My Schedule: Okay, You Asked For It!

Hey Kids,

Sorry I have been so long in responding, but I have been on the road a lot lately. All this traveling makes it a little hard to keep up with the blog. Since I am home for a few days, I am going to start catching up.

Ricky Tims & Alex Anderson: The Quilt Show Trailer Opener

Prior to the airing of my Quilt Show episode—and especially after it—I’ve gotten many requests about my program and teaching schedule. I answered most of the requests directly, but haven’t gotten to them all. I’m sorry. I suck!!!!

I had planned on making this a separate page on my blog, but I haven’t been able to make it happen, so I’m going to do a continuing series of posts as my schedule changes. I have tried to figure this out many times and all I get for my efforts is a big knot on my forehead from banging it on my desk.

Eventually, I will figure this out and in the mean time, my forehead will appreciate the time to heal.

Here is my schedule for 2012 (so far) and parts of 2013:

Aug 7, 2012 • Happy Hearts Guild, Giddings, TX
Martin Luther Lutheran Church Education Building, at 573 North Main Street (Hwy.77) in Giddings, Texas.

Sept 28-29, 2012 • The Fabric Shop, Ruston, LA
I will be doing a lecture and embellishment demonstration. Space is limited, so if you are interested in attending, you need to call and reserve a space. 318-251-2400.

Nov 5, 2012 • Baytown Area Quilter’s Guild, Baytown, TX
St. Mark’s United Methodist Church, 3811 N. Main Street, Baytown, Texas

Rim Country Quilt Roundup Logo

Nov 8-10, 2012 • Rim Country Quilt Roundup, Payson, AZ
I will be teaching Sharon Schamber’s Piece-lique and machine quilting classes. I use all her techniques in my work, so I am thrilled with this opportunity. Since I am not teaching my usual classes, I will have some of my quilts to show while I am there. I hope you’ll consider coming to the Roundup, because I’d love to see you.

Nov 19, 2012 • Lakeview Quilter’s Guild, Nassau Bay, TX. Gloria Dei Lutheran Church, 18220 Upper Bay Road, Nassau Bay, Texas

. . . . . . . . . .

Feb 14-15, 2013 • Quilter’s Guild of East Texas, Tyler, TX
I will be doing a lecture Thursday and Scrapbag Bouquet workshop on Friday.

Feb 17-24, 2013 • Quilter’s Emporium 7-Day Quilt Cruise
I am one of the featured teachers on this fabulous cruise, which leaves out of Galveston. I will be teaching three separate full-day classes, as well as a lecture one of the evenings we are at sea.

Because I love to tease you, here are a few photos of my projects. The first few photos are from my embellishment classes.

Sparkle Plenty_Close3

Sparkle Plenty_Close6

Here’s are a close up from my wool applique project.

Wool Project_Close2

and here’s a glimpse at my string piecing project.

Secondhand Rose_Close7

I will be sharing more photos in another post, so stay tuned for that.

Apr 4-5, 2013 • Palmer Divide Quiltmakers Guild, Monument, CO
I will be giving a lecture on Thursday, Apr 4th at 7:00p and a full-day workshop on Friday. As soon as a workshop decision is made, I’ll let you know.

Apr 18, 2013 • The Island Quilter’s Guild, Galveston, TX
Moody Memorial Methodist Church, 2803 53rd Street, Galveston, TX

Jun 20-21, 2013 • Trinity Valley Quilters’ Guild, Fort Worth, TX
Central Christian Church, 3205 Hamilton Ave., Ft. Worth, TX. I will be teaching my Scrapbag Bouquet workshop,Thursday, June 20th and giving a program on Friday during the guild meeting, which starts at 9:00a.

. . . . . . . . . .

If you would like to contact me about workshops or lectures, here’s all you have to do. Email me at tomrussellquilts@gmail.com. How freaking easy is that? I just love technology.

. . . . . . . . . .

Now that I have covered this issue, I have more to tell you, so I need to get started on the next post.

Before I go, I want to tell you how much I have appreciated your sticking with me during my absence. I have had many wonderful adventures while on the road and I plan to share those with you in the future.

I am slowing learning that I can’t cram everything I want to do into one day, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to give up trying. 🙂

Now, I’m going to let you go. I need to get started on my post about the cruise projects and the sooner I start, the more time I’ll have for writing another post. I think you are going to enjoy seeing what I have been up to.

. . . . . . . . . .

You are the BEST BFFs EVAH and I have missed chatting with you!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

22 Responses to “My Schedule: Okay, You Asked For It!”

  1. Cyn Strang Says:

    My goodness, you are one busy bee! Glad to see so many wonderful things happening for you, though. We love you lots! Cyn and Jeff. Xoxo

  2. DakotaEssence Says:

    Hi Tim,

    I saw your Quilt Show episode and fell in love 😉 . I hope that some day I will be able to take one of your classes.

