News Update: A Song in My Heart

Tom's Big News Sing-Along Opener

You know I have talked about having BIG NEWS for some time now and every time I plan to share it, I burst into song.

Because you and I are such wonderful BFFs, I bet you will burst into song when you hear my news too. This got me thinking. I thought it would be two-tons-of-fun to celebrate my BIG NEWS with a sing-along. Doesn’t this sound like a blast?

Yeah . . . I thought you’d think so. We’re not BFFs for nothing.

Okay . . . Are you ready for the first song?

You’ll have to excuse me for a minute. I need to clear my throat before we begin. I’d sound like Kermit the Frog if I don’t do this.

(Imagine elaborate throat clearing.) Ah . . . Now I feel better.

I think I’m ready to begin. How about you?

You are? GREAT!!!

This spiffy little tune pops into my head every time I think about my BIG NEWS. The lyrics and melody are perfect and I get a little extra pep in my step when I sing it. Let’s start our sing-along with this memorable tune.

I am sure that most of you will be familiar with this classic song, but if you aren’t, you can listen to it here and then join us in a minute. Go ahead. Don’t be shy. We’re happy to wait for you.

Yes, I’m serious. Go and listen to the song. We’ll be right here when you get back. 🙂

Okay, are you ready? Good.

Here we go . . . .

Just sit right back and you’ll hear a tale,
A tale of a fanciful trip
That starts from a Texas port
Aboard a great big ship.

The mate was a mighty sailing man,
The skipper brave and sure.
Thousands of passengers set sail this day
For a seven-day tour, a seven-day tour.

The weather doesn’t get rough,
The big ship doesn’t get tossed,
Because of the experienced and capable crew
The quilters could get sauced, the quilters could get sauced.

The ship sets course for three glorious Caribbean isles
Like Cozumel
Falmouth, Jamaica too,
George Town and Grand Cayman,
Fantastic quilting teachers
Wonderful Show-N-Tells,
Here on Quilter’s Isle.

So this is the tale of some lucky quilters,
They’re here for a long, long time,
They’ll make the best of things,
It’s a downhill slide.

The first mate and the Skipper too,
Will do their very best,
To make the others comfortable,
On this tropic island cruise.

No husbands, no kids, no motor cars,
But every single luxury,
Like living in a palace,
As luxurious as can be.

So join me for a week my friends,
You’re sure to get a smile,
From hundreds of happy quilters,
Here on “Quilter’s Isle.”

Wow! That was fun. You all sounded great!

Give yourselves a round of applause. BRAVO!!!!

I should have known you would sing beautifully. It sounded like a chorus of angels. We should try another song now that we’re warmed up.

What should we sing next?

Oh, I know. I’d like to sing this one . . .

This song is FABULOUS and feels exciting and new.

Does that phrase sound familiar? It does? Good. Then you know this classic as well.

For those of you who don’t remember this song, listen to it here first, then you can join us in a minute.

Sure, we’ll wait. We’re BFFs after all and that’s what BFFs do.

Are you ready now? SUPER!!!

This one is really fun, so let’s get started.

Okay, here we go . . . .

Quilting, exciting and new
Come aboard. We’re expecting you.
Quilting, life’s sweetest reward.
Let it flow, it floats back to you.

The Quilting Cruise soon will be making another run
The Quilting Cruise promises something for everyone
Set a course for adventure,
Relax and put your mind at ease.

Quilting won’t hurt anymore
It’s an open smile on a friendly shore.
Yes QUIIIILLLLTTTTIINGG! It’s QUIIIILLLLTTTTIINGG! (hey-ah!)

The Quilting Cruise soon will be making another run
The Quilting Cruise promises something for everyone
Set a course for adventure,
Relax and put your mind at ease.

Quilting won’t hurt anymore
It’s an open smile on a friendly shore.
Yes QUIIIILLLLTTTTIINGG! It’s LQUIIIILLLLTTTTIINGG!!
It’s the Quilting Cruise-ah! It’s the Quilting Cruise-ah!

Woo Hoo! That was fun! You are totally amazing. Where did you learn to sing like that?

Your performance has left me speechless.

You’ll have to give me a minute, my eyes are leaking. 

(Imagine 5 minutes have passed.)

Sorry about that. I get very emotional over the tiniest things these days.

Okay . . . now where were we?

Oh I remember . . . We’re having a sing-along to celebrate my BIG NEWS.

I sprinkled a few hints about the news in the songs we sang. I know the hints were subtle, but hoped you’d pick up on them.

You didn’t? Ah . . . that sucks.

Well, here’s another clue. 🙂 I hope this one helps.

. . . . . . . . . . .

HA! This sing-along and news update has been gloriously fun! I’m glad I could share this fantastic information with you. You are my BFFs and I couldn’t think of anyone I’d rather tell than you.

What? These hints weren’t enough help?

You still don’t know what I’m talking about?

Hmmmm . . . That’s odd. I understood everything perfectly.

Okay, let me try this again . . . .

Click on the link. 2013 Quilter’s Emporium Cruise brochure.

. . . . . . . . . . .

More details are coming soon and guess what?
This isn’t my only BIG NEWS. There’s more . . . so stay tuned. 🙂
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

17 Responses to “News Update: A Song in My Heart”

  1. Denise Says:

    Thanks for making my morning. Too much fun. Makes me wish I was a quilter. Hugs and kisses…

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Denise, You are very welcome. There’s nothing like a sing-along to start the day off right.

