A Golden Moment in Beaumont, Texas

Golden Triangle Quilt Guild Show Opener

The Golden Triangle Quilt Guild show in Beaumont, TX  was this past weekend and have I got a treat for you! Pictures! Lots of Pictures!

Kathy (one of my peeps) and I had made plans to go to this delightful
bi-annual show for over a year now, but due to a last-minute schedule change, I wasn’t going to be able to make it.

We were both pretty bummed about this change of plans, but Kathy decided she would make the trek to Beaumont anyway. She quickly made new plans and hooked up with friend—and famous quilter—Karen Stone, to revel in the beauty and friendship that awaited her in Beaumont. Kathy promised to tell me all about this adventure the next time we got together.

Now, here’s the cool part . . . for you . . . and for me.

Kathy knows how much I like to share quilt show photos with all of you, so she decided to take pictures of the show for us to enjoy. 

Isn’t she the sweetest thing? 

Although Kathy doesn’t have a Magic Camera, she did a fantastic job capturing the beauty she found at this amazing show. The Golden Triangle Quilt Guild is overflowing with many talented quilters. These ladies and gentlemen love big quilts and lots of quilting, so grab a cup of coffee and bask in the beauty Kathy and the Beaumont Guild have shared with us.

To see the quilts, click on the photo above or click here. Either way, you are in for a treat. Enjoy the show!

••••••••••••••••

A friend of mine (Hi Bonnie!) found more wonderful photographs from this oh-so-fabulous, not-to-be-missed-by-me-again show. So . . . if you feel the need to immerse yourself in more beauty, creativity, lusciousness and spectacularness, then click here. Good ahead and click . . . you know you want to. 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

30 Responses to “A Golden Moment in Beaumont, Texas”

  1. Karen E Overton Says:

    I went to the show on Friday, so sorry I missed Kathy and hated to hear you had other obligations too. It was a wonderful show – spent hours there just soaking up inspiration, loved the variety of quilts, colors, styles – I was truly impressed with Dot Collins and Nikki Brackin’s quilting on both their own quilts as well as customer quilts – I took many a close up photo of their design elements which I’m sure will influence my future quilting. Hope to see you at the next show!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey there! I really hated to miss the show, but I mostly hated missing the opportunity to spend time with Dot, Nikki, Allen, Karen and . . . and . . . and . . . the rest of the Beaumont group.

      The Golden Triangle guild is filled with so many friendly and wonderfully talented quilters, that I felt like moving there, just to be a part of the guild.

      I agree. Dot and Nikki rocked the house. Amazing and inspiring work indeed.

      Kathy’s photos are great, but there is nothing like seeing the quilts in person. I won’t let my schedule interfere again, so I’ll see you at the next show—for sure!

  2. Karen E Overton Says:

    PS – I had to smile when I rounded the corner and saw the two quilts you influenced! You do leave a little part of yourself everywhere you go don’t you? – thanks for sharing so much Tom, you truly are a BFF!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      I had a smile on my face when I saw the quilts too. I’m so proud of Pat and Ann for finishing the project and entering it into the show. They both did an amazing job!

      Yea for me and for them!

  3. Sharie - Moss Bluff Says:

    It was a wonderful show. I went on Saturday, Friday anyone that went had to run between the raindrops. Saturday was very chilly, but once inside, you warmed up quickly. I went with a group, and spent so much time looking at quilts, checking out the quilting and the piecing I left little time to shop. The vendors were very nice and they had a large variety of wares. Kathy with her picture taking, picked one of my quilts to show you. I am pleased. The yellow star quilt you have on the front is Allen Jones’ quilt. It was fabulous and the quilting was wonderful done by Dot Collins. My guild met on the following Monday of the show. Allen came over (Lake Charles, LA) and did a trunk show and a program on color for us. He is a fabulous person and his quilts are beautiful. Two years until the next Beaumont show, mark your calendar. Sharie

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Sharie, Sounds like you had a wonderful time at the show. There was definitely an abundance of things to see and appreciate.

      I LOVE Allen’s quilt! The color palette is amazing and Dot’s quilting has gone to a whole new level. What a treat for the senses. Extraordinary work by both quilters.

      My calendar is marked and I hope to see you there!

  4. Robin Says:

    Thank you, Tom! What a wonderful show of quilts! Thank you to Kathy for sending you the photos. I thoroughly enjoyed them! Robin

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Robin, Glad you enjoyed the show.Kathy did a wonderful job capturing the beauty that surrounded her and will appreciate your enthusiasm.

      Thanks for dropping by.

  5. jayardi Says:

    • • • Sorry you had to miss the real thing. Luckily you have some great friends to fill in the gaps with photos. Thank you for sharing them with us too.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey You!! Yes, I am lucky and blessed to have such great friends. My life is richer than I could have ever imagined because of them—and you.

      Glad you enjoyed the show!

  6. Marilyn Kinsey Says:

    Kathy and Tom, thank you so much for sharing the photos of the beautiful quilts and quilting designs. I thoroughly enjoyed your “photo quilt show”. I am still smiling at Dot Collins “Mother Earth 2” redesign of her original 20 years ago. I can’t believe it was 20 years ago when I started that row quilt. I must find it and see what remains to get it finished. Marilyn Kinsey

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Marilyn, I’m glad you enjoyed the show. It was very inspiring and interesting to see it through Kathy’s eyes.

