Wild on Fredericksburg

Wild Seed Farms: Going Wild Opener

Hi Again!

I have something special to share with you today. Right after I came back from the International Quilt Festival Show in Cincinnati, I took another road trip. I know . . . it’s crazy, but a whole lotta fun.

I went to San Antonio to celebrate a very special occasion—Jana’s birthday. Although she doesn’t seem to age, Jana had a birthday last week. In honor of this event I went down to spend some quality time with her. Jana and I have a lot of the same interests and enjoy doing many of the same things. One of the things we enjoy most is going on adventures.

Jana mentioned to me previously that she loves Fredericksburg, TX, so we decided that a trip to this magical little town would be a fabulous way to celebrate her special day. We agreed that it would also be a perfect place to have an adventure.

Prior to going on this little expedition, a friend (Hi Wendy!) commented after a Magic Camera Monday post that she thought I would enjoy photographing the flowers at Wild Seed Farms. I had not heard of this nursery before, so I decided to check them out. Boy, am I glad I did. 

I was amazed and inspired by what I saw on their website. This place is unbelievable and as luck would have it, Wild Seed Farms is located just outside Fredericksburg. I know . . . this is crazy cool.

This exciting bit of news meant that Jana, the Magic Camera and I could visit it before heading into downtown for a day of shopping, eating and sightseeing. This town is yummy for all the senses.

Fredericksburg is only an hour and a half from San Antonio, so we arrived at Wild Seed Farms right after they opened. From the moment we drove up I was in awe. The nursery and gardens were everything their website said it would be and more. Oh man, so much more.

The place was overflowing with unbelievable color and heavenly smells and because of that, it felt wrong to edit the photos down to a typical Magic Camera Monday post. So, to commemorate Jana’s birthday and our wonderful day of adventure, I have decided to do a special post about Wild Seed Farms.

You can get to the album by clicking on the photo above or by clicking here. Going to Wild Seed Farms was an amazing experience, but these photos are only a glimpse at the beauty that surrounds this wonderfully magical place.

If you are looking for an adventure that leaves you breathless and in awe, then I highly recommend making the magical journey to Wild Seed Farms and Fredericksburg. You can thank me later. 🙂

. . . . . . . . . . .

Well, this post was some kinda fun—don’tcha think? I hope you had as much fun seeing the photos as I had taking them.

A question for you. Did you notice that I haven’t given you any news?

Hmmmm . . . 

Wonder what that means?

Maybe it means, I’ll have news to share in the next post.

Hmmmm . . . 

Maybe it means, I don’t really have any news to share.

Hmmmm . . . 

Maybe it means, the news is so BIG and so EXCITING that I can’t get it all into one post.

Hmmmm . . . 

I guess it means we’ll all just have to wait and see—doesn’t it? 

Bwhahahahaha . . . 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Wild on Fredericksburg”

  1. deb Says:

    Hope you left a few dollars at the quilt shop in F’burg! ;-D

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Deb, It’s so good to hear from you. Sorry to tell you this, but I didn’t get to any quilt stores on this trip. Jana and I had a big agenda for the day and we couldn’t afford the time to visit a quilt store. Besides, I just came for the IQF show in Cincinnati and I couldn’t imagine needing/wanting anything more.

      I’m sure I’ll get back to Fredericksburg more than once this year and will check out the shop when I’m there.

      My Peeps and I are already planning a trip to the Stonewall Peach Jamboree this summer. We have been talking about going since last Christmas, so this year we are going to do it. Stonewall is right outside of Fredericksburg, so I feel another wonderful adventure is in store for me and my posse.

      I know me and the Peeps are going to have many adventures this year, but this peach one is going to be delicious. 🙂

  2. Wendy Drew Says:

    So glad you enjoyed Wild Seed Farms. Your pictures are breathtaking. What beautiful, vivid colors. How did you get the butterflies to pose for you? I really enjoyed experiencing the beauty of wildflowers through your eyes. Thank you so much for sharing your visit.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Wendy!!! Oh yes, I enjoyed Wild Seed tremendously. I could spend days there photographing all the beautiful things I saw. Now that I have seen the types of plants they carry, I will be better prepared on my next visit.

