Magic Camera Monday: February 13, 2012

Magic Camera Monday: Blubine Frutescens, Orange

Magic Camera Monday: Hens And Chicks

Magic Camera Monday: Thyme

Magic Camera Monday: Little Frog

Magic Camera Monday: Candy Corn Vine

Magic Camera Monday: Lamps Ear

Magic Camera Monday: Rose Bud 1

Magic Camera Monday: Daisy

Magic Camera Monday: Big Frog

Magic Camera Monday: Rose Bud 2

Tags: , , , , ,

19 Responses to “Magic Camera Monday: February 13, 2012”

  1. Lynn Kelly Says:

    Wasn’t the rain wonderful?

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Lynn, Yes, the rain was magnificent, especially these last few showers. I just needed it to stop long enough for me to take pictures.

      Now that I am finished shooting, I am ready for it to begin again. My newly planted flowers are doing high-fives now and asking for more.

  2. Bobbi Lang Says:

    Wow those are really good pictures thank you for sharing..!!!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Bobbi, Thanks. I’m glad you enjoyed the glimpses of my garden.

      All my new plants are doing so well, I’m really starting to get excited about Spring arriving. I think my flowers are going to be spectacular this year.

      I can’t wait to chronicle how it evolves as the seasons change. I won’t be photographing the grass for quite a while.

      The weeds and I are about to go to war and I think there will be casualties. 🙂

  3. Brenda Wall Says:

    There are too many beautiful flowers in your life – are they real???
    Seriously I so love looking at the pictures you take and the frog is really my favorite, or is it the rosebud. Well anyway thank you.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Brenda! There is no such thing as too many beautiful flowers—in my life or yours! Yes, they are real. Can you believe it? Roses blooming in February—simply amazing isn’t it?

      Aren’t the frogs fun? I think they have the greatest expressions. Bill loved these frogs and a few other garden pieces I’ve yet to show you. He enjoyed finding these little critters and then figuring out the perfect place to set them.

      Today felt like the perfect day to introduce a few of the garden menagerie to you.

      • Brenda Wall Says:

        Why is that things that give us warts are so beautiful and fascinating? My favorite frogs are the neon colored ones that can kill you just by touching them. They are just so bright and cheerful. Thank you for sharing the things that Bill cared about, including yourself.

  4. Cyn Strang Says:

    Is that a dusty miller I see? I love those….just love your garden! Wanting to get out and work on mine.

    Awesome photos!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey there, Nope, not Dusty Miller. It’s Lamb’s Ear. When Lamb’s Ear is young the newer petals look a lot like Dusty Miller.

      I spent three days last week getting all my new plants into the ground. I have been collecting plants for weeks and the weather warmed up for a few glorious days, so I knew I needed to get them into the ground before a frost came.

      Everything is now in the ground and all I have to do is baby sit them until they are established.

      Following your suggestion, I am adding vegetables to my flower beds in the back yard. I pick out my first tomato plant last weekend. It has already told me it is happy to be here and it is looking forward to producing hundreds of bite size tomatos for me to enjoy this summer.

      There is a big plant sale coming up next month, I can hardly wait!

  5. jayardi Says:

    • • • I am so envious of your sunshine. It’s snowing and COLD.

    Beautiful flowers. What is the second photo? Looks like hearts.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Brrrrr! Cold and snowing . . . no thanks. We are experiencing a fairly warm winter. The mosquitos are already fully in bloom and have been buzzing around since the beginning of the month.

      As nice as the weather has been, I fear I may not survive the summer.

      Don’t be surprised if you hear that they found my blood drained carcass next to my watering can in the back yard. Mosquitos LOVE me.

  6. judymurrah Says:

    The rain drops on your plants are magnificent. What is the orangey-red bell looking flower? I’d like to have those in my garden, too. It’s time to cut back the roses, but we still have some blooming in this crazy Texas weather. Love your gorgeous red rose buds. So beautiful, Tom. Thanks.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Well hey there!!!! Thanks. I thought the raindrops were pretty amazing myself. I couldn’t take credit for their magnificence, but hoped to capture some of that extraordinary beauty.

      The little orangey-red flower is called a Candy Corn Vine. I fell in love with this sweet little plant a few weeks ago, when I saw it on the clearance table at Lowe’s. Here’s a link to find out more about it. http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/1338/#b

      Is it time to cut back the roses? Mine have never stopped blooming. I had blooms in January. I couldn’t get over it. It has done incredibly well, in spite of my continued neglect. It must love me like mosquitos do.

      Thanks for dropping by to say hello!

      • judymurrah Says:

        Yes, roses are supposed to be cut back on Valentine’s Day or thereabouts so they don’t get too leggy. I had fabulous Knock Out roses at the front door especially around Christmas. They are still blooming, but we will cut them back so they will be even fuller in the spring. Thanks for the info about the Candy Corn Vine. I will check it out.

  7. Carla Says:

    Another great photo shot.

  8. Clara Kosloff Says:

    Good to see you back behind the lens. Love your photos. Aunt Clara

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi there, Thanks for the compliments. I have been a bit out of practice shooting, but the raindrops were too amazing to miss.

      It was a perfect rain for photography. Just enough sun and very wet water. My plants and I reveled in the experience.

Comments are closed.


