Longarmed and Available

Longarmed and Available: Can You Feel The Love?

Have you envisioned your quilting soulmate? Someone who enjoys creating and sharing quite evenings at home stitching? An enthusiastic someone who relishes creativity and takes pleasure in creating beautiful stitchwork. A loving, supportive and passionate someone who is ready and willing indulge your every quilty whim.

Have you fantasized about a tall, dark and handsome figure coming into your life and completely sweeping you off your quilty feet? A magnificent someone who is strong, reliable and built to handle the tough jobs, like utility and charity quilts, but sensitive and dependable when a more delicate approach is needed for show and heirloom quilts.

Have you dreamed of spending endless hours with someone who loves quilting as much as you do? A loving and special someone who wakes up every morning, thinking about quilting and goes to bed each night dreaming of fantastically elaborate feathers, sensuously flowing cables, majestic and extravagant repeat-patterns and the most compact and delicate of micro stipples.

Well, if you have answered yes to any of these questions, then I have wonderful news for you. I have decided to sell my 2004 APQS Millennium. It is a fantastic and beautiful machine, but I have realized that I spend more time dusting it than I do quilting on it.

I wrote in my teaser that when one door closes another opens. I meant that sincerely. My selling this machine closes my relationship with it, but opens up the opportunity for someone else to love and cherish it like I have.

I have spent the last few of days photographing and documenting all the equipment, accessories and support material that come with this machine, should you buy it—therefore, this post is pretty long.

If you are not interested in the machine, then hopefully you will enjoy the photography. The big room shots are not the best, because the Magic Camera and I couldn’t figure out how to make them better. Please forgive us.

The accessory photos were fun to shoot, so I hope they bring you as much pleasure as they did me.

Okay, I’ve rambled enough . . . so, let’s get on with the show.

Longarm Front Full View

A view from the front of the machine. That's a part of my stash behind the machine.

This was the top-of-the-line APQS machine in 2004. It is in immaculate condition and had a full check up after I set it up in 2008. I have quilted about 15 quilts on it since I bought it in 2004—so, it’s practically brand new. It comes with a 10-ft. table, hydraulic lift, overhead wiring system, stitch regulator, onboard bobbin winder, thread cutter, electronic channel locks and motorized fabric advance with foot pedal control—and it is virtually dust free.

You can read detailed information about the machine here.

Extra Edge Rider and Cork Wheels

Extra set of Edge Rider and cork wheels.

I installed brand a brand new set of Edge Rider wheels on it when I set it up. Because I was a boy scout in a earlier life, I always like being prepared, so I bought an extra sets of Edge Riders. This means you get two sets of Edge Riders and the original cork wheels with this machine.

Longarm Back Full View

A look at the back of the machine. The wires you see along the bottom are for the hydraulic lift system.

As I mentioned earlier, the 10-ft. table is brand new. I bought it in 2008 along with new leaders and the overhead wiring system. The machine stands 6-ft. 9-in. tall and is 4-ft deep. Because of the reduced footprint, the machine will fit into a 10×12-ft. room.

In case you were wondering how big a quilt you can quilt on this machine, you can quilt up to a queen size—depending on your definition of queen. It will be snug, but doable.

Now that I’ve covered the big stuff, let me tell you about the accessories . . .

2 Horizontal Thread Holders

Two horizontal thread holders.

Because you want to use all types of thread, you get several ways to do it. I am giving you two fantabulously wonderful horizontal thread holders and a super mega fantastical vertical thread holder, mounted to the front of the machine.

Large Thread Guide

Large super magnificent thread holder mounted to front of machine.

Following Sharon Schamber’s advice, I added a large thread stand to the front of the machine for easy thread changes. I also added more thread guides along the side of the machine. These guides help control the whip of the thread, which makes for better stitch quality.

Since we are on the topic of thread, look at all these lovely items . . .

50 Metal Bobbins

50 metal bobbins for all those thread changes in your future.

Because of all the quilting you’re going to be doing, you’ll need bobbins and lots of them, so I’m giving you 50 bobbins to get you started. These metal bobbins are both lovely and talented. Each one has promised to do the same wonderful job for you, that they did for me.

6 Bobbin Cases, 8 Pigtail Thread Guides, 2 Hook Assemblies

Six bobbin cases, eight pigtail thread guides, two hook assemblies.

Along with bobbins, I’m also including bobbin cases, pigtail thread guides and extra hook assemblies. These are extras that every longarmer needs to have.

As wonderful as these machines are, you can still run into problems, so it’s best to have backups handy.

