Tom’s Blankety-Blank-Blank News

Tom's News: Just Fill In The Blank Opener

Blankman
Hey Everybody! Sorry I haven’t posted much this week. I’ve been really busy working on something new and couldn’t tear myself away from it long enough to write a post.

I suck . . . but this excuse makes my new project sound pretty exciting doesn’t it?

I am really stoked about this new project, because it is going to change my life in wondrous ways. This new project means I’m going to be on the road a lot more, visiting old friends and making new ones a lot more, teaching and speaking a lot more, messing around with fabric a whole lot more and along with all of those MOREvelous things, this new project will give me many opportunities for adventure.

Sounds pretty sweet huh?

You know . . . I could be lazy and tell you all the details of this project in a sentence or two and we’d laugh, high-five each other and it would be over—but where’s the fun in that? 🙂

As I was taking photographs for this post, I started pondering how I was going to tell you about my exciting and transformative news. (Especially after taking so long to get around to it.) Since this news is all about adventure, with a bit of mystery thrown in, I felt compelled to tell you my project in an entertaining (for me) way.

Blank Fabric 4

Starting With A Blank Slate
Since we are about the same age (You obviously younger.), I am sure most of you remember the great television detectives of our time, Magnum PIScooby-DooMonkColumboRemington Steele, Blue and Murder She Wrote’s Jessica Fletcher, just to name a few.

Each week these bodaciously  brilliant and oft-times socially inept super sleuths would solve complex and mysterious cases, that had more plot twists and turns than a Kim Kardashian romance.

On a weekly basis, these crime-solving savants came into our living rooms—not to just entertain us—but to teach us how to solve life’s everyday mysteries, such as . . .”Who left the toilet seat up?” . . . “Who used all the toilet paper?” . . . “Who ate all the cereal?” . . . “Who forgot to feed the hamster?” and last—but certainly not least . . . “Who drank all the milk and left the carton in the refrigerator?”

Trust me . . . I never did any of those things. They are just simple examples I pulled out of thin air to illustrate my point. 

Seriously . . . I never did any of them. Seriously? You don’t believe me?

Well, maybe I did something once—JUST ONCE—but nobody saw me. So, did it actually happen? I’m not so sure . . . my memory is a little foggy. 🙂

FYI: There was no incriminating evidence left at the scene.
(You learn how to take care of that little issue from watching detective shows too.)

Blank Fabric 5

A Blank Look In My Eyes
Okay, now where was I? Oh yes, now I remember . . . 

These geniuses of the not-so-obvious taught us skills that would change our lives forever. If you watched as many detective shows as I did growing up, then I am sure your powers of observation have been honed to a razor-fine edge. Jessica Fletcher ain’t got nutin’ on us.

Blank Fabric 3

Drawing A Blank?
Since we’ve become BFFs, I’ve learned several things about you. I have learned you have a keen eye for detail, have a great sense of humor and are always up for an adventure. Knowing these deliciously wonderful things makes sharing anything with you outrageously fun.

I am sure you’ve already noticed all the subtle and not-so subtle clues I have left about my new project. I have been steadily dropping clues in the photos and text, as I have yammerd on about detectives and mysteries.

Have you picked up on that? Yeah, I figured you had. 

What? You haven’t seen any of my clues and have no blankety-blank-blank idea about what I’m hinting at?

Hmmmm . . . That’s odd.

Jeez, I thought I had left a trail of clues that even Hansel and Gretel would be proud of. Sorry about that.

I suck . . . no wonder I never figured out who killed Colonel Mustard in the library with a candlestick.

. . . . . . . . . . .

Fill In The Blank
How about I give you another clue? 

Click on any of the photos and see where it takes you.

Go on . . . don’t be shy. 

. . . . . . . . . . .

You’ve Still Got That Blank Look In Your Eyes

What? You still can’t figure it out?

No, I’m not designing fabric, but that’s a good guess.

. . . . . . . . . . .

Guess again . . .

Nope, that’s not it either. Seriously . . . I’m not getting my own detective show, but it’s still a good guess. 

. . . . . . . . . . .

Okay, then I’ll give you one more clue.

Hope this helps.

Tom's Blank Business Card

YEA! You guessed it.Yipppeeee!!!!

I am the new Blank Quilting rep for Texas, Louisiana and Arkansas. My territory covers a pretty big area. I will be traveling all over Texas and into parts of Louisiana and Arkansas.

