A Look at My 2013 Quilt Cruise Workshops

Quilt Cruise Projects Opener

Hey Kids!

Today is SO EXCITING!! I finally get to show you my Cruise workshop projects. I have worked feverishly on these projects for the past couple of months and I am finally ready to share them with you. YEA!

I could ramble on and on about how much fun I’ve had working on them, but I’ll save that for later. Now, it’s just time to share.

Secondhand Rose: Close-up 3

This first project is Secondhand Rose. Using string and foundation-piecing techniques, I will show you how easy it is to create amazing one-of-a-kind roses and use up all those leftover scraps at the same time.

Secondhand Rose_Close-up 4

The technique is fun, easy and addictive.

Secondhand Rose: Close-up 5

You’ll learn how subtle value shifts can transform ordinary scraps into extraordinary roses.

Secondhand Rose: Close-up 6

Beyond creating stunning roses, I’ll show you how to use the tiniest of leftovers to create a spectacular background for your roses.

Secondhand Rose: Full View

I’ve been thinking about this project for a long time and had a blast working on it. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

. . . . . . . . . . .

Secondhand Rose is a technique class. In this class I will show you how to make all the components from the elaborate roses to the impressionistic backgrounds. You will also receive a pattern that shows you how to create the wallhanging above. The wallhanging measures 12×36-in.

Sparkle Plenty: Close-up 1

These photos are from my second workshop Sparkle Plenty. In this workshop you will learn easy-to-master techniques for adding bead and button embellishments to your quilts.

Sparkle Plenty: Close 7

You’ll learn how to combine beads and other embellishments to create elaborate looks.

Sparkle Plenty: Close up

You’ll see how easy it is to transform any quilted item into an embellished masterpiece.

Sparkle Plenty: Close up 4

You’ll learn the ins and outs of transforming ordinary buttons into one-of-a-kind creations.

Sparkle Plenty: Close-up 3

Through repeated practice you will gain the confidence you need to tackle any embellishment idea you can dream up.

Sparkle Plenty: Close-up 2

If you enjoy embellishments and have been curious about how to apply them, then this is the class for you.

. . . . . . . . . . .

Sparkle Plenty is not a demo class. It is six hours of hands-on beading and embellishing. By the time you complete this workshop, you will understand what it takes to bead and embellish like a pro.

Wool Project: Close-up 1

The last workshop I have to share with you, is my wool applique project.

In this workshop you will learn a simple technique for transforming ordinary blue jeans into a one-of-a-kind background for the applique.

Wool Project: Close-up 2

You’ll learn how easy it is to create fine details and achieve perfect placement of your applique pieces.

Wool Project: Close-up 4

You’ll see how extraordinarily easy it is to work with wool.

Wool Project: Close-up 3

I’ll teach you my techniques for couching yarn and adding embroidered details.

Wool Project: Full View

This is a great project for anyone interested in wool applique. Before the class is over, we will create the background, cut out and attach all the applique and depending on how fast you embroider, you could be well on your way to completing the top.

This is actually a technique class.(In spite of what it looks like.) You will learn each of the techniques used in creating this fun project and receive a pattern and placement guide.

. . . . . . . . . . .

Well, that’s it kids. This has been my SPECIAL BFF PREVIEW of projects for the Quilter’s Emporium Cruise. If you’d like to find out more about the cruise, then click on any of the photos or click here.

. . . . . . . . . . .

In the opener, I said I had and unapologetic plea for help.

Well, here it is . . . 

I need your help in naming this wool applique project. I have considered potential names for the last few days and I haven’t come up with anything that I am overjoyed with. So . . . I thought I would be fun if you helped me name it.

Please post here or email any suggestions you have for naming this project. I will review all the suggestions and pick a winner some time next week.

It goes without say, that the winner will have my undying gratitude and the honor of knowing they named my newest workshop and pattern—but better than that—the winner will receive a copy of the as-yet-unnamed pattern for their very own. Along with the new pattern, the winner will also receive a copy of all my patterns. How fun is that?

. . . . . . . . . . .

I know what you’re thinking. . . .“What patterns?”

Then you started thinking . . . “Tom . . . do you have patterns?”

Because I am psychic and can read your minds occasionally, I’d have to say . . . “Yes, I have patterns.”