    FYI, re adding a new page to your blog (I’m just learning too)–go to your WordPress Dashboard. In the left column, about one third of the way down is ‘Pages.’ Roll your cursor over the word and click ‘Add New.’ From there you can title and build your page.

    ’til later,
    Jillian in North Dakota, who wouldn’t be quilting if it weren’t for Sharon Schamber…

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jillian, What a helpful person you are. I am glad you enjoyed watching my episode and I will be looking forward to the day we get to meet in person.

      I tried what you suggested, but am not getting the result I want. I would like the page to appear as a tab along the top of my standing page, but that doesn’t happen. It shows up in an unattractive way in my side bar.

      If this is my only option, then I will design a graphic to make it standout better, but I would prefer tabs at the top along the top.

      As much as I blog, I still know very little about the mechanics of it. My forehead and I appreciate your help and any additional information you can provide.

      Thanks again for writing! I’ll be looking forward to hearing from you.

      • DakotaEssence Says:

        Tom,

        You’ll get a ‘tabbed’ page only if the blog theme you have chosen has that option–I have no idea which themes that may be! This support page may be of assistance, http://en.support.wordpress.com/pages/

        Wishing you many fewer blog frustrations, you need to keep that creative brain of yours bruise free…
        Jillian

        • Tom Russell Says:

          Hi Jillian, Thanks for the info. I will check it out. I used to be able figure most of this stuff blog out without a great deal of trouble, but this one has me stumped.

          It could be the limitations of the theme, but I think it has more to do with the limitations of the operator, than anything else.

          Thanks again. I appreciate all your help.

  3. quilterlynn Says:

    It’s wonderful to see you getting the publicity and recognition your wonderful talent deserves! Your influence is certainly affecting MY quilts! Wish I could post a photo here!

    Lynn Kelly Dragonfly_Full View

    Lynn Kelly Dragonfly_Closeup

  4. Sue Garman Says:

    Tom –
    I’ve been following your blog for quite a while and am THRILLED to see that you are coming to our guild to speak in November (Lakeview Quilters Guild). Can’t wait to meet you in person – if you need a place to stay on this side of town (Friendswood – near Nassau Bay), you can always stay at my house – breakfast included! It’ll save you a long night-time drive back to Katy.
    Sue Garman
    shgarman(at)comcast(dot)net

  5. Jayardi Says:

    • • • Oh my, do you have a busy schedule. Sure am glad you still find the time for us little peons. 😀

    And, if you are ever teaching in my neck of the woods, I hope you’ll let me know. Chicago isn’t that far from me, just so you know.

    Any chance you’ll be going to AQS in Des Moines in October? The Green Monster (aka Simply Glowing) will be there. (me too;))

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Jayardi!!! I will always make time for BFFs. If you are in my life, you are not a peon. 🙂

      How funny. You bring up Chicago. I have actually been contacted by 4 guilds in the Illinois area and one of those guilds is in Chicago. (Hi Barb! I haven’t forgotten you.)

      Des Moines would be a fabulous show to go to, but I am not sure I can make it. Then again, life has offered me many surprise adventures of late, so who knows? I might see you at the show.

      Congratulations on Simply Glowing getting into the show. I am thrilled for you and a double CONGRATULATIONS for your awards at the State Fair!!!! YOU ROCK!

      I am SO PROUD of all that you have accomplished and continue to achieve. I will be looking forward to seeing your work in winner’s circle of Houston one day.

      xxxooo 🙂

  6. Eddie Landreth Says:

    Hi Tom,

    It sounds like you are indeed the busiest of bees these days. We had a wonderful time with you last month, thanks so much for coming here. The guild had its monthly sit and sew and we were still talking today about your lecture and how fun it was. “OMG!!” Haha! “This is a test!”

    If you don’t have anything to do the second weekend in September (haha, I know, fat chance) consider coming up for the AWOL retreat at Ferndale 4H. We’d love to have you come join us! Anyway, you’re more fun that a barrel of monkeys (Hmmm, I wonder how fun a barrel of monkeys would REALLY be?) and we’re all looking forward to your next visit. Stay cool down there!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Eddie, I have been gloriously busy and hope to be even busier visiting guilds in the future.

      I had a blast spending a day with the amazing and talented folks at AQG. It is an exceptional guild and I wouldn’t be doing what I’m doing today if it weren’t for them.

      I am tickled that my workshop and lecture is still generating conversation. I had a blast from beginning to end. It was a glorious day, indeed.

      At this point, I am not sure where I’m going to be the second weekend in September, but if there’s a chance to spend more time with the fabulous members of AQG, I’m going to give it a shot.

      With all my travels I end up being in the area from time-to-time, so driving a couple of extra hours to spend the weekend laughing and sewing would be a treat, so thank you for the invitation.

      It’s wonderful to hear that my visit was enjoyed by so many. Thanks for letting me know. I will be looking forward to the next one as well.

  7. Carla Says:

    Such a busy boy. How will you ever get into any trouble with that schedule. ;o) hmmm somehow I know you’ll find time.

Comments are closed.