This is very exciting news and I have been anxiously waiting to share my joy with you. Details of my territory are still being worked out, but as soon as we have everything nailed down, I will let you know, because I am looking  forward to spending many happy hours with you while I am away from home.

FYI: Once I get settled into my new job, I plan to start speaking and teaching more, so let your program chairs know that I am coming your way!

. . . . . . . . . . .

Oh, one more thing . . . I know that this is news—REALLY BIG NEWS—but it’s not all the news I have to share with you. I have even more exciting things—believe it or not—to tell you about in the next week or two, so stay tuned.

. . . . . . . . . . .

 Special Note to Carla: No. I am not pregnant.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

46 Responses to “Tom’s Blankety-Blank-Blank News”

  1. Bonnie Nyquist Says:

    Oh Tom, I cannot imagine a better fit!!! That is just so exciting! Will you be also making samples from the new lines to show also? That would be such fun, but a lot of work! Cannot imagine a more qualified rep or a more enthusiastic one!! So happy for you.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Bonnie, Thank you for your enthusiastic support. I am excited about this new adventure and think it’s a perfect fit for everything I want to do in my life.

      With this new job, I will be surrounded by the people and things I love the most. How could it be anything, but wonderful.

      Regarding samples: I’m not sure yet. I am sure I will do some, but it’s too early to tell how many I make. Anything worth doing well takes time. If creating samples and patterns makes a difference, then I’m sure there will be samples and patterns in my future.

      Thanks for commenting. Your excitement is contagious. I am very happy with my decision to start this new venture and more so now, after reading your wonderful response to my news.

  2. Nikki Brackin Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS Tom – I know you’ll break records!! LOVE their fabrics – and now will buy more of them! Love you!!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Nikki! Thank you for your wonderful response to my news.

      I am thrilled to hear that you like Blank’s fabric and really excited to tell you that Beaumont is in my territory. This means we will be able to see each other when I visit the stores in your area. How cool is that?

      I am working on my store contact list now and will be scheduling appointments soon, so tell the owners of the fabric stores in your area to expect a call from me. The more stores I get to see in your area, the more time we have to visit. YEA!

      Thanks again for your unwavering support. It was like getting a great big cyber hug.

      Love you too. xxxooo 🙂

  3. Carol Anderson Says:

    Congratulations, Tom! I have prayed and wished for a window to open when the door closed on you. This is such a perfect opportunity for you. I can’t wait to see what you do next!

    Carol

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Well Carol Anderson, as I live and breathe . . .

      Why thank you for you sincere remarks and generous prayers. Your prayers have been answered and your wishes for me have come true over and over again in the last two years.

      Because of people like you, my life has been blessed in more ways than you can imagine. I share a lot of what is going on in my life here, but many more grand and glorious miracles have been coming my way because of support like yours.

      I think this is the perfect opportunity for me to and I am anxious to see what happens next, because everything in my life keeps getting better and better.

      Thanks again for you comments and support. Have a wonderful day!

      xxxooo 🙂

  4. Eddie Landreth Says:

    Hi Tom,

    Following your blog is always a highlight for me, and today is no exception. That really IS big news, congratulations! I’m looking forward to seeing what adventures this takes you on. And also looking forward to your other big news items! Bring it on!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Eddie! Thanks. I am glad you enjoy my ramblings. I sometimes get so involved in telling my stories, that I forget what I was initially planning on talking about.

      I consider reading my posts, taking the scenic route to the point. 🙂

      The new job will take me to places I have never been and I know there will be lots of adventures to share along the way. All I have to do is learn how to do is blog from the road. Lots of people do it, so it can’t be that hard.

      The news is coming, just have to make the time to take a few photos and gather my thoughts, so I can spin a tale worth reading.

      Always enjoy hearing from you. Have a wonderful day and I’ll see you this summer.

  5. kathycolvi Says:

    Fabulously wonderful news! Even the part about not being pregnant!

  6. Sharon Kisel Says:

    Many congratulations and wishes for a successful new direction for you, Tom! Every day is a new adventure, new opportunities, new possibilities – and – more new friends on the horizon. You brighten my day again, as usual!!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Sharon, Thank you for your kind wishes. I feel they are all going to come true. This is going to be a magical adventure and although it will take me away from friends at home, I will be surrounded by others friends as I am on the road.

