Fusible Scrap Leftovers: A Little More to Share

Fusible Scrap Leftovers: 3x3-in. Embroidered Blocks Opener_3

Hello My Bestest, Best Buds!

Can you believe this? Another post from me and it’s only been a day since the last one.

I’m sure you’re thinking . . .”What’s up with that?”

I know what you mean. This is crazy. I can hardly believe it myself.

3x3-in. Embroidered Block Example 7

The Dealio I have come to realize that two weeks without sharing my exploits with you creates a huge emotional void in my life. Over the last year, I have gotten used to sharing my adventures with you and delighting in your reactions to them. I’ve missed that exchange and I’m trying to make up for lost time before I have to run away again.

3x3-in. Embroidered Block Example 5

Shop Hopping All this running around has been a blast and I am learning a lot. I have visited a bunch of amazing shops and seen a lot of wonderful things. As I get more comfortable with my schedule, I will be sharing stories and photos from the wonderful destinations I visit.

I have already been a some fabulous places. Unfortunately, I didn’t think to bring the Magic Camera, so I don’t have photos to share—but trust me—these towns and shops are fabulous and I have a feeling that the Peeps and I will be making several road trips across Texas this year to visit them.

The next time I visit, I will be packing the Magic Camera. 🙂

3x3-in. Embroidered Block Example 6

Feeling Scrappy So, here we are . . . my latest installment of the Fusible Scrap Leftovers quilt. I have completed the embroidery stage of 10 more blocks and I think I have another 20 or so of the 3×3-in. blocks to go. You would think that I’d know the exact number that I have left to do, but it’s not important, so I don’t keep track. All I know is that I will continue to do them until they’re finished. Once the 3x3s are done, then I get to move up to the larger sizes.

This quilt has been a fabulous creative journey so far, and I am thrilled finally have enough new blocks to share with you.

3x3-in. Embroidered Block Example 4

As you can see these blocks have a bit more detail added. This is fun to do, but I gotta be careful about adding too much.

3x3-in. Embroidered Block Example 8

If I included too many embroidered elements in the block, I would not have room for beads, sequins, buttons or quilted details. You will notice some blocks have more embroidery and others have less. As I work on the blocks, I visualize how they will look with the various embellishment details. At this stage there is no right or wrong decision. I just have to decide which choice feels best.

3x3-in. Embroidered Block Example 9

I am only adding the details that I feel the block needs at that moment. Once all the blocks have been embroidered, I will review as a group to see if there is balance and even distribution of color and texture.

3x3-in. Embroidered Block Example 11

If there is a need for more embroidered detail, I’ll add it before I got onto the next stage.

3x3-in. Embroidered Block Example 10

This project is not about figuring out every detail before I got to the next stage. It’s a more intuitive process. I will do only what feels right and no more.

3x3-in. Embroidered Block Example 12

Each block is individual and stands on its own. I don’t consider the design of the other blocks while I am working on a single block. This design approach is a little unusual, but I am confident that it will come together in the end and the quilt will look like I planned everything from the beginning.

I’ll explain why I know this in future posts. Right now, I just need to immerse myself in the embroidery process and see where it takes me.

3x3-in. Embroidered Block Example 13

If you are new to the blog and would like to see more of this quilt and read about its history, then follow the links below:

If you’re interested in seeing what the quilt sorta, kinda, if you squint your eyes and tilt your head just right, but may be changed at any stage in the process is gonna look like, then you can click here and scroll to the bottom of the page.

. . . . . . . . . .

Well, that’s it for this post. So, what do you think of my progress?

Do you like these flowers as much as you did the ones from the Fort Bend County Master Gardeners Demonstration Garden?

. . . . . . . . . .

You know I love hearing from you, so tell me what you think. 🙂

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

11 Responses to “Fusible Scrap Leftovers: A Little More to Share”

  1. Alison Says:

    Been waiting for ages for an update! Gorgeous! I know you are so busy but these little flowers are so friendly and brighten my day.

    We are into winter down here is New Zealand – great for stitching!

  2. jayardi Says:

    • • • Looking g~o~o~d. I wish I had your patience.

    What do you mean YOU DIDN’T TAKE THE MAGIC CAMERA WITH YOU? How could you forget about us? You promised to share ALL your adventures. Please, please don’t forget about us.

  3. Norma Hornung Says:

    Hi Tom, I simply love these blocks and I perfectly understand your creative process to this quilt. There is a time for this and a time for the planned ones.

  4. Carol Anderson Says:

    Great work, Tom. The embroidered details add a little dimension, but I can’t wait to see your embellishments. Those will put this quilt over the top.

  5. tenngram Says:

    Absolutely charming! Your touch is magic and this whole project is going to be stunning!

  6. Rena Messenger Says:

    Tom, I love your work and want to say thanks for sharing this idea with us. I have saved bits like this for some time and wondered what I could do with them since the fusible was on the scraps.

    This will be a great patio project once the machine stitching is done. BTW – can you recommend a good hand stitching book? I really don’t know how to do anything other than a running stitch and French knot, which I learned from TQS.

    Thanks for any book ideas you might have.

    Love your work and look forward to watching you on TQS in July.

    Rena

  7. Jackie Says:

    I can’t wait to see the finished quilt with all it’s sparkles and embellishments. I can’t believe you forgot your magic camera on your latest excursions, but understand that time can be short though I do want you to know I live vicariously live through you so pics are crucial.

  8. Clara Kosloff Says:

    Tom, Loved the blocks. I’m envisioning a lovely flower garden when you are finished. I’m sure you’ll find a creative embelishment that ties everything together. Aunt Clara

  9. Lynn Kelly Says:

    My biggest surprise was that you feel you CAN overdo with deco — at some stage. But then I guess, if you run out of room before you do the ‘bling’ that would be so sad……………

    Love your work and that you make it so FUN!

    Now on to some wounded warrior quilting.

  10. jessica Says:

    Hi Tom,
    I’m waaaaaay behind on reading my favorite blogger’s posts! I spent 2 months with my sister to help her along and she doesn’t have internet (!) at her home, and while I do have it on my phone, it’s a struggle to scroll and enjoy the pictures on such a teeny-tiny screen.
    So happy to see all the posts I have to catch up on, you’ve been busy and traveling!
    ((Hugs))

  11. Linda Poullard Says:

    Hi Tom. I’m new to your site. I saw the trailer to your segment on The Quilt Show (can’t wait for the show itself)
    and just had to google you and find out more. You are hysterical and extremely talented. I’m so glad I found your blog.

    Linda Poullard

Comments are closed.


