Magic Camera Monday: April 2, 2012

Magic Camera Monday: Amaryllis 1

Magic Camera Monday: Amaryllis 2

Magic Camera Monday: Amaryllis With Water Drops

Magic Camera Monday: Canna Lily

Magic Camera Monday: Norfolk Pine 2

Magic Camera Monday: Iris 2

Magic Camera Monday: Iris Closeup

Magic Camera Monday: Marigolds

Magic Camera Monday: Poinsettia, Dead Leaf 2

Magic Camera Monday: Monarch Caterpillars 1

Magic Camera Monday: Poinsettia, Dead Leaf 1

Magic Camera Monday: Tomato Blossom

Magic Camera Monday: Monarch Caterpillars 2

Magic Camera Monday: Mexican Petunia

Magic Camera Monday: African Basil In Bloom

Magic Camera Monday: Umbrella Plant 2

Magic Camera Monday: Umbrella Plant Leaf

Magic Camera Monday: Umbrella Plant 1

Magic Camera Monday: Poinsettia Leaf

Magic Camera Monday: Norfolk Pine 1

Magic Camera Monday: Mushrooms 2

Magic Camera Monday: Mushrooms 1

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

32 Responses to “Magic Camera Monday: April 2, 2012”

  1. Elizabeth Says:

    Tom,

    Gorgeous pictures. Spring has really sprung in your yard. I don’t think I’ve ever seen irises that color. Your pictures make me want to plant something, but I have a brown thumb and wouldn’t wanted to be arrested by the garden police for murder. I will, therefore, just sit back and enjoy your magic camera.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Elizabeth, Thanks. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. Opportunities to shoot have been blooming everywhere, so I just had to post a selection of all these things today.

      I could have split the photos up and shared some of them next week, but I just couldn’t help myself. It has been beautiful here and I just felt like sharing all this beauty with my BFFs.

      I inherited this iris from the previous owner, so I don’t know anything about it. It’s not very big and has a unusual structure, so I imagine it’s a hybrid of sorts.

      If there were garden police, I’d have been on America’s Most Wanted for many years. My slightly green thumb is only a recent occurrence. I’m going to enjoy it while it lasts.

      Thanks for dropping by to say hi.

  2. jdmurray2000 Says:

    Once again beautiful pictures and colours. Can’t wait for warmer weather and I can get in the garden. I’ve never seen the white flowers before, do you know what they are called?

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi there, I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. I agree, the color are pretty amazing this year. The little white flowers aren’t flowers. They are mushrooms.

      These little mushrooms pop up all over the flower beds. I thought they looked cool, so I had to take a few shots of them. They are very small and extremely delicate. They are simply beautiful. I can easily see fairies using them as umbrellas.

      Once it starts to get warm they will disappear, so I relish their presence now. I’m glad you enjoy them as well.

  3. Becky Mc Says:

    Beautiful pictures!

  4. kathy Says:

    OMG! These pictures are supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!

    I love the muchrooms – just so delicate and transluscent.

    I love the beads of rain in a line on the vein of a leaf,

    I love the red with yellow stamens,

    I love the three caterpillars racing to the top of their leaves,

    Mother Nature is flaunting her stuff to you this morning. Glad you will share her with the world.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Kathy, You too sweet. What a wonderful word. It’s a sentence unto itself. Love it!

      Mother Nature has been showing off a lot these last few days and I’m thrilled that I had the Magic Camera handy, so I could capture my tiny piece of this wonderful display.

      Your enthusiasm has brought a big smile to my face. 🙂 Thank you!

  5. scrapbasket Says:

    Just beautiful. I love your view on some otherwise ordinary, everyday things. Magic Camera Monday always inspires me to grab my camera and run outside. Only here in Seattle there isn’t much besides dreary gray right now. Spring is being trés obstinate in making its appearance this year, unlike the rest of the country….

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi there, I’m glad that you enjoy my look at the world. It’s always great to hear that the things I photograph inspire others to grab their cameras and start capturing the beauty that surrounds them.

      I’ve been to Seattle and there are amazing sights to see. I guess I was there on the clear days. Gray days are wonderful to take photographs in. I have to get up really early to get good shots. The sun gets so bright here, I have a very short window to shoot in. Shooting in the later afternoon is okay, but the light isn’t as pretty.

      As long as I’m not being rained on, I head outside to take pictures. I shot a few of these images right after the shower that came through this morning. It was just enough rain to make everything wet and luscious. I love raindrops on flowers!!!

