Simply the Best in La Grange, Texas

The Best Yet: The Best Little Quilt Show In Texas, La Grange Opener

Hi Everybody!

When the Peeps and I go on an adventure we always expect big and wonderful things to happen and this road trip exceeded our expectations. There was laughter and hugging, kissing and shopping from the time we arrived until they rolled up the streets and told us to go home. It was a day the Peeps and I will remember forevah!

Many wonderful things happened during our excursion to La Grange. One of the highlights was getting to see my quilt Just Sing . . . Sing a Song hanging in the Museum. Along with seeing the quilt hanging, I got to visit with several vintage friends and I also got a chance to make a few new ones. Getting to share this joyous occasion with my Peeps was more than I could have asked for—or so I thought . . .

Okay, get a load of this . . .

While I was at the Quilt Museum, guess who comes waltzing through the door? Go on, guess!

No, it wasn’t Brad and Angelina. You know how these two crazy kids love to see and be seen—but that’s not it. Rumor has it that B&A are planning a trip to the Museum so they can see my quilt while it’s on display. I’m serious. I hear things or I pretend I hear things, because it makes my life more exciting. 

Okay . . . now that you know who it was NOT. Can you guess which other equally amazing and influential celebrities came through the door ?

Go on, guess! You can do it.

Think really hard. Come on, guess!

Drumroll please . . .

The celebrities that came through the door while I was at the Museum, were none other than the legendary Karey Bresenhan and Nancy Puentes, authors of Lone Stars III, A Legacy of Texas Quilts and founders of the International Quilt FestivalInternational Quilt Association and The Texas Quilt Museum.

Now, you are not going to believe this . . .

Not only did they come in, they said “Hi!” to me.

Can you believe it?

Karey and Nancy knew who I was and they said “Hi!” I melted into a puddle, right then and there. 

Not only did they say “Hi!” directly to me (I have witnesses), I also got the chance to sit down and chat with them for a bit. I can’t begin to tell you how much fun that was. 

Well, I could begin to tell you, but then this post would start getting really really long and then you would start getting upset and I would hate for that to happen. I know you are here to see the quilts and all I’m doing is continuing to focus on me and my brush with fame.

Thank goodness we’re BFFs or I’d be in trouble. You always understand when I get excited about something and go off on a tangent. Remember my Judy Murrah episode. Oh yeah . . . who could forget that? 

So, without further ado . . . click here to see the wonderful quilts that were on display this weekend at the Best Little Quilt Show in Texas. This fabulous show is put on by the amazingly friendly and oh-so-talented women of the Colorado Valley Quilt Guild.

I hope you enjoy the show as much as the Peeps and I did!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20 Responses to “Simply the Best in La Grange, Texas”

  1. lindaschiffer Says:

    Thank you for sharing the quilt show photos!! I did truly enjoy my virtual visit – I graduated from High School in Bryan, TX (while my Dad was a grad student at TA&M). Nice to see that there are great quilters in Texas, too.

    🙂 Linda

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Linda, You are very welcome. Showcasing these talented quilters was a pleasure. The quilt show was wonderful and to get to see it again and again is a treat.

      They worked very hard to make the quilts and the show a success and I think they executed both agendas flawlessly. Your response proved that without a shadow of a doubt.

      Oh yes, there are many talented quilters in Texas. They number in the thousands, if not millions. It’s a wonderful state to live in.

  2. DeNiece Says:

    How absolutely cool! sounds like an Omen to me!

    Tell us about the museum!!!! how many quilts, how long has it been open…. what’s LaGrange like??? Anything interesting in LaGrange, like streets that have BIG Oak trees growing in the middle of them? Come on!!! TELL US ALLL!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Oh you! You make me laugh. It was very cool and only time will tell if it’s an omen or not. I will just consider it a blessing for now.

      The Museum was flawless and a amazing facility for showcasing the quilts. I didn’t count, but I think there are around 40 quilts on display from the Lone Stars III book.

      The Museum has been open since November of last year. It’s open Thursday through Sunday from 10am until 5pm—I think.

      La Grange has a wonderful downtown and it’s filled with quaint little shops and of course the Quilt Museum. Next to the Museum they have planted a beautiful Knot garden. It isn’t that pretty to look at now—but come Spring—it’s going to be lovely.