I have only sold a few and in very controlled situations. Now I’m about ready to change all of that, so stay tuned for more.

Because we are BFFs and I love you a lot, you will always be the first to know what I’m up to and when.

. . . . . . . . . . .

Now that the preview is over, I look forward to hearing what you think about my new workshops.

So . . . . tell me what you think!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

111 Responses to “A Look at My 2013 Quilt Cruise Workshops”

  1. Norma Hornung Says:

    Your quilts look absolutely gorgeous. I love the rose quilt.
    My suggestion for a name for your little quilt is : Singing in the Fog

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Norma, Thanks for the kind words. I’m glad you enjoyed seeing my new projects. I am glad you like the rose. It came out better than I hoped and working on it has generated a lot of new ideas and approaches I’d like to try.

      I think it’s the beginning of some thing new for me to work on.

      That’s a great name. I’ll add it to my list.

      Thanks for commenting. It’s always great to hear from you! Have a fabulous day.

  2. Carol Kettlewell Says:

    Gossiping Twosome would be a cute name for your birds.

  3. TexPat Says:

    You do such lovely work! How about “Love Birds.”

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey TexPat, Thanks. It’s always nice to hear when someone enjoys what your work on as much as you do.

      Love Birds is a great name and it’s now on my list.

      Thanks for commenting and have a wonderful day!

  4. Gari Ann Says:

    Well, I just LOVE denim. I love to wear it. I love to recycle/upcycle it. Wool on denim… even better!!!! I just LOVE everything about that design!! My first thought was SCRAPALICIOUS!!! My second thought was Cutie-Pa-Two-Ties.

    Either way…. now I’m hooked!!!! Wool on denim?!!! Time to break out the new embroidery hoop!!! Congrats on the all the excitement in your life! (unfortunately, I am in California and I won’t be able to go on the cruise….. 😦 boo hoo face

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Gari Ann, That is wonderful news to hear. I was a little anxious to hear people reactions to the denim. I was afraid people wouldn’t like it as much as I did, even though I thought it was a perfection complement to the texture of the wool. YEA!!!

      I am glad you are hooked because I have many more ideas in the works for wool and denim. Yep, I think you are gonna want to dust off the embroidery hoop and start looking at all the amazing wool that’s on the market.

      Even if you can’t make it to the cruise, I am sure I’ll get to California eventually. Then we can meet in person. Until then, stay tuned and I’ll keep you updated on what I’m doing and where I’ll be.

      I am sure our paths will cross in the future. Thanks for the wonderful suggestions. They are now on my list.

      Have a fabulous day!

  5. Martha Whitlock Says:

    All I can say is “WOW!!” I want to take the cruise just to take your classes. Your stitching and techniques are terrific. Name… “Birds, Take Two”

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Martha, That’s a wonderful thing to hear. I had hoped people would like my workshop ideas and you’re enthusiastic response was more than I could have asked for, so THANK YOU for that.

      You are very kind and generous with your words of praise. Thank you.

      Thank you also for the name suggestion. I hadn’t thought of that one. It’s now on my list!

      Have a FABULOUS day!

  6. Terri Rexford Says:

    Possible names for the wool quilt:
    “Song between friends” or “Singing in the Refrain”

  7. Nikki Brackin Says:

    I may have to overcome my fear of deeeeep water – WOW!!!!! I would name that little quilt “Will You Marry Me?” Love YOU!!!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Well, Miss Nikki Brackin . . . It is so WONDERFUL to hear from you.

      You are a dear. That little wool quilt has been living in the bag you gave me from the moment you gave it to me. It was a fabulous gift from a fabulous and generous person.

      I couldn’t be more thrilled that you like the project. It makes my day.

      This is a great name. I can’t believe I didn’t think of it. I hadn’t even thought of them as a couple. Jeez, I can be such a goober.

      Thanks for your enthusiastic support. I LOVE YOU TOO!

      • Nikki Brackin Says:

        Well, LOL – if you don’t want to be so mushy about it – I decided “Can You Come Out & Play” would be my second choice.

  8. quilterlynn Says:

    I could absolutely NOT be any more jealous than I am right now that some of your fans will be going on that cruise with you! But putting that unattractive ‘feeling’ behind us, let’s focus on the name: how about “Two Birds in a Bush?”

