There’s No Business Like . . .

Ricky Tims & Alex Anderson: The Quilt Show Trailer Opener

Hello Buckeroos and Buckerettes!

Sorry I have been out-of-pocket this week. I’ve been on the road quite a bit, meeting lots fabulous people and seeing many wonderful shops. As much fun as these adventures are, I feel a little like I’ve filmed an episode of Where’s Waldo.

Anyway, while I in the midst of a fantastic Louisiana adventure, I got a surprise email for some very special people. The surprise was so much fun, I just had to share it with you.

Alex & Tom: The Quilt Show Trailer

As you know, my episode of The Quilt Show is airing on July 2nd. I know . . . this is crazy cool and I can hardly believe it myself.

Well, Lilo, the fabulous Editor-in-Chief of The Quilt Show sent me a note and included a link to the trailer for my episode.

Ricky & Tom: The Quilt Show Trailer

The trailer is short, but I got the biggest chuckle out of it. A lot was going on that day with Bill and I barely remember being there.

In spite of my personal issues, Ricky and Alex made my visit to their show wonderfully entertaining. I was able to enjoy every minute of my time with them and the rest of the crew.

In fact, by looking at the trailer, you will see that my enthusiasm is barely contained. Since we are BFFs, I’ve gotta beย honest with you. It wasn’t contained at all. ๐Ÿ™‚

You know I can be a goober at times and after looking at this trailer, I was in rare form that day. The great news is, Ricky and Alex joined in the fun with equal abandon and the day of filming flew by.

Tom, Alex & Ricky: The Quilt Show Trailer

So . . . after all this yammering around about the show, I bet you’d like to see the trailer.ย Yeah, I thought you would.

Beforeย we do that, I’d like you to enjoy this brief musical interlude performed by my dear friend and favorite Bunco partner, Ms. Ethel Merman. I know how much you love music and Ethel and because this is such a joyous occasion, I can’t help myself.ย Sing it Ethel!

Yep, I’m definitely a goober. There’s no denying it now. ๐Ÿ™‚

Whew! That was some kinda fun and as Ethel so eloquently put it, “Let’s go on with the show!”

To see the trailer, click on any of the photos above or click here.ย Enjoy!

. . . . . . . . .

Pssst! I have some exciting news to share with you, so stay tuned. ๐Ÿ™‚

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

35 Responses to “There’s No Business Like . . .”

  1. Paul Leger Says:

    OMG

    This is so cool, you have your very own trailer.

    Congratualtions. Can I get you autograph?

    Paul

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Paul, Thanks! Yeah, in spite of my trying to say it’s not that big a deal, it actually is. This is really cool and I am thrilled to be able to share my joy with you and all my other wonderful BFFs.

      Sure, you can have my autograph on the check I need to send you for saying such a wonderful thing. You make me smile.

      Thanks and have a FABULOUS day!

  2. jayardi Says:

    โ€ข โ€ข โ€ข How exciting and look at all your beautiful quilts on the wall for everyone to see. I wish I could have been there with you to share your excitement first hand. I am so happy all these wonderfully good things are finally happening for you.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Jayardi! Yes, it is pretty exciting to be there, but it is more exciting to share the results with everyone. I think they did a great job of showcasing my quilts.

      Like me, the crew love what they do and made the most of everything I brought onto the set. Seeing my work through their eyes will be a wonderful experience for me. I am looking forward to seeing the show, for that reason alone.

      Lots of wonderful things are and have been happening for me. I know that Bill is having a lot to do with that. I plan to share each and every exciting thing as soon as I can.

      This traveling is fun and fabulous, but it eats into my blogging time. I’m loving it and I know the pieces will start falling into place soon.

      Thanks for your wonderful support and stay tuned for me exciting news. xxxooo ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Norma Fortner Says:

    I love it… I will have a smile on my face all day. To be able to share all the wonderful things you do. That is so cool.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Norma, Thanks. I’ve had a smile on my face since I got the news and saw the clip. Sharing is the best part of quilting, so get ready, because I’m sharing a lot on the show and on my blog.