      Yes, I think this cruise is going to be a lot of fun, but you don’t have to be a quilter to go on it. My sister-in-law Jana is going to go and she’s not a quilter.

      Cruise ships are like a floating theme park, so she will keep herself busy while I teach. Once I finish teaching, me and several of the Peeps are going on numerous adventures. If you go on the cruise you can join us. You would love the Peeps and they would definitely love you.

      xxxooo 🙂

  2. Cyn Strang Says:

    Wonderful news! Makes me wish I was a quilter, too! Sounds like a LOT of fun. (Extra nice seeing your name on the list of teachers! 🙂
    All the best in this next adventure and we look forward to seeing all the pictures!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Cyn, I’m glad my enthusiasm about the cruise makes you want to quilt. Several of my Peeps are going, so it is going to be a blast. I will probably need a vacation after I get back.

      I was very flattered when they asked me to participate. I am working on new classes, just for this cruise. This is my first cruise and I am very excited about it.

      My Magic Camera is as excited about the trip as I am. That means there will be lots and lots to share with everyone when I get back home. I will definitely be looking forward to February.

      If you and Jeff want to join me and the Peeps on an ocean adventure, we’d love to have you!

      xxxooo 🙂

  3. jayardi Says:

    • • • 😀 😀 Tom Cruise 😀 😀 You are a riot.

    Do you need an assistant? I am available! Sounds like a fantastic opportunity for you. Have FUN!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jayardi, I thought you’d enjoy that hint. I love corny humor.

      I would love an assistant and I know you would have a blast on the trip. I know you are busy now, but hopefully everyone will enjoy my workshops and lecture enough, that Quilter’s Emporium will invite me to teach on another cruise. If they do, you can join me then.

      It is a marvelous opportunity and I keep pinching myself because I can barely believe it. One of the best parts of this adventure is that several of my Peeps are joining me on this fabulous excursion.

      We are going to laugh and sew and play so seven days straight. I may need medical attention after it’s over because I’ve fractured my funny bone. 🙂

      xxxooo

  4. Eddie Landreth Says:

    Oh, goodness…I would so, so, SO love to do this. Melissa and I have talked about doing a quilting cruise before, this looks wonderful. It may just tempt me enough!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Eddie, Having you and Melissa join me and the Peeps on the cruise would be fantastic. This is my first cruise, so to have so many friends joining me is unbelievable. We are going to make memories that will last a lifetime and I am so looking forward to it.

      Hopefully you and Melissa can be part of this memory making adventure. I am working on three new workshops for this cruise. I am doing wool applique, embellishing and a scrap project.

      I plan to feature the samples in future posts, so keep on the lookout for them in the next couple of months.

      If you really are considering going, it’s best to put a deposit down now, to safeguard against future price increases. You can get a full refund until November, if you change your mind. If you have any questions, I’ll do my best to answer them.

      Thanks for commenting and I’ll see you two in July.

  5. jdmurray2000 Says:

    OMG congratulations, you’ll be marvelous and everyone will have a blast!!!!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi there, Thanks. This is going to be glorious adventure and I am looking forward to it. Several of my Peeps have signed up for the cruise, so I’m sure that we are going to make memories that last a lifetime in seven short days.

      Thanks for commenting. Hope you have a marvelous day!

  6. Carol Anderson Says:

    I have GOT to win that lottery! C’mon, winning numbers! My birthday is the 16th of February, so it could be my birthday present, right?

    What does it say about me that I didn’t need to click on the song links to know exactly what the tunes were? Please don’t answer that.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Well Ms. Carol Anderson, as I live and breathe,

      I hope you win the lottery, no matter if you go on the cruise or not. You deserve something wonderful for all you do for others. Winning the lottery would be a wonderful birthday present.

      I’ll keep my fingers and toes crossed that you are able to join us.

      What does knowing these songs say about you? Well, the answer is simple . . . you are talented, special and you have a wonderful memory. 🙂

  7. Eddie Landreth Says:

    I made our cruise reservations this morning, Tom! Really excited and looking forward to it!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      WOW!!! That’s fantastic news. I’m excited for all of us. This means the adventures on the high seas are going to be even better because you two are joining in. YEA!

  8. Carla Says:

    You are tooo funny. Loved the announcement. So are you going to be a teacher or did I miss that part. I have having to much fun singing along. LOL
    Wish I could go. Maybe one day. Sounds like fun though.
    And you have more big news. hmmmm you’re pregnant. Oh wait that don’t work with you. darn. LOL

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Carla! Glad you enjoyed my sing-along announcement. I kept coming up with more and more songs to sing, but I thought adding more would just confuse or frustrate people. I

      Yes, I am going to be a teacher on the February Quilter’s Emporium cruise. If things go as well as I expect, they may invite me back for another high sea adventure. If they do, then you can hopefully join in that adventure. I know it would be a blast to have you be a part of the group.

      Yep, more big news is coming and you are correct. I’m not pregnant, but if I were, it would be BIG HEADLINE MAKING NEWS indeed. My news is big, but not that big.

      Thanks for dropping in and making me smile. Hope you have a fabulous day!

Comments are closed.