      It’s going to be a wondrous adventure and I am looking forward to seeing my old friends and meeting many new ones as I cover my territory. There will shops, bees and guilds to visit and hopefully I’ll be able to join in a few sew-ins in the evenings instead of sitting in my hotel room stitching alone. This is going to be a magnificent experience!

      Thank you for your loving and generous comments. They brighten my day, because I know everything you have wished for me is going to be a reality.

      Hope you have a gloriously wonderful day!

  7. Geannine Ott Says:

    Congrats to you . . . hope that means we will see you a bit more!!!!!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Geaninne, Thanks and it means exactly that. You and my many wonderful friends in Arkansas are going to see me more frequently from here on out—and I am looking SO forward to it.

      Saw pictures of you on Jim’s blog. You are looking FAB-U-LOUS!!! You are just glowing in those pictures. Your smile lights up the room.

  8. Debbie Hedden Says:

    Congratulations. Hope to see you soon!!!!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Debbie, Thanks. I am looking forward to seeing you soon too.

      Once all the details of my territory are more defined, I will post where I am going and when. This should give everyone (me included) enough advanced notice for me to make plans to visit wit friends as I work my way around my territory.

      It’s going to be great fun and I am sure we will see each other in the not-to-distant future.

      Take care and have a wonderful day!

  9. Cyn Strang Says:

    Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!! We are so happy for you! All the best with this new adventure! Love from Jeff & Cyn

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Cyn, Thanks for your enthusiastic support. This is going to be a magical adventure and I am looking forward to seeing how it unfolds. I have a lot of homework to do before I understand it all, but from what I have learned so far, this is the perfect job for me at the moment.

      My days will be filled with all the things I love, so how can it be called work? It is adventure at its best!

      All my love to you and Jeff. xxxooo 🙂

  10. Marilyn Kinsey Says:

    Congratulations and thank you so much for sharing with you BFFs. I am happy for you and your new adventure. This just sounds too good to be true. Marilyn-Lampasas TX

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Marilyn, Thank you for the support. When something big happens in my life, my BFFs are always going to be the first to hear about it.

      I had been searching for something adventurous to do for a while now and nothing excited me. Then a month ago, this adventure just landed in my lap. It could not have come at a better time. That’s the reason I knew it was the perfect adventure for me to take.

      Thank you for your kind and generous note. It made my day.

      Hope you have a day filled with love and laughter!

  11. Sherry Branham Says:

    Shazam!!!!!!!!!! How cool is that! You being their rep is like me being the rep for Hershey’s! Perfect match! I’ll be looking forward to the BLANK displays in my local quilt shops with a touch of Tom in them 🙂

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Sherry! You make me smile. I knew when I was writing this post that you would enjoy it and have something wonderful to say and you didn’t disappoint. Thanks for putting a smile on my face.

      I know my new territory covers your area, so tell them I am going to be calling. Also let your program chair know I am going to be in the area. I’d love to drop in for a visit and speaking of visits, I’d like to see you when I’m in that area of the Lone Star state.

      Thanks again for your hilarious comments and unwavering support.

  12. jayardi Says:

    • • • C O N G R A T U L A T I O N S • • •

    I knew something wonderful would come your way. I am so excited for you. And, I am really happy you are NOT pregnant. 🙂

    psst . . . I have you beat by three months 😉

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jayardi, Thanks! I knew something wonderful was coming, I just had no idea when it was going to arrive. Now everything is starting to fall into place—including not being pregnant. 🙂

      Hmmmm . . . you beat my by three month? Are YOU pregnant? Surely you don’t mean you are older than me? I refuse to believe it.

      Hope you have a glorious day! xxxooo 🙂

  13. Analisa Says:

    That’s wonderful news Tom! Best of luck and stay safe.
    Analisa

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Analisa, Thanks. It is wonderful news and I am thrilled to be able to finally share it with by BFFs. It’s going to be an amazing adventure and like most of my adventures, I’m going to drag my BFFs along. Yippeee!!!

      Always great to hear from you. Have a wonderful day!

  14. quilterlynn Says:

    I think I caught it early in your blog. But no matter. The important part is: It’s a perfect fit! What a great decision for Blank! And how exciting for YOU!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Lynn, I figured I was not being too subtle in leaving clues, but I can never be certain people are picking up on them as I throw them around.