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Lynn, You are too funny. There is no reason to be jealous. These classes will be premiering on the cruise, but they will not be the only classes I will be teaching.

      I’m sure there will be plenty of opportunity for us to spend time together in the future on dry land.

      What a fun name. Thanks for the suggestion. It’s now on the list!

      I hope you have a magnificent day!

  9. Jean Says:

    Can we take all three of your classes on the cruise or do we have to pick just one….??? I would name the quilt “Song Spiral”

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jean, The answer is yes. Cruise attendees can choose as many classes as they can fit into the three days we are at sea. Some teachers may offer half-day classes, but all mine are full-day workshops.

      Quilter’s Emporium will be posting the class options around the first of September. You will be able to make your choices then. The classes are filled a first-come, first served basis. So, when the brochures are mailed or emailed to you, pick your classes immediately to ensure you have a seat.

      As I get more information, I’ll share it with you.

      Thanks for your comments and the name suggestion. It’s been added to the list.

      I hope you have a glorious day!

  10. Eddie Landreth Says:

    Hi Tom,

    We are SOOOO looking forward to this cruise, it is going to be great beyond words. Your classes above are whetting the appetite!

    And a few pattern name suggestions:

    “BFFs” (haha, couldn’t resist adding that one)
    “Just Between Friends”

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Eddie, I’m looking forward to the cruise too. Each thing I accomplish for it makes it more real. I can hardly believe it’s actually happening.

      I’m going on my first cruise ever, surrounded my some of my favorite people in the world and getting to do two of the things I enjoy the most, quilting and eating desserts. It’s going to be a SPECTACULAR experience.

      Thanks for the great suggestions. They are now on the list!

      I will be looking forward to seeing you and Melissa on the cruise.

      Hope you have an extraordinary day!

  11. Donna Chapman Says:

    Love all of the above and hope I can jump on board the cruise.

    Pattern name: Birds of a Feather

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Donna, You make me laugh. I’m glad you enjoyed my projects and hope you’ll be able join me on the cruise. I know you would have a blast.

      Thanks for the great suggestion. The name has been added to my list.

      I hope you have a spectacular day and thanks for commenting!

  12. Wendy Swears Says:

    The first name that popped in my head for the wool project is “Let me call you tweet heart”

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Wendy! Thanks! That’s a great suggestion. It’s now on my list!

      I appreciate your taking the time to comment and offer a name for my project.

      I hope you have a fantastic day!

  13. Chris Chambers Says:

    Well, it may be a little obscure (and I’m showing my age), but the first thing I thought of for the wool project was the 60’s song “Wooly Bully” and Hattie and Mattie in the lyrics. I’ll bet no one else comes up with that one!! Love your patterns. Thanks, Tom!!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Chris, You are to funny! Wooly Bully is a fun name and great suggestion. I have added it to my list.

      I am tickled that you enjoy my work. That is always a wonderful thing to hear.

      Thanks for your suggestion. I hope you have a magnificent day!

  14. Melissa Landreth Says:

    “All A-Twitter”

    Already counting the days till February!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Melissa, I’m am counting the days, right along with you.

      Thanks for the great suggestion. It’s now on the list.

      Have a great day!

  15. Cyn Strang Says:

    We says Bird Flew, Birds On a Twine, The Birdman of Quiltatraz, Twin Beaks……Twin Tweets
    They are so beautiful! Would love to sit in on your classes? 🙂

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Cyn, These are fun. Thanks for the additions. You know if your name is chosen you will have to learn to quilt. 🙂

      One day I’ll be teaching in your area and you will be more than welcome to sit in on a class.

      All my love to you and Jeff. xxxooo 🙂

  16. Sharie - Moss Bluff Says:

    All of your work is terrific. I love foundation piecing and do a lot of it. Your roses are wonderful and would love to buy a pattern when you have one.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Sharie, Thanks! I’m glad you enjoy my work. Foundation piecing rocks! As soon as I have the patterns ready, I’ll let you know.

      Thanks for the kind words. Hope you have a glorious day!

  17. Carol Sylvester Says:

    Hi Tom–I’m not a quilter–I do mostly hand embroidery–but I read your blog for needlework inspiration. LOVE the Secondhand Rose quilt!

    I’m glad to hear there may be some patterns coming in the future. Your work may be what it takes to get me into quilting as well.

