Magic Camera Monday: March 20, 2012

Magic Camera Monday: Blowfish

Magic Camera Monday: Variegated Sage

Magic Camera Monday: Thyme

Magic Camera Monday: Sage

Magic Camera Monday: Rosemary

Magic Camera Monday: African Blue Basil

Magic Camera Monday: Parsley

Magic Camera Monday: Tarragon

Magic Camera Monday: Golden Oregano

Magic Camera Monday: Dill

Magic Camera Monday: Oregano

Magic Camera Monday: Basil

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20 Responses to “Magic Camera Monday: March 20, 2012”

  1. Penny fp Says:

    MMmmm!!! Making me hungry!!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Penny, The herbs look pretty wonderful don’t they? This is my first year to try growing them. I don’t know how much I will use them for cooking, but they are amazing to look at.

      Glad you enjoyed the show!

  2. jayardi Says:

    • • • I LOVE that first one. Looks like a big red dot in your garden. 😀 Those leaves are pretty awesome too. Fantastic photos once again!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey there, Isn’t that the cutest fish? Bill’s sister brought it to me. She picked it up on the cruise she went on. It’s actually a container for holding a mixed drink.

      She thought I’d enjoy having it the yard so she got it for me. The color looks fabulous in the flower bed and expression on the face is delightful.

      I decided to try to grow herbs this year and had no idea how wonderful they are to look at. Most of the herbs I use are dried and are not very pretty.

      These are amazing to look at and I can’t wait to use them. Well, I say that, but I don’t actually cook that much. Maybe I should say, I can’t wait to give them to someone else to cook with. Hopefully the person I give them to will invite me over to share some of their tasty vittles. 🙂

  3. KathyE Says:

    Is gardening your second hobby? Plants look so healthy.
    Nothing like Mother Nature.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Kathy, I guess you can say it’s a second passion. I was interested in gardening before I was interested in quilting. Houston is a wonderful place to garden, if we get adequate rain.

      This is an amazing area for me to renew my interest in gardening. I have a goal of becoming a Master Gardener this year. I have several friends that are Master Gardeners and I would love to join their ranks.

      Gardening is like quilting in a lot of ways. There is so much to see, do and experiment with. It’s a truly fascinating area of interest to explore.

      Nope, there is nothing like Mother Nature. 🙂

  4. Cyn Strang Says:

    Yum………getting ready to get my herb garden planted!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Cyn! I’m glad you enjoyed seeing the new additions to my flower beds. I added them because of you and your wonderful blog posts.

      I loved the idea of making my own herb mix. I knew the favors would be so much better than store bought herbs, but I had no idea, the plants would be so fantastic to look at too.

      Because of these additions, I think my tastebuds and eyes are in for a treat this year.

      Thanks for inspiring me to add these wonderful things to my flower beds. I have also added two types of tomatoes and peppers.

      I don’t have much room in the flower beds to add vegetables, but I thought these were a great way to start. I can hardly wait to watch them grow.

      I will be posting photos as soon as the crops start bearing fruit. 🙂

  5. Jim Gatling Says:

    Thank you for posting all the green!!! We are having a “Crayon Challenge” in the Arkansas Quilter’s Guild. You draw a crayon out of the sack, break it in half, then write down your name and the name of the crayon. We have a year to create a quilt with shades of that color and neutrals such as black, white, off white, etc. The quilt can be any size. I ended up with army green. Now I know what to do with it!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jim, You are most welcome. The greens in these plants are amazingly different and so full of texture. That’s the reason I decided to photograph them. The diversity is inspiring.

      Sounds like you are going to have a blast with this challenge. I’ll be looking forward to seeing what you come up with. I’m sure it will be like the plants, an inspire us all.

      Love you!

  6. JudyB Says:

    Green isn’t just green, is it? Marvelous textures.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Judy! Oh yes, green is much more than just green. I agree. The textures are amazing. I love the pebbly look of the Sage and the delicate feathery texture of the Dill. Such diversity and delightful fragrances.

      I am looking forward to seeing how these plants evolve. I think they are only going to get more interesting as they mature. I didn’t realize the had blossoms until I added links to the photos. I think I’m in for an added visual treat, beyond the foliage. Yippeee!

  7. Donna Kirkland Says:

    I got to see your quilt at the Texas Quilt Museum in La Grange this past Thursday while I was on Spring Break. It was stunning and I just stood there with a grin on my face. It was the most fantastic quilt there. I was disappointed that I couldn’t take a picture of it. I overheard one of the ladies working there saying the most wonderful things about you as they were discussing your quilt. They just love you!