      Until Spring arrives in your area of the country, I’ll continue to share mine. That way you won’t have to wait. Spring has definitely arrived and I’d hate for you to miss a minute of it.

      Thanks for stopping by. I hope you’ll come back again.

  6. eileenkny Says:

    Awesome! The variety of color in your photos is the exact reason I’ve started to use batik gradations in my applique projects! What an explosion of hues! Thank you, Tom for having such a good eye and a magic camera.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Eileen, I am glad to see that my photos have brought you joy. Your enthusiasm makes taking the pictures even more pleasurable.

      It is an enjoyable process made better, because I can share the results with people, like you, who relish the details.

      Have a glorious day!

  7. Cyn Strang Says:

    Wow! I am totally inspired to do pockets of color! Gorgeous!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Cyn, You are too sweet. You are doing a great job photographing your garden and illustrating your recipes.

      I think presenting the photos like this make browsing them easier. I try to arrange them so the color and composition flow as much as possible.

      Sometimes it’s good to break up that flows, so you can appreciate the images. That’s where pacing comes in.

      On the web, I feel the gentler transitions are more pleasing and allow you to spend more time appreciating the details. Depending on the subject matter I may feel differently, but for this type of subject matter and what I want to you experience, I think this approach works best.

      I’ll be looking forward to seeing your next post.

  8. Deborah Says:

    Beautiful pics….I want your camera! Just kidding – you really have a good eye and great composition

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Deborah, Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed my little flower show.

      I’m working on the compositions. It is always a challenge to photograph what you are seeing and pay attention to structure at the same time. Sometimes I get so caught up in what I’m trying to photograph, I blow the composition or get too close and the image is out of focus.

      Trying to capture this stuff has been a great creative exploration. I learn something new every time I shoot.

      Thanks for commenting. Have a wonderful day!

  9. Carol Anderson Says:

    What gorgeous flowers! Tom, you and your camera have captured their delicate beauty perfectly.

    If you feel the need to photograph some old garden roses, I know a place………………They could really use an artist to bring their glory to the screen. Alas, my camera (or the operator) is not in your realm.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Well Carol Anderson, as I live and breath . . . How wonderful to have you stop by, especially when you bring such wonderful praise. You excitement makes your comments pop off the page.

      I would love to photograph old roses. I am actually planning a trip to the Rose Emporium later this month, so I can take photos. I am looking forward to the trip. If it’s anything like the photographs I’ve seen, the Magic Camera and I are going to be in heaven.

      I can’t comprehend what you are saying. It doesn’t make sense to me. Someone with your eye for detail would be a natural at photography.

      Maybe you just need a little emotional support when you take the pictures. Give me a call. I’d love to be your photographic training wheels.

      Seriously, call me.

      We’ll take pictures and get scratched together. 🙂

  10. jayardi Says:

    • • • Gorgeous colors!

    Would you believe I found tulips in my yard? I may have to try my hand at photographing them. Wish me luck.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jayardi!!! Thanks for your enthusiasm. It tickles me.

      What? tulips? How cool is that? By all means, grab that camera and take some photos.

      Taking photographs for my blog has been a wonderful experience. Not only do I have fun, but I get the opportunity to studying color and pattern.

      Since you love both of these things, I suggest you take this opportunity to learn one-on-one from Mother Nature. She is a master at this stuff and always inspires.

      So, grab your camera. Get outside and make some magic. 🙂

  11. quilterlynn Says:

    Woo Hoo Tom! I see the Monarchs have come and gone and left their contribution for the next generation. They look almost big enough to be spinning their little green houses and resting! I’m in NC but get to enjoy my own Sugar Land back yard thanks to your wonderful photography of like scenery!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Lynn, Yes. I am delighted to say the Monarchs have come and the next generation are growing like weeds. I am so excited to watch them grow.

      They are very hungry and I’m running out of flowers for them to eat. I hope they start spinning soon. I think it will be wonderful to document their transformation.

      Wow! You’re in NC. How cool is that. Spring should be popping up all other that area soon. Dogwood and Red Bud season is going on right now, so I bet it’s beautiful where you are too.

      Spring is a glorious time of the year. I am looking forward to watching it unfold as we move toward Summer.

      As always, thanks for commenting. It’s great to hear from you!

