Be Mine

Be Mine Opener

Happy Valentine’s Day Everybody!

I had contemplated posting today, but had decided against it because I didn’t have anything exciting or funny to share with you, but that all changed when I went to the mailbox this morning.

My wonderful and extremely thoughtful sister-in-law Jana sent me the most amazing and delicious Valentine’s present EVER! It was so amazing and delicious that I had to share it with you.

The box was filled with all these wonderful cookies, chocolates, a fabulous card, with a note that I had to promise not to eat everything at one time. (I’m debating if I can keep that promise.), and most importantly LOVE.

Along with the fabulous confections, I was sent a delightful email which included these wonderful quotes. Each one speaks to the real meaning of love and friendship, so I felt compelled to share them with you.

A friend is one of the nicest things you can have, and one of the best things you can be.
~Douglas Pagels

When we honestly ask ourselves which person in our lives mean the most to us, we often find that it is those who, instead of giving advice, solutions, or cures, have chosen rather to share our pain and touch our wounds with a warm and tender hand.  The friend who can be silent with us in a moment of despair or confusion, who can stay with us in an hour of grief and bereavement, who can tolerate not knowing, not curing, not healing and face with us the reality of our powerlessness, that is a friend who cares.
~Henri Nouwen

I hope you have a day filled with love, laughter and friendship.

I also want to make sure you hear this at least once today . . . “I LOVE YOU.” Don’t ever forget that. We’re BFFs and that IS forever.

Thanks Jana for the wonderful and delicious surprise—but, just so you know—your love was the sweetest thing in the package.

xxxooo
Tom

Tags: , , , , ,

28 Responses to “Be Mine”

  1. Margo Says:

    Thank you for being the best kind of friend! Big hugs to you.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      I am a reflection of you and your friendship. Happy Valentine’s Day to you. I hope you can feel the love that surrounds you this day.

      You remain in my thoughts and in my heart. xxxooo

  2. Elizabeth Says:

    What a lovely surprise. Happy Valentine’s Day from your friends at Peace By Piecing Quilt Guild.

    xxxooo

  3. Sherry Says:

    XxxOoo BFF Tom!
    Happy ❤ day!
    Sherry B

  4. kimber Says:

    What a delicious surprise! There’s nothing quite like “real mail” especially when it’s a package! Thanks for sharing such a sweet reminder. Hoping you are doing well… your sunshiney spirit really bursts forth from your writing. You are a shining soul!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Kimberly! Yes, it was quite a surprise. I don’t like going to the mailbox—never have.

      Yesterday I kept feeling like I needed to go check the mail, but kept putting it off. This morning I had to stop what I was doing and go. I don’t know why I felt this way, but I did.

      Now I know why. The sugar-laden love was calling me. 🙂

      You are too kind. I am touched that you feel this way. Thank you.

  5. shawkl Says:

    Thanks Tom, and I LOVE YOU back! What a great Valentine surprise…and such a thoughtful SIL! (And there’s no way that I could have kept that promise!)
    Kathy

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Kathy, You are so sweet. It was a really BIG surprise. It took all my will power not to start eating the goodies as soon as they arrived.

      I’m a very lucky man to have such a wonderful person in my life. She really knows how to pack a lot of love in a little box.

      •*¨*•.¸¸♥¸¸.•*¨*• Happy Valentine’s Day •*¨*•.¸¸♥¸¸.•*¨*•

  6. Analisa Says:

    A happy day to you Tom as well! xx
    Analisa in Dubai

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Oh, Happy Valentine’s Day to you too Analisa!

      I hope your day is wrapped in wonderful confections that leave you dizzy with delight.

      •*¨*•.¸¸♥¸¸.•*¨*••*¨*•.¸¸♥¸¸.•*¨*••*¨*•.¸¸♥¸¸.•*¨*•

  7. Jackie Says:

    If you can’t eat them all, I’ll help you!! Hope you have a good day.
    XXOO

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Oh Jackie, you are such a sweet and generous soul to offer to assist me, but I think I have this one covered.

      I hope your day is dipped in chocolate and sprinkled with powered sugar! xxxooo

  8. Jackie S Says:

    I love you too buddy, your awesome! I wanted to make sure you heard it at least once today also ( eventhough I know in my heart you will hear it more than that) XOXO JS!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey you!!! So good to hear from you. I could see your beautiful smile as soon as I started reading your note.

      Thank you for the “I Love You.” No matter how many times I hear it, I still enjoy hearing it again.

      •*¨*•.¸¸♥¸¸.•*¨*••*¨*•.¸¸♥¸¸.•*¨*••*¨*•.¸¸♥¸¸.•*¨*•

      You are a doll. Happy Valentine’s Day!

  9. jayardi Says:

    • • • Looks like I’m late to the party ~ again. 😦

    What a great surprise Tom! Maybe now you’ll head to that mailbox with a little spring in your step. 😉

    ♥ Happy Valentines Day ! ♥

    • Tom Russell Says:

      No, you’re not late for the party. We were all just chillin’ until you got here. 🙂

      I’ve received a lot of wonderful surprises in the mailbox, but I’m still not a fan. Although, if I keep getting sweet surprises like this, I might start looking at my trips to the mailbox a little differently.

      Happy Valentine’s Day to you too!

  10. Nikki Says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day Tom! Missed you this past weekend……

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey there, Sweet Lady! I missed seeing you this weekend too. Kathy told me it was a great show and I have seen several pictures of the quilts and I saw your wonderful quilting on several of them.

      Congratulations on doing such a wonderful job. If you were closer I’d give you a big ((((hug)))) to celebrate your wonderfulness.

      •*¨*•.¸¸♥¸¸.•*¨*••*¨*•.¸¸♥¸¸.•*¨*••*¨*•.¸¸♥¸¸.•*¨*•

      I hope to see you soon! Happy Valentine’s Day!

      Love ya!

  11. Cyn Strang Says:

    Tom!!!!!! We LOVE you, too! Happy Valentines Day! Jeff makes every day Valentines Day in our house. I’m one super blessed lucky girl!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey you! I know you do. That’s why today is so special. Most days everyone says “I Love You,” but today people shout it, so it’s a lot more fun.

      You are indeed a lucky woman. To be surrounded by such love on a daily basis, is a blessing, without a doubt.

      Happy Valentine’s Day to you both! xxxooo

  12. Christine Ricart Says:

    Sweetest of all, those lovely and meaningful words! You are blessed to have such a loving person in your life!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Christine, They are the greatest words every spoken and can create a feeling like no other.

      I am blessed and am thankful that I am aware of it.

      Happy Valentine’s Day to you. I hope you get to savor the sweetness of this day, every day.

  13. Carla Says:

    What a sweet and thoughtful sister. So how’s the sweets holding out? Are you pacing yourself? LOL
    May you always be surrounded by Love. Hugs

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Carla, Yes, Jana is a sweetie and she knows how to buy them. I am pacing myself, but when I the cookies call my name, I go check on them to see if they need my help. Inevitably they say I should eat them, so I do.

      I hate to upset cookies. It makes them taste bad. Good cookies are happy cookies. 🙂

      Thank you. I wish that the same love surrounds you and fills each day to overflowing..

  14. Ruth Harris Says:

    Tom,
    I copied the beautiful quote to save, it is so meaningful to me.
    Ruth Harris

Comments are closed.