      La Grange isn’t that far, so maybe another road trip is in order. I know someone who has a quilt in the Museum, so there is definitely a reason to go 🙂

  3. Sharon Kisel Says:

    Thanks, again, Tom for the wonderful stroll through the quilt show and excellent photos of some great quilts. Enjoyed it a great deal. And, many congrats on the museum showing of your quilt which is EXCELLENT as well!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Sharon, I’m glad you enjoyed the photographs. I had a lot of fun taking them. Showcasing talent like this is always a blast and to hear that it is appreciated makes it even more worthwhile.

      Thank you for the compliment. You are very kind.

      Thanks for stopping by to comment. I know the ladies from the guild will enjoy reading your words of praise. They worked hard and your comments validate all that effort.

      Thanks again and have a wonderful day!

  4. Jayardi Says:

    • • • I see you and your Magic Camera have become inseparable. Good thing for us you two work so well together.

    Congratulations on meeting your idols. I know exactly how you felt. 😉

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey you! Yes, me and the Magic Camera are having a great time together. It does such a good job that I forget I don’t know what I’m doing. It’s so magical, it makes me look good and I can’t help but love it for that. 🙂

      You are too sweet. Anybody ever tell you that?

  5. Norma Hornung Says:

    Thank you for sharing all these beautiful quilts. I really enjoy seeing all the details.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Norma, You are most welcome. I’m glad you enjoyed the show. I enjoy looking at the overall views of the quilts, but it’s the details that make my heart sing. I’m glad to hear that I’m not alone.

      Thanks for stopping by. Have a fantastic day!

  6. Clara Kosloff Says:

    Tom, I loved your quilt. It certainly is worthy of exhibition. Love, Aunt Clara

  7. Jackie Says:

    Love the pictures, thank you so much for sharing once again. I have to say again I love, love your quilt.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jackie, I’m glad you enjoyed the virtual quilt show. It was a lot of fun to take the photographs and visit with the many talented quilters.

      They worked hard to make this show success and they deserve all the attention I can bring their way. I’m so proud to say I know them.

      Just Sing and I appreciate your enthusiastic praise. 🙂

  8. Charlotte Betts Says:

    Thank you for sharing your photos, Tom……beautiful quilts.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Charlotte, Glad you enjoyed the show. We (me and the Peeps) had a blast. Maybe you can join us next time? We always have room for another Peep. 🙂

  9. lyndafw4 Says:

    OK I guess I can consider that I had a brush w/ a celeb too, since I saw you at the reception Fri. evening, it was great and the museum & quilts dully impressed the 5 of us that went to the Fairground show (and of course made the vendors happy they came). Hit a few others places featured for the weekend and the 3 shops in Giddings. Would have gone to Shiner if they had stayed opened for the afternoon on that great quilt show occasion. They missed a $$$$’s opportunity. Now I have to go see which quilt was yours, Lynda from Corpus Christi

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Lynda, You saw me and didn’t say “Hi!” What’s up with that? I would have loved to meet you. Next time you “see” me, I hope you will do more than “see” me. Come and introduce yourself.

      Sounds like you had an exciting quilt-filled day. I know the guild, the Museum and the citizens of La Grange were ecstatic to have you and your group join in the festivities of the day.

      If you want to see my quilt and read a little more about it, just click here https://tomrussellquilts.wordpress.com/2012/02/17/

      Thanks for dropping by. I loved hearing about your adventure in La Grange.

  10. Delia Lopez Says:

    A wonderful museum and quilt show. The best part was talking with you at the museum about your quilt. You might remember there were four of us and our fabric and fiber group has begun a new art quilt group. Your quilt is fun and we were inspired. Thank you so much.
    Delia from Georgetown

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Delia, The museum experience was wonderful and I SO enjoyed speaking with you. Remember talking to you? Are you serious?

      Of course I remember. It was one of the highlights of my day. Your group was so much fun to talk with. It was a pleasure to be in your company. I was inspired after our meeting as well. The interaction with your group made my day.

      Thanks for checking out my blog and for dropping by to say hello again. I hope to see you again soon.

Comments are closed.


