Magic Camera Monday: January 2, 2012

Magic Camera Monday: Horse Bank 1

Magic Camera Monday: Horse Bank 2

Magic Camera Monday: Orange Dog Bank

Magic Camera Monday: Mexican Pottery Pig Bank 1

Magic Camera Monday: Mexican Pottery Pig Bank 2

Magic Camera Monday: Pink Blown Glass Bank

Magic Camera Monday: Pink Hand Painted Pig Bank

Magic Camera Monday: Rooster Bank 3

Magic Camera Monday: Rooster Bank

Magic Camera Monday: Dog With Glasses Bank

Magic Camera Monday: Uncle Sam Bank

Magic Camera Monday: Elephant Bank

Magic Camera Monday: Green Giraffe Bank

Magic Camera Monday: Blue Hand Painted Pig Bank

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

24 Responses to “Magic Camera Monday: January 2, 2012”

  1. peggy a bass Says:

    i loved your images today…very whimsy

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Peggy, Thanks. I’m glad the photos brought you joy. I have to admit, I was smiling the whole time I was photographing them.

      Thanks for stopping by. I hope you will come back again soon.

  2. Jayardi Says:

    • • • Where do you find these things?

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey there, Well, I found them around the house, just like all my other Magic Camera Monday subjects.

      These banks are Bill’s. He collected animal banks for the last few years. It’s a small collection, but it’s very special—especially now.

      I planned to photograph them eons ago, but just couldn’t find the right time. Now that things are different, I thought the first post of 2012 would be a perfect time to share them with everyone.

      I love his banks and I had a blast photographing them. I know he was helping me get them ready for their debut. I’m sure he’s smiling right now, knowing how many people have gotten to see them today.

      Today has been the biggest day on my blog so far. Over 3,000 hits and the days not over, thanks to Ami Simms

      I have to thank Bill for today’s subjects and also for getting me the Magic Camera. Today would not have been possible without him.

      Thanks for asking the question. Now everyone will know how today came to be.

      Love you.

  3. judymurrah Says:

    So glad you got to spend some spiritual time with Bill during your photographing of his banks. Bless you,

  4. Analisa Says:

    It’s quite a lovely collection!
    Analisa in Dubai xx

    • Tom Russell Says:

      HI Analisa, I’m glad you enjoyed the show. The banks are pretty neat—and funny—but seeing them in this format makes me appreciate them more. They are fun to have around, and to share. 🙂

  5. Carla Says:

    I love your Magic Camera Monday’s. You have such an eye for it.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Carla, you are too sweet. I’m glad you enjoyed the show. I love Magic Camera Mondays too. Unless it’s Monday and I still haven’t taken any photos. 🙂

  6. Eddie Landreth Says:

    Wow, how fun! Great pics, I especially liked the textures of pictures 4 and 5, the camera really shows it well. Such eye candy all around!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Eddie and thanks! I love that pig. He is very photogenic. The camera really loved him. I didn’t expect such interesting photos, but they turned out to be some of my favorite.

      As the fair goers in Charlotte’s Web said, “That’s some pig.”

      Glad you dropped by to see my menagerie!

  7. Jackie Says:

    I had a large round pig bank growing up and it had a small crack in it for years, when my parents moved from their house to an apartment it broke apart in the move. My Mom was so upset as she had looked after it for years, I’ve found her another one – not so large and definitely not as cute but she said it’s the thought. PS it never had any money in it as I was always spending it….

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jackie, Thanks for sharing your story. I had a piggy bank too, but don’t remember what happened to it. I do remember making a piggy bank out of an old Purex bottle one time. It was so much fun to make.

      I’m glad you found a replacement for your mom. The memories are comforting, even if it’s not the same pig.

      I emptied my bank when I opened my first savings account. Boy, was that a big day. I still remember how grown up I felt holding that savings account book.

      Thanks for providing me with that walk down memory lane. 🙂

  8. jessica Says:

    Sweet parade! After seeing the cute green giraffe, I’ve decided to pack my little stuffed giraffe that the kids bought… it used to sit next to my sewing machine! Yup, I’m going to have to make room in the carry-on for one more thing!

    Wishing you a wonderful 2012!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Thanks Jessica. I think that’s a great idea. Having sentimental things around you while you sew makes the creative process even more enjoyable.

      Happy 2012 to you. I hope it is your best year EVER!

  9. monabroad Says:

    I love the last photo of the pig. I want the pig!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Mona, I’m glad you enjoyed the photos, especially the last one. This pig has been in the group for a while, so I couldn’t tell you where we got it.

      Since I can’t tell you where to buy it, you can come here and visit it any time you would like. It’s a very friendly and gregarious pig, so I’m sure it would enjoy the company.

  10. DeNiece Says:

    hehe Tom, Isobel walked up when i was scrolling thru… she saw the horse/donkey… and Asked if it was made from a Twinkie! 🙂

    always the foodie!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi DeNiece! That is so funny. The horse’s body does look like a Twinkie. Isobel is very perceptive.

      Now that you mention it, the horses legs remind me of those French fried matchsticks I used to eat as a kid.

      Isobel is a very clever girl.

  11. Linda Says:

    Hey, cousin! Just discovered your blog. Great photos. I’ve had fun looking at all your blog entries. I especially liked the one about your Mom and Bill and the surprise of the quilts. I’m glad she is doing better and is able to travel some. I don’t know if anyone in the family has ever told you but the cancer my Dad had was the same kind that your Mom has. I am so glad they have been able to help her. She is such an easy person to love and her laughter is contagious and I know you so enjoyed your visit and being with her this Christmas. Linda

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Linda, What a pleasant surprise. I’m glad you found my blog and took the time to write. Yes, mom is doing SO much better. I can hardly believe it when I hear and see her. God is good.

      I did enjoy my visit. I will remember this Christmas for the rest of my life.

  12. Hilda Says:

    Cute

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Hilda, I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. I had a great time photographing them for you and others to enjoy, but I think in the end, that I have been entertained the most.

Comments are closed.