  12. Clara Kosloff Says:

    The color and framing are just gorgeous. I particularly loved the red hibiscus (I think). Keep up the good work. Love you, Aunt Clara

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Clara, I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. The red flower is actually an Amaryllis. One day I hope to have a Hibiscus, but I first have to find a place to put it. My yard is pretty packed with stuff right now, but there is always opportunity for change in the future.

      Thanks for stopping by. I always enjoy your comments.

  13. JudyU Says:

    Hi Tom,

    When it comes to creatures in the garden, with the exception of fire ants and tomato hornworms, I believe in the Hippocratic Oath of Gardening: First, do no harm.

    A memory. More than 40 years ago I was walking along the banks of the Arkansas River in downtown Tulsa with my then-6 year old brother. All of a sudden he stopped and pointed up at the trees which were absolutely covered with thousands of Monarch butterflies. They were just resting I suppose, their wings barely moving. We stood stock still and watched for the longest time. It was magical, almost mystical.

    I hope the monarch ’embryos’ you are sheltering today will someday leave another big sister and her little brother with a memory that lasts forever.

    Love,
    Judy

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Judy!!! You are too funny. I’ve been lucky so far. My knowledge of gardening is limited, but I’m learning more every day. The weather has helped me a lot or I’m sure there would be more casualties.

      Thank you for sharing that wonderful memory. It was obviously a magical experience. You and your brother were blessed that day.

      I am anxious to see my caterpillars transform into butterflies. They have devoured the flowers they were living on, so I hope they are in the process of changing. I hope my plants grow large enough this year to support even more of these beauties next year.

      Even though the caterpillars haven’t made their transformation, I already have lasting memories of growing butterflies.

      xxxooo 🙂

  14. Beth Macre Says:

    Very pretty photos!

    I found your blog through pinterest. Jim G from Arkansas pinned a photo of yours with my little houses that he collects. Just thought I would stop in and say hello and thank you for finding photo inspiration from Jim’s collection of my houses! I look forward to looking through your blog. ~ Beth

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Beth, Thanks for dropping by to say hi. I love your little houses. They are full of wonderful energy. It is evident that you are having a blast while making them. You have poured love into every detail.

      Oh yes, Jim and his collections are a constant source of inspiration. I am always tickled when I get to share some of what I find with my readers.

      Thanks again for stopping by and introducing yourself. It is a pleasure to meet you and I look forward to seeing more of your work.

      Have a great day!

      FYI: For those of you interested in seeing Beth’s work, you can find it here: http://bethsmacrestudio.weebly.com/index.html

  15. Hannele Says:

    I ended into your blog through Sandra Leichner’s – absolutely fabulous pictures! This is something I have to start to follow on a regular basis. 🙂 Here in Finland the land is still covered with snow, so we can only dream of flowers in the garden…

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hello Hannele, Thank you for your wonderful comments. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. Spring has definitely arrived in Texas. Since you are still covered in snow, you are welcome to enjoy my garden until your is in bloom.

      Sandra is one of my favorite applique artists. She is amazingly talented and a true craftsman. I learn something new every time I got to her site.

      I appreciate your taking the time to comment and look forward to hearing from you again.

      Have a wonderful day!

  16. Carla Says:

    Great photos. Now did you spray your plants with water for the look or did you capture the dew? Hmmm

    So, that clear looking flowery thing is . . . a mushroom? That’s cool looking. Does it have a bloom coming out on it too or was that another plant behind it. Your pictures make me want to rush home take some pictures but alas my yard currently lacks color. Soon though.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Carla! Thanks. No, I don’t spray them. That would be too much work. I just go out after it rains or before the dew dries off. Just as I was getting my stuff ready to shoot, a spot shower came through and watered everything for me. God is an amazing photography assistant.

      Yes, that flowery thing is a mushroom. Until I got down and look at it, I hadn’t considered photographing it either. I was actually photographing another flower, when I realized how cool it looked, so I took a few shots and was amazed how neat it looked.

      The mushrooms are very tiny. I think these stood no more than 3-inches high. The plant behind it is a Marigold. It stands about 5-inches high. As I said, the mushrooms are very tiny.

      Color is great to work with, but these mushrooms images turned out great and they have virtually no color. I think you should just get out there and take some photos and see what happens.

      I bet you can find something amazing, if you just start looking. After the mushroom experience, I’m looking at my yard in a whole new way.

      There is magic everywhere. Thank goodness I have the Magic Camera to capture all of it. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by. Hope you have a fantastic day!

Comments are closed.