    I can’t wait to see how you finish the next one! You’re the best! Do you teach any classes?

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Donna, How wonderful for you. Going to the Quilt Museum is a treat. The people are great and the building is a glorious venue for displaying the quilts.

      I’m glad you enjoyed seeing my baby. I still have a hard time believing it’s hanging there. The ladies who work at the Museum are fabulous, delightful and very talented quilters. I feel fortunate to call several of them friend. They make every visit feel like a family reunion.

      I don’t have any new show pieces ready, but I am working hard to get several of them finished this year.

      Regarding classes: I will be adding a new page to my web site very shortly that will have my workshops and teaching schedule on it. I also am working on ideas for a variety of new workshops I’m wanting to teach, so stay tuned.

      I hope to be very busy teaching and visiting with wonderful friends this year.

  8. Eddie Landreth Says:

    Mmmm, I love rosemary. I have a good friend who grows many herbs in her garden and every year she gives me a potted rosemary because she knows how much I like it. I’ll just sit in the rocking chair on the porch by it, stroking the leaves and smelling them. Ahhhh, heavenly scent! I manage to keep it healthy most of the year, but it always seems to be dead by the time Fall rolls around. Sadly, gardening is not one of my better talents. But I do love plants and yours are wonderful looking.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Eddie, I love Rosemary too. It was the first and only live herb I had. Bill got me a Rosemary Christmas tree two years ago and it’s grown amazingly well, in spite of me.

      I love the smell too. It is one of my favorite plants to water. As soon as the water hit it, I’m bathed in the fragrance. It’s a wonderful plant to look at as well.

      I’m grateful that the plant likes Texas or I’d have lost it long ago. I have always had an interest in plants, but I still have a bit of a brown thumb. Thank goodness most of mine know how to take care of themselves. 🙂

      I’ve been working at being a better gardener and so far things are really starting to look up. I been attending gardening lectures and I’ve learned a ton and I’m just getting started. I can tell my plants will appreciate my efforts.

      I’ll be posting lots more from my yard for a couple of reasons, 1) because it’s got interesting stuff (to me) in it and 2) because it’s close and sometimes I don’t shoot Magic Camera Monday until the last minute. 🙂

      As always, thanks for your comments. I really enjoy reading them.

  9. Carla Says:

    Ha! No green thumb here. The hubby has the green thumb and if it don’t behave he yanks it out by the roots. LOL. My mom bought me this rusted metal sign that you hang on your flower pot that said
    “I tried it died”
    Loved the little fishy to start off Magic Monday shots.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Carla, You are too funny. I am not so quick to remove a plant. I figure that if it’s not doing well, I’m doing something wrong. I always give them a chance to grow somewhere else before I toss them.

      I just started making compost, so maybe I won’t feel so bad about tossing plants, because they’ll be useful after their demise. Still, I prefer to see plants green instead of brown. 🙂

      Isn’t that fish cool? My sister-in-law Jana got it for me. I just love it. It’s so happy and colorful. It makes me smile every time I see it.

  10. Sherry Branham Says:

    so, Tom of the green thumb – please help me understand why for 3 years, I could put any herb in any of my flower beds and it went W I L D! Then, one year, I shared my comfreywith my mom. It grew like a weed at her house…and died at mine. Since then, NO HERBS want to play pretty in my dirt. The irises and daffy dills and garlic and lillies do just fine, thank you very much…not so much the herbs. Might I mention…I LOVE MY HERBS! If you’ve got solutions/ideas…that would be nice. Don’t tell me to dig up the one at Mama’s and bring it home…been there…done that 🙂 Killed that 😦

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Sherry, I wish I had a green thumb. My thumb is actually somewhere between green and brown, but I’m working hard to make it greener.

      This is my first time to try growing herbs, so I don’t think I can help much, but I’m going to give it my best shot.

      Based on everything you have said and all that I have learned, I think your problem is the soil. Without good soil your plants can’t survive. The fact that they did well a few years ago and now are not, a prime indication that the soil is in poor shape.

      I have a very simple recommendation and I use it all the time. Add compost to your soil. A good quality works best, but even the cheap stuff has beneficial qualities.

      Whatever you do, don’t feed your plants synthetic fertilizers like Miracle Grow. They feed the plant, but kill the soil. You need to make the soil healthy and it will take care of the plants. It’s amazingly simple, but it’s the only answer.

      I use compost all the time and water my plants with something called compost tea. These simple additions have brought my fairly sick yard back to life. It’s amazing the difference I have seen. Some of my plants appear to grow several inches overnight.

      Good soil is the key. Hope this helps. Happy gardening to you!

Comments are closed.


