Don’t Worry, Be Hoopie

Hoopiness Teaser Opener

Hey Everybody!

I hate to roll out another teaser post, but unfortunately I haven’t finished writing everything I have to say about embroidery hoops. Go figure.

I realized as I was creating this post that I have a lot to say about hoops and embroidery. Imagine that.

It also became increasingly clear that pulling all my thoughts and resources together was taking a bit longer than I had anticipated. Same song, different verse.

Since a few days have passed since my last post, I knew I needed to let you know what I’ve been up to. Cause we’re BFFs and that’s what BFFs do.

So . . . Ta Dah! I’m working on something for you!

I’ve had a blast working on this information and am looking forward to sharing it with you, so stayed tuned . . .

Tags: , , ,

21 Responses to “Don’t Worry, Be Hoopie”

  1. Eddie Landreth Says:

    Looking forward to your depths of wisdom, Tom. Bring it on! πŸ™‚

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Thanks Eddie, I don’t know how deep my wisdom is, but I’ll going to do my best to explain what I like and why. Who knew such a simple question could create such a big response.

      Thanks for the question that sparked all of this.

  2. Clara Kosloff Says:

    Can’t wait for all the information. Aunt Clara

  3. Leslie C Says:

    Tom – I was hoping to comment on your beautiful cover for The Quilt Life – I couldn’t find the original reference, and I am having trouble with my WordPress “identity”… but the cover is wonderful, and … as your BFF (and I know that I am the ONLY ONE), I am SO PROUD!! (big CAPS, if you know what I mean!)

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Leslie, Why thank you. I haven’t mentioned The Quilt Life on my blog. That’s why you haven’t found reference to it. I have been helping Ricky and Alex on their covers for the last few issues. It’s been a fun and a very entertaining process.

      You are very sweet. BFFs always know the right thing to say to make a friends day.

      Thanks for making my day. πŸ™‚

  4. Leslie C Says:

    BTW – I certainly need the HOOPS info too…

  5. jayardi Says:

    β€’ β€’ β€’ Should have warned me a little bit sooner. I just bought two huge ones. (mainly for the circle form. ;))

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey there! I can give you this information now. Take the huge ones back, unless you a stand to support them.

      You are better off with a smaller hoop, no larger than 6 inches. I prefer a 4- or 5-inch hoop most of the time. I only learned that after I bought several of the larger sizes.

      I’ll explain this in greater detail in the next few posts, but trust me, you will be happier if you move to a smaller size.

      • jayardi Says:

        β€’ β€’ β€’ I hate to contradict you but, I didn’t get them to use as they are intended. I need them so I can make really BIG dots. πŸ˜€

  6. kathydrew Says:

    You a tease? No, not you. Can’t wait for your post filled with all your insight. Of course, I always look forward to anything you do, as it is always filled with happiness and excitement. xxxooo

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Love, No . . . I wouldn’t tease. That would just be cruel. I am looking forward to finding out my insights too. I’ve never actually written them down, so I think I’m going to learn a lot from the process.

      Oh, you are sweet. I do seem to get excited about most anything I get to share with my BFFs. How could I not get excited every time I post? I am talking about my favorite topic, with my favorite people. It’s the perfect recipe for excitement!

      LOVE YOU!!!

  7. JoAnn Says:

    anxiously awaiting the next post, you tease…..

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi JoAnn, I’m working on it. Who? Me? Nah, you must have me confused with some other male quilter. Don’t worry about it though. I understand that we all look alike. πŸ™‚

  8. Judy Stadler Says:

    Oh, hoop de doo, I’m hoopily waiting for more info from you.:-)

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Judy, You are too funny. Hang in there just a little longer. I promise it’ll be worth it. The content might not be rich, but it should be entertaining.

      It’s always good to hear from you. Hope you are doing well and creating amazing things!

  9. Linda Says:

    Well, hoop-te-do, cousin! I will be dropping by again to see what knowledge you share with us.
    I’m not sure that you know but our Grandma Russell, Aunt Julie Reid, and my Mom all did embroidery. My Mom even did alot of candlewicking when it was popular. I have some pretty pillows that she made me and one that Grandma Russell made me. I use to dabble in it myself when I was younger and Mom was making things. Grandma and Aunt Julie were quilters too. I have a quilt that Grandma made displayed on a quilt stand at the end of my hallway. I cherish it . I also have some crocheted things she made. Linda

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Linda. No, I didn’t know you mom did candlewicking. What a wonderful surprise. I LOVE candlewicking!

      I have several candlewicked bedspreads and adore them. Candlewicking in on my Wanna-Do List. I know one day there will be an opportunity to try in on one of my quilts.

      Embroidery is a new passion for me. There is so much to explore and I am eager to try it all on for size. Who knows, maybe my playing around with embroidery will inspire you to pick it up again. It is not only beautiful, it is a very therapeutic process.

      I am thrilled to hear that you have so many handmade memories and treasures in your life. It is a blessing beyond measure.

  10. Carla Says:

    I’ll be jumping thru hoops, until then I’m so hoopy.
    Or did I loopy? Hmmm. Oh well, can’t wait.

Comments are closed.