      In the next week I will be adding my schedule and workshop information to by blog (as soon as I figure out how). That way you will know when and where I’ll be. Along with this stuff, I am furiously working on new workshop ideas.

      I spent the weekend developing ideas and fine tuning sketches for these new workshops. All that’s left to do is start making the projects so I can share them with you.

      It’s going to be a fabulous summer of sharing, so stay tuned.

  4. Eddie Landreth Says:

    Oh, goodness, Tom, that was fantastic – “The Lady Gaga of Embellishments”. Now that’s funny. ๐Ÿ™‚ Seriously, though, can’t wait to see the full show, it looks like it’s a blast. Also, looking forward to your class at AQG in a couple of weeks, we’re packing the house for you, there’s going to be a full house! People just can’t get enough of Tom!!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Eddie! Thanks for your enthusiastic support. Yeah, the Lady Gaga comment was pretty funny. I didn’t think it would actually make it into the episode, but I’m glad it did. It definitely sets the right tone for the show.

      I had a blast filming and everyone seemed to enjoy what I had to share, so I am hopeful and excited to see how it all turns out.

      I’m very excited about coming to AQG and seeing everyone again. I know we are going to have a fantastic time. How could it be anything but fantastic. I’ll be surrounded by people I care about and and sharing something that I truly love to do. It a magical time for me and I am anxious to get there.

      As always, thanks for your comments. See you soon. How fun it is to say that. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Paul Leger Says:

    The Lady Gaga of Embellishments? I LOVE IT

  6. Karen E Overton Says:

    This was a very happy blog to read today! I’m so excited for you and know once this program airs that more and more quilters are going to just fall in love with you like the rest of us already have! If I keep hanging around you long enough there’s going to be some establishments in some of my quilts…right now I’m just up to yo-yo’s but that’s a start! PS Remind me, do we have to have a membership to view the entire show when it airs? It’s been awhile since I’ve been connected (sigh).

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Karen, Thanks! Yeah, this is pretty exciting news and even though I was there, it seems a little surreal to be watching myself on film.

      You are sweet and I love being loved, so the more the merrier. If all you ever do is play around with yo-yos, then you are doing enough. I wouldn’t change a thing about you or what you enjoy doing.

      Yo-yos are a great place to start embellishing and they are what started me on my path and you can see where they have taken me.

      I will be posting the information about seeing the whole show as soon as I get it. If I remember correctly, you will have to sign up for a free basic membership to see the show, so stay tuned for details. I should have them in the next day or two.

      Thanks for writing. Have a fantastic day! xxxooo ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Delia Lopez Says:

    Goober or Lady Gaga, your inspiration makes me want to try my hand at embellishment. I think there will be a host of others who will want to try too. Love it, love it, love it!!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Delia, You are sweet and thanks for your kind comments. I am thrilled to hear that you want to try embellishing. It’s so easy to do and the end result always greater the effort to took to achieve it.

      Hopefully the universe will bring me the opportunity to share how easy embellishing is all who want to learn. Once you start embellishing your quilting life will never be the same.

      Thanks again for your enthusiastic comments. Have a wonderful day!

  8. Jackie Says:

    I’m so excited for you and can’t wait to view the complete show. Your examples shown in the clip are gorgeous. I’m with Paul, could I have an autograph? And to think you’ve even answered a few of my comments in the past . . .

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jackie, I appreciate your comments and unwavering support. I think the TV crew did a fantastic job showcasing the details in my work. It’s fun to see the quilts through their eyes and thrilling to hear comments like yours.

      Autograph? Ha! That is funny. I try to answer every comment that is posted. Each one is important to me and worthy of a response. What kind of BFF would I be, if I didn’t hold up my end of the conversation?

      Thanks again for you excitement and support. I hope you have a miraculous day!