      Don’t you love Dot’s quilt? She told me she was remaking it, but this is the first time I’ve seen it. The original is fabulous, but the new version is even more fabulous. They are the same, but remarkably different. What a treat to see the quilt finished. Yea Dot!!!

      I think you should revisit that project. It is a fantastically fabulous quilt and worth finishing.

  7. Jackie Says:

    Thank you for sharing Kathy’s pictures, how kind of her for taking them and allowing you to share. I noticed one of the quilts shown was done by someone who attended a course given by Tom Russell, how nice for you. I loved her quilt by the way.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jackie, I couldn’t agree more. Kathy is extremely kind and thoughtful. I am fortunate to have her in my life.

      It was fun to see finished quilts from my workshop in the show. Knowing someone was enthused enough to finish the project is always a ribbon-worthy achievement for me.

      Thank you for the kind note, Kathy will appreciate your praise.

  8. KathyE Says:

    Thanks for the photos. It is the next best thing to being at the show.
    Really appreciate everything you do for the quilting world.
    I look forward to hearing from you.
    Going to be teaching soon?

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Kathy, Glad you enjoyed the show. Kathy did a great job photographing the quilts. Yes, the photos are the next best thing, but there is nothing like standing in front of the real thing.

      Thank you for your praise, but I only do what quilters do . . . we share. I’m sure you do the same.

      I have no teaching engagements at the moment, but will be teaching later this year. I have to put my schedule on my blog. It’s an important item on my Wanna-Do List. Thanks for asking and stay tuned for details.

  9. Carla Says:

    Thanks to you for sharing and thanks to your friend for taking the pictures. Enjoyed them very much.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Carla, Glad you enjoyed the show. Kathy follows my blog, so she will be able read your kind words herself. She did a fabulous job, even though she doesn’t have a Magic Camera.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  10. Cyn Strang Says:

    Loved it. These quilts are beautiful!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Cyn, I’m glad you enjoyed the show. I agree, the quilts are beautiful and true works of art. Wow, is all I can say about this show and the quilters who created these amazing pieces.

  11. beverly Says:

    thanks so much for coming to the show and then sharing with others the beauty from many wonderful quilters with others. We are very proud of our show and hopefully we will see you in 2014. the pictures are great

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Beverly, It was my pleasure to share the wonderful quilts and bring attention to this amazing show.

      The quilters should be giddy with joy because of their accomplishments. It was a fabulous show and I will be looking forward to seeing even greater things in 2014.

  12. bingo-bonnie Says:

    Oh TY-TY-Thank YOU for posting this and sharing the link to the photos of the guild’s quilt show!!! I was a member for one year and saw you when you came and gave your trunk show 🙂 but last August my husband took a new job and moved us to Indiana! Last Saturday I was so blue and wishing I was in Texas!! Now I feel like I was sorta there thanks to the wonderful variety of photos 🙂

    And what a treat to see two quilts in the show that were inspired by your workshop class Tom! Congrats!

    Love from Indiana! ~bonnie

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Bonnie! What a wonderful surprise!!!!

      I do remember you from my lecture at Beaumont. Sorry you had to move, but spending a year with those wonderful and talented ladies was a blessing indeed. Those memories will last a life time.

      I am glad the photos brought you back to a place that you loved and enjoyed spending time in. We will be here and waiting for you to return.

      Weren’t the quilts fun? The ladies in my workshop did a fabulous job. I am so happy they decided to share their accomplishments with the world.

      I hope Indiana realizes how lucky it is to have you there.

      It was great to hear from you. Big love to you and yours from all of us in Texas.

  13. bingo-bonnie Says:

    Just located 144 more photos taken and posted on the Beaumont Enterprise’s webpage

    http://www.beaumontenterprise.com/default/article/Photo-Gallery-Quilts-from-the-Golden-Triangle-3211096.php

  14. Charlotte Betts Says:

    Thanks for sharing the photos…..Kathy did a great job photographing the show. I enjoyed having dinner with you and our friends at Barb and Max’s last Sunday. It was fun!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Charlotte, You are very welcome. I agree, Kathy did a fabulous job. I am SO proud of her and grateful for her generosity.

      I enjoyed dinner at Barb’s as well. She and Max are wonderful hosts and the food is always scrumptious.

      It only reminded me that we don’t get to spend enough quality time together. We should try to fix that this year.

      Take care and have a wonderful day.

  15. Dot Collins Says:

    Tom, thanks to Kathy for great pictures and to you for posting them. We had a great show and a great time and the only thing that would have made it better was for you to have been there too. Hope to see you soon. Dot

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hello my dear multi award-winning friend. It’s so good to hear from you and to see so many beautiful quilts with your name on them.

      You must have been eating and sleeping at your machine to get all those amazing quilts done. BRAVO to you! Gorgeous work. You really raised the quilting bar at this show.

      I agree. Kathy did an amazing job taking capturing the beauty of the show.

      It appeared to be a fabulous show and I will be there next time. Promise!!!

      xxxxooo

Comments are closed.