100 MR 4.0 Needles

100 MR 4.0 longarm needles.

If you are gonna spend hours quilting, then you’re gonna need a lot of needles, so here are 100 to make the time pass quickly.

6 Side Clamps On Machine

Six side clamps on machine frame.

I hate things of mine sagging, especially when it’s one of my quilts. To compensate for this concern and to give better tension for my quilts, I added two more clamps to each side of my frame. This means my frame has six clamps (three on each side), instead of the traditional four.

4 Additional Side Clamps

Four Additional Side Clamps

Because I am always concerned that people will stop making what I like, I bought four extra clamps—so you get those too. With all these clamps, you can support your quilt in more ways than I ever imagined.

Motorized Fabric Advance

Motorized fabric advance with foot pedal.

In case you missed the earlier mention. The Millennium comes with a motorized fabric advance. This luxurious mechanism and the decadent hydraulic lift are a must-have for serious longarming—if you ask me.

Extended Base and Curve Template

Hartley Extended Base and Perfect Line Shell Template

If you love working from the front of the machine like I do, then you will need a variety of tools, so that is what you get. You get the Hartley Extended base, which is used for ruler work at the front of the machine and this really groovy shell template.

4 Gadget Girl Rulers

Four Gadget Girl rulers.

You will also get four fabulous Gadget Girl rulers.

  • Shells & Diamond Ruler
  • 90-degree Ruler Jr.
  • 15-in. Diagonal/Diamond Ruler
  • 22-in. Diagonal/Diamond Ruler
If you love pantographs or overall fills and want to try them, then you’ll need laser lights—and guess what?—I have three. I have a laser for every place you could put a laser on the machine. I know, I’m a chocolate mess.
3 Lazer Lights

Three laser lights.

If you don’t know which pantographs to start out with, don’t worry, because I have six wonderful beginner pantos. You’ll be able to practice without the stress of figuring out where to begin. Sweet!!

Six Beginner Level Pantographs

Six beginner level pantographs.

If you’ve moved beyond pantos or don’t feel comfortable trying freemotion from the front of the machine, then I have something wonderful for you.

3 of 6 Circle Lord Templates

Three of six Circle Lord Templates. The other pieces are too big to get into the photo.

Along with the pantographs, I have a Circle Lord. The Circle Lord is a grooved quilting template system for the longarm machine This system allows you to perfectly quilt elaborate designs each and every time, without being a seasoned professional. You can find more detailed information here.

My Circle Lord comes with the following:

Circle Lord no longer makes the Zig Zag and Clamshell templates in this format, so I can’t give the link. Sorry. (If you’d like to see these templates, please let me know and I’ll do my best to photograph them.)

APQS Millennium Owner's Manual

Old and New Millennium Owner's Manuals

Along with the beautifully maintained machine, many tools, parts and accessories, I also have the manuals for putting together and maintaining this glorious machine.

As you may have noticed, I’m pretty fanatic about making sure my machine cared for, so I have both the old and new versions of the Millennium manual. The new version of the manual is a thousand times better than the previous version, providing better detail and photos for maintenance and assembly.

If you need more interactive support, you can call APQS any time. They offer wonderful technical support. They also provide a longarmers with a stellar message board forum.

If you need support, conversation or just want to show off, then you need to go here. This is a wonderful and supportive group and you don’t have to own an APQS machine to take part. I recommend this site for anyone who longarms or is interested in longarming. Truly a fantastic and talented group of people.

Longarm Maintenance and Instruction Videos

Longarm maintenance, assembly and instruction videos

If reading manuals is not your thing, then there is still hope for you, if you want this machine. I am including the maintenance and assembly videos, as well as a great beginner video by Donita Reeves.

Donita covers every aspect of longarming, from how to load a quilt, to how to use rulers and provides you with common sense approaches to quilting. It’s a really great video for any beginning quilter. 

As most of you know—or have figured out by now—I love gadgets. I love buying gadgets and using gadgets. I bought the two gadgets below, with the full intention of using them, but you know how that goes . . .

Do I really have to explain myself? Of course not—we’re BFFs after all—you know how it is, so let me tell you what these wonderful gadgets do.

Thread Lubricant Holder Shorty Brake Bar

Thread lubricant holder and Shorty Brake Bar.

The green thing you see in the foreground is a thread lubricant holder. This nifty device attaches to the front of the machine so you can add thread conditioner to the thread before it goes to the needle. It keeps you from having to squirt stuff on the spool or immerse your troublesome thread in a conditioner.

The item in the back is a Shorty Brake Bar. This oh-so-nifty device allows you to remove one of the rollers from the front of the machine. If you float your quilts and want to get closer to them as you quilt, then this gadget is what you’ve been asking for.

