Cinn City: 2012 International Quilt Festival Show

2012 International Quilt Festival in Cincinnati Opener

Hi Everybody!

Sorry I didn’t post last week, but I went on a very special adventure. I plan to tell you about it and share many more things in the next few days, so stayed tuned for more late breaking news. (Yes, I’m teasing you again.)

Since I am running way behind on posting, I will give you the abbreviated version of the trip.

  • Cincinnati: Fabulous
  • Weather: Fabulous
  • Food: Fabulous
  • Road Trip: Fabulous
  • Quilt Show: Fabulous
  • Quality Time With Peeps:ย Fabulous, FABULOUS, FAB-U-LOUS!!!

Important Note There were several quilts on display in Cincinnati that I had already photographed last year in Houston, so I chose not to photograph them again. Since time was short and there was shopping to do, I focused my attention on the quilts that I hadn’t seen before or didn’t remember photographing at the last IQF Show.

Click here or on the image above to see some of the quilts on display at this year’s show. Enjoy!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

20 Responses to “Cinn City: 2012 International Quilt Festival Show”

  1. Sharon Kisel Says:

    Thanks for the great pics, Tom! You are just having TOO fabulous a time – enjoy!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Sharon! You are very welcome. It was a pleasure to spend time with the quilts and share them with those who couldn’t make it to the show.

      HA! There is no such thing as too FABULOUS a time. If there is such a thing, I don’t want to know about it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks for dropping!

  2. Cyn Strang Says:

    Can’t wait to hear about all of it! And I especially want to know about you epicurean adventures! Love you! Xoxo

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Cyn, Glad you dropped by to check out the show. I had a wonderful time and ate at this amazing restaurant named Via Vite. It was fantastic. If you are ever in Cincy, you should eat there.

      Here’s the link: http://www.viaviterestaurant.com/

      I know you will love it, especially if you sit at the bar overlooking the kitchen. The food was great and watching them cook was wonderful entertainment.

      Love to you and Jeff. xxxooo ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Cyn Strang Says:

        Ooooooooh my. I am salivating over this menu! Bad, bad, good, wonderful Tom! Thank you for sharing! I have book marked this restaurant….we know someone who lives in Cincy! Hmmmmm….might have to plan a trip sometime!

  3. jayardi Says:

    โ€ข โ€ข โ€ข Sounds like you had a Fabulous time and it looked like you were having a lot of fun. ๐Ÿ˜€ Sure wish I could have joined you.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Jayardi! Yes, it was a fabulous time and over all too soon. I wish you could have shared the experience with me. It would have made a fabulous time, even better.

      Hopefully we’ll be able to see a big show and share an adventure in the future.

      Thanks for dropping by to check out the show. xxxooo ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. cat stone Says:

    bee-autiful photos – thanks for sharing. this is as close as I’m ever going to get!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Cat, Thanks. I’m glad you enjoyed the show. There was a lot to see and I had a fun photographing it for you.

      The photos turned out nice, but it is nothing like seeing them in person. Hopefully the Universe will help you get to one of these big shows in the future. They are definitely worth the effort it takes to get to them.

      So many amazing quilts in one glorious space is so inspiring and uplifting. I feel very lucky to have gotten to go to this show. It wasn’t even on my schedule, but the Universe thought I should be there, so it happened. I love how the Universe works.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. It’s always nice to talk to new people. Hope you’ll come back again.

  5. Jackie Corsi Says:

    Many many thanks for posting these beautiful pics…….in fact many thanks for all your postings!! Living in rural Uk often means that we miss out on so much……..but definitely not with you around. Please keep up the good work!! Your own quilts are stunningly beautiful and you have open my eyes to many new possibilities……with love and gratitude.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jackie, Thanks for your kind words. I really appreciate it an am glad my efforts bring you joy. It’s wonderful to share and the internet makes it so easy.

      I have many adventures and projects to cover in the future, so stay tuned. We are going to have a blast together and you won’t miss any of it.

      Thanks for dropping by. It’s great to hear from you.

  6. candy Says:

    I miss this show! ๐Ÿ™‚ It used to be in my backyard. Your photos are beautiful! Some gorgeous quilts! Thanks for sharing them.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Candy, I know it must be hard to have a show like this move, but it didn’t move that far away. I would suggest that next year, you gather some of your Peeps together and take a road trip to Cincinnati. It’s a wonderful and friendly town and I know you will have a blast.

      I appreciate your comments and am happy to share my adventures with you. Have a wonderful day!

  7. Linda Says:

    Hi! cousin. Glad you had a fabulous time. Love the photos. The sunflower one is my favorite of all. It reminds me of my angel, Ashley. If only it had a ladybug sitting on one of the flowers, since she loved ladybugs! (She would be 25 now if she were still here)
    Linda

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Linda, Thanks. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. The sunflower quilt was wonderful to behold. It is filled with joy and practically explodes with enthusiasm. I can see why it reminds you of Ashley.

      My Bill loved sunflowers too, which makes seeing them bittersweet.

      I know how much losing someone means. The wound never really heals, it is just a little less raw as time goes by.

      I am glad you found joy and fond memoires in the sunflower quilt.

  8. judymurrah Says:

    Great photos, Tom. If you don’t mind I’ll direct my blog readers to your site to view the Cincinnati quilts as your shots are so much more comprehensive than mine. I still can’t believe our paths didn’t cross while you were there. Love your photos as always.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Judy! Thanks. I’m glad you like the photos. Nope, don’t mind at all. I took to photos to share with everyone, so link away. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I know what you mean. It’s amazing that our paths didn’t cross over the four days I was there.

      Glad you enjoyed the photos. Hope to see you soon.

  9. linnerlu Says:

    Tom, thank you so much for the wonderful, virtual quilt show. I know how much work goes into such an extensive slideshow. We all appreciate you!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi there, I’m glad you enjoyed the show. It was my pleasure to bring it to you. It does take a little bit of effort, but when I read responses like yours, I’m happy to do it.

      Thanks for writing. I really appreciate it!

Comments are closed.