  9. eileenkny Says:

    Tom, yep-you’re a goober, but such a talented one!! First, Lucky Shie and then you. I’m so happy TQS is getting a little more art quilty.
    eileenkny

    PS-How do you like being a Blank rep? How many nights a month are you away from home?

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Eileen, Thank you for your support, in spite of my being a goober. I hope you enjoy the show. Lucky is going to be a hard act to follow. She is amazingly talented and oh so, inspiring.

      I love be a rep. So far, it has been an amazing adventure. I’m seeing lots of fabulous shops and meeting equally fabulous and dedicated shop owners.

      Regarding nights away from home: I haven’t been gone too many so far, but I am just getting into the farthest part of my territory. I’ll be better able to give you that answer in a month.

      Right now, I’ve only been away for a week, which isn’t bad at all.

      Once I get used to my new routine and what it takes to get from place to place, I’ll be sharing experiences from my trips to the shops. I think people will enjoy what I see and where I go. I’d try to do it now, but it’s way too much to try to juggle at one time.

      I am looking forward to my next visit though, and will have the Magic Camera at the ready. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Pat Greenberg Says:

    I think this just might be one of the best episodes ever!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Pat, Thanks. I hope you are right. If it goes well, maybe they will bring me back for another round of sharing.

      I’ll be looking forward to hearing what you think of the show after it airs.

      Thanks for writing. Have a glorious day!

  11. Wendy Drew Says:

    Love it!!!! Beautiful quilts!!!!!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Wendy, Thanks. I’m glad you think so. The crew spent a lot of time filming my quilts, so I will be interested in seeing how many make it into the episode.

      Thanks for watching the trailer. It hope you enjoy the show even more.

      I hope you have a fabulous day!

  12. Jan Everett Says:

    Lookin’ forward to the show–you clearly bring such joy and fun to it!!!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jan, Thanks. I hope you enjoy the show. Embellishments make me very happy and are tremendously fun to work with. I’m glad that my enthusiasm this process was easily captured on tape.

      Thanks for your comments. I hope you have a joy-filled day!

  13. Cyn Strang Says:

    Looking forward to the whole episode! You are fabulous in front of the camera! We love you!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Cyn, Thanks. I’m looking forward to seeing the show myself. I know it will feel like I’m watching someone else, but it should still be a lot of fun.

      Love to you and Jeff. xxxooo ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Analisa Says:

    Haha your soo cute! Loved that enthusiasm! Can I tell you something very funny? Every time I see your profile picture it looks like your in prison orange…..I know weird huh? It always crosses my mind!
    Analisa xx

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Analisa, You are sweet. Thanks for the compliments.

      Ha! I hadn’t thought about that, but my orange shirt is definitely the penitentiary shade of this glorious color. Now whenever I wear it, I will think of you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks for making me smile. I hope you have a magnificent day!

  15. Alison in UK Says:

    Oh, great to put a voice to the picture and your posts. What fun, I’m really looking forward to this episode.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Alison, It is nice to put a voice to a face. One day, I hope I will be able to put a voice and a face to your kind words.

      I hope you enjoy the show. I hope you have a miraculous day!

  16. Victoria Agee Says:

    So much fun. I am still chuckling and love the dynamic between you and the show host.

  17. JoAnn Says:

    Are you in hiding. Your show is about to air. Time to reappear. Happy Fourth of July…Way too warm in TN. Can’t wait to see the show.

  18. Carla Says:

    How awesome is that? Very I’d say. You look good in purple. ;o)
    Love that scene with all the embellishments in the Trailer.

  19. Wendy Drew Says:

    I just watched the show!!!!! I loved it!!!! Please please make a DVD with techniques and close ups!!! I need more to fulfill this craving!!!There is so much more I want to learn. You are so talented. OMG I can’t stand it. I am definately hooked,BAD.

  20. Debby Says:

    Tom, I watched “your” show and it was so inspiring I went back to the applique quilt I have been working on for so long to add more embellishments. Thanks for the push.
    And as far as wanting to teach more, we need to talk about having you at Quilting Adventures as an instructor.

Comments are closed.