Whew . . . 

That took longer than I thought it would, but I hope you appreciated the tour.

Let me catch my breath for a minute . . . 

Okay, now that I have you interested, I bet you are wondering what I want for this amazingly beautiful, fully trained and rarely used machine and the many accessories I have shown you?

The answer is $12,000. That’s right! For $12,000 you can have all of this amazing stuff. I will even spend time to help you learn how to use the machine if live close by.

This price does not include shipping. Because I am the way I am, I have all the boxes and cartons needed to ship the machine safely, so you do not have to worry about that issue.

Sounds like a pretty sweet deal to me—don’t you think?

If you’re interested in this machine or you know someone who might be, then please send them to my site, shoot me an email or give me a call. This machine needs to be used and loved by someone. If you can help me find a “forever home” for it, I would appreciate it. Thanks!

If you have questions—don’t be shy about asking them—we’re BFFs after all.

••••••••••••••••

Before I go . . . Didn’t you think my teaser photos were funny?

I sure did. I kill me sometimes.

You can contact me by email at tomrussellquilts@gmail.com or by phone at 713-586-9195.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Longarmed and Available”

  1. Jayardi Says:

    • • • Oh, I wish I could help you out. And seriously, I thought we were only going to get the teasers. I hope this does not mean you are giving up quilting.

    Are you getting a new baby?

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey there, Nope, the teasers were just a stall tactic until I could get the post written.

      No need to worry about that. There is no way I’m giving up quilting, because it’s way too much fun. I’ll just be doing it on my Juki 98Q and sometimes I’ll use the Bernina.

      I mostly create small pieces and rarely use the big machine for them, so the Millennium just sits and sits. I keep thinking about doing bigger pieces, but that doesn’t happen. They are always relatively small and easily enough to manage with a smaller machine.

      If I decide to do bigger pieces, I can always buy another machine, but for now, this feels like the right thing to do.

      This is by no means a rash decision, I’ve been contemplating doing it for the last few years.

      I really hope I can find a good home for it soon. It has been neglected for way too long.

      If I decide to get a new baby, you’ll be the first to know about it.

      Thanks for asking these great questions. I’m sure others are wondering the same thing.

      Love ya!

  2. Carla Says:

    Damn I wish I could! Between money and no where to put it.
    Good luck! Some lucky person is gonna be a happy quilter. ;o)

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Carla, You are too funny! I could hear your voice as I read the comment. Thanks for the laugh and thanks for the good luck wishes.

      I know this machine will find a new “forever home” soon and it’s gonna make that quilter as happy as it made me when I got it.

      I’m looking forward to seeing you at the Tri-County Quilt Show next week. I’ve got a big hug all wrapped up and ready for you!

  3. Patricia Eaton Says:

    Tom, Yes, your teasers were funny…not only are you quite witty, but being a hand quilter myself, I thought I was looking at a robot.
    And, after reading your entire post….it sounded like a science fiction novel to me…with a few laughs just for fun. I never did understand science fiction….and I sure don’t understand all this machine quilting lingo….but I know you and whoever is out there wanting your nifty machine…I know you have taken good care of it and it’s all you say it is….so I hope it has a new home soon. And, happy quilting…as they say. pat

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Sweet Lady, I’m glad you enjoyed my teasers. I got the biggest kick out of creating them. It’s good to hear that I’m not the only one who enjoys my humor.

      I appreciate your hand quilter perspective. Being as immersed in this as I am, it was surprising when a few people didn’t recognize what the teaser featured. Instead of deterring me, it only added to the experience.

      Thanks for being surprised, slightly confused and continually supportive. It made all the effort worthwhile.

      I wish you were closer so I could give the kisses and hugs that you so richly deserve. Thanks for making my day!

      Love you to pieces.

  4. Eddie Landreth Says:

    Hi, Tom! Well…..I’m conflicted. Sorry to see this leaving your abode, but at the same time, if it’s not what you need in your life at this point then it sure is taking up a lot of space. I love my Gammill, have continuously trimmed it out with this or that to make it a better ride. It kind of reminds me of my high school days when I was always tinkering with my car to make it badder and badder, haha. Best of luck finding a forever home for it, I’m sure the right person is out there for it, just need to find them.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Eddie, There’s no need for feeling conflicted. There is a time and place for everything. I love my machine, even though I have chosen to sell it. It has brought me tremendous joy over the years and like with your car in high school, I will always have those memories.

      I know the right person is out there too and they are going to be as overjoyed with having the machine as I was.

      Thanks for dropping by and sharing your story. I appreciate it!

Comments are closed.


