how well they actually came out. I’m glad you enjoyed them so much.

      Sure, I’ll try to photograph it today and add to the end of this post.

  7. Jim Gatling Says:

    Hey, Great Pix!! Love that fabric!!! Is it hand dyed? Great talking to you today. Wishing you a Happy Christmas!!! Oh, tell Kathy I said. “Hi!!!” Love to both, JIM
    PS: Remember, Don’t open ’til the 25th!!!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jim, I enjoyed our conversation as well. It’s always good to hear from you. As much as you love Christmas and the color red, I’m not surprised that you like the shots.

      The fabric is not hand-dyed. The name of the fabric is Glacier Park, Ombre Stripe Heaven’s Peak by Caryl Bryer Fallert. The manufacturer is Benartex. I use this fabric all the time for Magic Camera Monday.

      Here’s a link, so you can see it: http://benartex.com/index.php?page=gallery-detail&pg_o=&collection=167

      I love how the color changes as it moves across the width of the fabric. I usually use the blue/purple blend, but there is a section of the fabric that blends from red to green, so I thought it would be great for Christmas. I bet you have or had this fabric at one time. It’s definitely your type of fabric.

      I will tell Kathy hi, and promise not to open the package until Christmas—even though it’s not a Christmas present. 🙂

  8. Jeff Strang Says:

    Merry Christmas Tom!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Merry Christmas to you too! I want to thank you and Cyn for the beautiful gift. I will cherish it always. The candy is appreciated too. Yum 🙂

      Love you both.

  9. Sherry Says:

    I’d love to see some more of that backdrop!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Sherry! I’ve added pictures and information about the background fabric to the Magic Camera Monday post. Check it out.

      I have provided a link for you to see the fabric in its entirety Just click on the picture and it’ll take you to the Benartex web site.

  10. Judy Murrah Says:

    Your camera IS magic.

  11. Cyn Strang Says:

    Tom – such vibrant colors and for some strange reason I really like the sparkly one at the end! LOL. Merry Christmas, dear friend! We miss you and love you lots!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Cyn, I love that last one too. Just before I starting shooting Magic Camera Monday, this lovely package arrived. I couldn’t do the shoot without including it.

      I thought it would be a great way to end a very Christmasy post. I’m glad you agree.

      Thanks for the lovely gift. I miss you and Jeff too. Merry Christmas!

  12. Eddie Landreth Says:

    Wow, that fabric is pretty incredible looking. It almost doesn’t even look like fabric here on the computer screen, it looks so vibrant. Thanks for posting pics of it!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Eddie, I agree. The fabric looks pretty incredible. When I bought it, I thought it would be perfect for applique. I didn’t realize that it would also be perfect for photoshoots.

      Yes, it’s loaded with color and lots of variety. It’s been a great prop for my closeup shots. It brings drama and interest to objects that could easily be overlooked.

      I love how using a short depth of field changes the way the fabric appears in each shot. When I look at the shots as a whole, there is so much variety, but it’s not redundant.

      As I said, it’s a wonderful prop. I appreciate your comments and enthusiasm. Merry Christmas!

  13. Carla Says:

    Love that Christmas Cactus. RED Star where did you find?
    We’re wanting to find a big one for over our fireplace. I think I’m gonna have to buy one and paint it with the antique black and red crackle paint to get the look we want.
    The little gnome is starring at me. lol

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey there! Thanks! I love the red cactus. It’s been an amazing bloomer this year. It’s so prolific and the blossoms are huge. It’s a little Christmas miracle for me.

      The red star isn’t very big. It’s around 12-inches. I have a fireplace size, but I couldn’t find a red version either. I think you are on the right track to make it yourself. If you want a more weathered look, you can always apply an antiquing stain after you crackle.

      Isn’t it wild how real he looks? He is so photogenic, I couldn’t stop taking pictures of him. The Magic Camera loves him, so I’m sure he’ll have a reoccurring in my shoots.

      Really? He’s starring at you? Hmmmm, he doesn’t do that with anyone else . . . you must be special. Yep, that’s it. You’re special. 🙂

Comments are closed.