    Have you ever thought about what some of your quilting might look like interpreted in other types of needlework? Secondhand Rose would look fabulous as a mixed media piece, incorporating needlepoint, quilting, appliqué and embroidery. The birds would also be fun in mixed media. What do you think? I’d like to discuss further with you, if you are interested.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Carol, Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am thrilled that you think my work would translate well into other types of needlework.

      I couldn’t imagine a cooler thing than to design a quilt and then see it transform into needlepoint, punchneedle, red work and cross stitch.

      I’ve been talking these ideas over with a friend of mine who is an accomplished needleworker, but we are only in the beginning stages of how to make this happy. Any advice you may have is most welcome.

      You can contact me at tomrussellquilts@gmail.com. I’ll be looking forward to hearing from you.

      I appreciate the praise, but I am thrilled to hear that my work may inspire you to quilt. Trust me, quilting can change your life. It has surely changed mine.

      I hope you have a fabulous day!

  18. Mona K Says:

    How about Bird Song or Cheer-Up! Cheer-Up! (Don’t you think the birds are singing that sometimes?!) or Bird Be Mine . . . Anyway, I’d like to win your fabulous prizes, but if I don’t I’m very interested in your patterns….

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Mona, Thanks for the wonderful suggestions. I agree, with you about the birds. They sing that around my house all the time. I love to sit outside in the early morning to listen to them talk and sign. Birds can teach us a lot about enjoying life.

      Thanks again for the suggestions. They’ve been added to my list.

      I hope you have an incredible day!

  19. Terri Rexford Says:

    I hope you will be releasing some of your designs as patterns – especially your two “bird” quilts. And please… you should publish a booklet or a DVD with your wonderful beading and buttonwork techniques.

    Enjoyed your episode of The Quilt Show! You have fired my imagination to go beyond quilting and threadpainting!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Terri, Thank you for your kind words and enthusiastic support. I really appreciate it!

      I am a little busy at the moment, so I can’t start on a book or DVD workshop just yet, but I am contemplating how I will pull this off. I think it’s going to be a fabulous adventure and as soon as I figure out what I’m going to do, then you’ll be the first to hear about it.

      I always share my good news with my BFFs before I share it with anyone else.

      It is wonderful to learn that my work has inspired you to move into directions that you hadn’t considered before. It is what every teacher longs to hear, so thank for giving me this amazing gift.

      I hope you have a tremendous day!

  20. Ana Kempfer Says:

    Tom, the roses are drop-dead GORGEOUS!! I hope you will be selling the pattern!! Wish I could afford the cruise.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Ana, Why, thank you. I am thrilled that you like my roses. I was afraid people wouldn’t like them as much as I did. Your response has eliminated that doubt completely.

      Yes, I will be selling the pattern in the near future. Since I wasn’t quite sure how it was going to turn out, I didn’t start with a pattern, just an idea. Now that the quilt is made, the pattern making process can begin.

      I wish you could go on the cruise too, but don’t worry, there will be another opportunity for us to meet in the future.

      Thanks again for your wonderful comments. I hope you have an extraordinary day!

  21. Heather Says:

    My first thought when I saw these cute birds on the branches was Tweetin’ Along or Tweeting in the Treetops. Love your projects and wish I could sail along with you.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Heather, Thanks for the great suggestions. I’ve added them to my list.

      I can’t get over how clever everyone is. I don’t know why this surprises me? I have the best BFFs ever!

      I am glad to hear that you liked my projects. That wonderful to hear. Don’t worry about not making this cruise. I’m sure we’ll have the opportunity to meet in the future.

      Thanks for you great suggestions and for taking the time to comment. I hope you have a fantastic day!

  22. Brenda Says:

    It looks the two precious birds are discussing something – probably you. But maybe “Will You Fly With Me”. Sorry that a cruise with you will not be on my agenda, but I will be with you in spirit. Grandkids just take up my spare time. We are busy making memories together.

    A book, a DVD, a pattern would all be fantastic things to share more of your work with more people. You do have so much to share, it is just amazing. I will always be one of your many cheerleaders!!!!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Brenda, Thanks for the suggestion. It’s a good one.

      Don’t give a second thought to the cruise. Your priorities are where they should be. Making memories with the grandkids are more important than any cruise.