      It’s good to know you picked up on them immediately. You must have been a fan of Murder She Wrote. That show is where I learned all the techniques I use in solving crimes and mysteries. 🙂

      Thanks for your support and it couldn’t agree more. It’s a perfect it for me.

      Hope you enjoy this magnificent day!

  15. Dreamz Happen Quiltz Says:

    PERFECT!! Being a sleuth along the lines of Scooby I was still munching on the snacks waiting for the clues to explain themselves or jump out and scare me.. Congrats! I’m so happy for you!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Julie! Thanks.

      Since most of my posts take the scenic route before I get to the point, it’s no wonder you didn’t pick up on the clues immediately. All that matters to me is that you enjoyed the adventure.

      You are right. This job is perfect and I am looking forward to sharing many wondrous and exciting adventures with my BFFs.

      Hope you have a fabulous day!

  16. Charlotte Betts Says:

    I am so thrilled for you. Congratulations!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Charlotte. Thanks. This job is going to be a blast and I’m thrilled for me too.

      Thanks from dropping in to comment. It’s always good to hear from you.

      Hope you have a wonderful day!

    • Charlotte Betts Says:

      Thanks, Tom. We need to get together soon to celebrate your new adventure.

  17. eileenkny Says:

    Congratulations, Tom! I think you’ll be great; have fun with it.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Eileen, Thanks. I plan to do exactly that. I’m going to have fun—loads and loads of it.

      Thanks for dropping by to share my joy. Hope you have a glorious and fun-filled day!

  18. JoAnn Says:

    Good Morning
    Wowie. I am so happy for you. They are lucky to have you working for them. It will be a great new adventure. And what a great way to travel. So glad you have found something that makes you this excited. I am off to Vegas this week to visit the grandkids. HUGS TO YOU.

  19. Dot Collins Says:

    Congrats!! That is wonderful news for you and them! I know they are lucky to have you and you will do a wonderful job representing them. I look forward to anytime you are in this area and if you need a bed while on the road, you are welcome to stay here! Dot and Bob

  20. judymurrah Says:

    Congratulations, Tom! Sounds like you will be a busy guy. Enjoy.

  21. Judy Stadler Says:

    First I want to tell you how wonderful your cruise sounds and how sorry I am I can’t join you. My only consolation is that I am going to London and Stockholm this summer for almost the whole month of July and will be the house guest of dear friends in both places. Ah, poor me, lol.

    Next I want to say how wonderful your news about being a rep for Blank fabric!

    So… does that mean you will travel to NYC and we can meet up at some point. That would be such great fun. You might think about giving a little presentation at City Quilter – they do have reps from the major fabric companies come and talk. Then we can mix pleasure with business.

    Only kidding not!.

    Congratulations and best wishes in all your new adventures. I know you will be great as usual 🙂

  22. Mary Ann Cain Says:

    Congratulations Tom! This is so exciting news and just a perfect job! If you need anyone to write a reference for your teaching or speaking abilities just let me know – more than happy to do so. And I hope you enjoyed Cincinnati last month!

  23. kscottmobley@gmail.com Says:

    Congratulations Tom!!!!

  24. deb Says:

    Am just now reading this news. Congratulations, Tom! You are perfect for the job!

  25. Amanda Gilmore Says:

    Yay for u, u blankin’ Tom, u!! I’m so happy for u! Ur BFF in Humble, Mandy (Kingwood Guild class in 10/10, saw u 2x @ Festival last year, luv luv luv u). Really want to go cruising w u but heard classroom is in bottom of end of ship & everybody gets seasick?? What to do??

  26. Clara Kosloff Says:

    Tom, I took a tour of the fabrics. They are beautiful. You should love your job. Meeting people and handling fabric. I wish you luck, happiness and success. Aunt Clara

  27. Sara B. Says:

    Hi, Tom! I always love reading your posts…..best of luck with this new adventure….I have no doubt you will do GREAT! Sara B.

  28. Carla Says:

    LOL!! I was reading long and got to the end and whoa wait did I just see my name. I cracked up when I saw the Special note. I mean the girl in the cubical next to me peeked over the partiion (she’s tall) and wanted to know what I was reading. That’s what I get for reading this at work on a break.
    Wow I mean teaching on a cruise now a new job and yet you have more news. You’ll be awesome at both! As you can see I’m a little behind in my blog reading.
    Have a great day!!

Comments are closed.