      After seeing their trial gardens, I just wanted to come home and rip of my whole hard and plant wild flowers. The sun was very bright and there were lots of people while we were there, so I didn’t take many wide photos, but plan to next time. I missed a great opportunity.

      OMG! The butterflies were everywhere. It was fantastic to watch them. They knew they were beautiful, so they were happy to pose for the paparazzi, especially one with a Magic Camera.

      Thank you so much for telling me about the fantastic place. I truly can’t get over how magical a place it is.

  3. jayardi Says:

    • • • And here I thought it took you a week to drive back to Texas. Lo’ and behold you took off on another adventure. Glad to see you back and sharing all your wonderful tales.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey you! No, it didn’t take a week to return from Cincinnati. We got back to Houston Monday evening. We are dedicated drivers and were looking forward to sleeping in our own beds. The Cincy adventure was wonderful and the time we spent together was priceless. I’d happily do it again.

      Yep, it is kinda funny that I will spend months at home then be gone for weeks at a time. Life is just full of contrasts. Each adventure has been fantastic and different.

      I am looking forward to sharing news about my next adventure. I really must learn to type and edit photos faster. 🙂

      Have a wonderful day! xxxooo 🙂

  4. Helen Rode: Professional longarm quilter, Fredericksburg TX Says:

    I am a native of Fredericksburg—what took you so long to come? If I had known we would have brought out all the quilters to greet you.You must plan a return trip on Labor Day weekend when we have our big quilt show . . . don’t forget your camera!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Helen, I don’t know why it took so long. Actually this is the second trip I have made to Fredericksburg. My first visit was two years ago. I went there during the Christmas holidays with my friend Judy. We had a fantastic time and I always planned to go back, unfortunately it took me a while to return.

      Now that I am more familiar with everything that is in and around this great little town, I will be back more frequently.

      I have marked my calendar for your show, so we will see if I can make it. If I come to visit, I’ll have the Magic Camera. 🙂

      Thanks for commenting and letting me know about the show. I really appreciate it.

  5. Linda Says:

    Hi! cousin. Glad you had another great adventure. I enjoyed seeing your photos. The flowers are just beautiful. I don’t know if your remember but our grandparents use to have some of those Showy Pink Evening Primroses planted next to the side of Grandpa’s old store building. They were there forever until Ray sprayed them with round-up. Wish I had known he didn’t want them growing there, I would have loved to have had them. The sentimental value and because they were just down right beautiful!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Linda, Yes, it was a glorious adventure indeed. I didn’t know what the Primrose looked like, so I had to research it so I could reply. I’m a beginning gardener in a lot of ways.

      I remember the flowers in Arkansas, but don’t remember them around the old store. Too bad they were killed. Such a shame. They are such a happy flower, I can’t imagine someone considering them a weed.

      Sentimental value isn’t enough for some people. Again, such a shame.

      Glad you enjoyed the post. It’s always nice to hear from you. Oh, and thanks for helping me identify the flower, that I enjoyed seeing in abundance across Arkansas, Tennessee, Kentucky and Ohio. Whew, that was some road trip. 🙂

  6. Carla Says:

    Isn’t that place wonderful. I was in awe of all the color. The hubby and I went a couple of weeks ago. In fact I post pictures on my last blog titled Wild Weekend past. We had never been in the spring so it was a real treat. We’ve always gone in late August or September and there’s not that much color. Weren’t the poppy’s just gorgeous. Can’t believe you’d never been to Wild Seed before.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Carla! Oh yes, it’s a very wonderful place. I am so grateful to Wendy for telling me about it. It was a truly amazing place to visit. I will definitely be going back.

      We went at a perfect time. Everything was in magnificent bloom and there was so much to see and do there. I really could have spent the day photographing and learning about the plants, but there was sightseeing and shopping to attend to. Next time, my stay will be longer because I will be more prepared.

      I wish I had a bigger yard so I could fill it with all the wildflowers they have. Their displays were BREATHTAKING. WOW!!

      As always, it’s great to hear from you. Have a wonderful weekend!

Comments are closed.