      I’ll be working on all those teaching tools in the future, so stayed tuned. Right now, my focus is on my new job and coming up with workshops that I think people will enjoy. Soon as I have those figured out, then I’ll move onto books and DVDs.

      As always, it’s wonderful to hear from you. Thanks for taking the time to comment. I hope you have a glorious and grandkid-filled day!

      xxxooo 🙂

  23. Jayardi Says:

    • • • I had to go back and look again. Still hard to believe that is denim. I love the color changes of the denim. And, of course, your birds are toot sweet. Hey that could be a suggestion, but I was thinking “Come up and see me sometime”.

    I am so happy for you and all the fun things you get to do now. It couldn’t have happened to a nicer person. Sure wish I could join you on the cruise.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Jayardi! I have been planning on playing around with blue jeans for a while and never got around to doing what I was planning. Then I started to think about this wool project and I thought it was a perfect opportunity to experiment.

      I am very tickled with the way it turned out. I only wanted to alter the jeans in a subtle way and I was able to achieve the change almost effortlessly. I am very excited about the possibilities this technique offers and will be playing around with it more in the future. Besides being a great technique, it’s really fun. What more could you ask for?

      Thanks for the name suggestions. They are now on my list. YEA!

      Thank you for your kind words. It is exciting to be involved in so many fun adventures. It is also great to be able to share them with people I care about.

      Life is good. When things go bad, it’s sometimes hard to remember that. With steadfast and supportive friends like you showing me the beauty and wonder surrounding me, I always had something wonderful to look forward to until I could see it for myself.

      Thank you for your unwavering support and friendship. It means the world to me. 🙂

      I hope you have a day filled with miracles and magic! xxxooo 🙂

  24. Dot Collins Says:

    Hi Tom, my suggestion is “Woo’ll you be mine”. cant wait for the cruise! Dot

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Dot! What a fun name. Thanks! I have added it to my list.

      I am looking forward to the cruise too. It is going to be the best cruise EVER! Seven days on a big ship surrounded by fabulous friends, endless desserts and quilting. What more could a person want?

      xxxooo 🙂

  25. Delia Lopez Says:

    Absolutely love the roses!! What a fun time your classes would be. Maybe one day I will get to join you in a class.

    Your birds seem to be on a happy note so maybe they are a “Sweet Serenade”.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Delia, How wonderful it is to hear from you! I am thrilled to hear that you like the roses.

      They are fabulously fun to make and I know one day the universe will give me the opportunity to personally show you how easy they are do. I just know it.

      Thanks for your comments and the wonderful name suggestion. I have added it to my now, quite long list.

      What a fabulous thing. I asked for a little help from my BFFs and the responses have been fabulous in every way. I am blessed.

      I hope you have a wonderful day. It is always a treat to hear from you.

  26. Carol Ann Wilbourn Says:

    Gee, Tom that looks mighty familiar – Can you say “Jibbles & Bits”?!! I’ve got a lot of Quilts with that in them.
    Carol Ann Wilbourn, Quilter

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Carol Ann, Yes, the background similar, but your approach to this type of pieceing is far more intricate than what I’ve used on my project. You are in a class all your own, when it comes to working with tiny, tiny pieces.

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting. I hope you have a fabulous day!

  27. Barb Unrein Says:

    Love, Love ,Love the quilts! Wish I were going on the cruise. Please make a DVD for all of us fans out here.

    “Come Fly with Me” would be my suggestion

    P.S. Was in the audience at your “Quilt Show” taping. What a fun day that was!!!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Barb, Your words are music to my ears. Thank you for being so kind and generous with your praise.

      Also, thank you for the wonderful name suggestion. I have added it to my list.

      As soon as I get a few more things under control, I’ll be working how to share what I do and how I do it. Please be patient with me. I want to do it right.

      You were in the audience? Oh how cool. That was a fun day, indeed. It was a magic day, no doubt about it. I am glad you enjoyed it.

      Thanks for commenting. I hope you have an extraordinary day!

  28. deniece Says:

    Your creativity just moves me! luv them all!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey there, You are so sweet. Such simple words. Each filled with more emotion than can be adequately expressed by words. You are a dear and very precious to me. xxxooo 🙂

  29. Kathy Says:

    Hi Tom:

    I just love reading all the excitement over your newest creations. I think there’s a lot of love goin’ around over your reveal. From the first time I saw your birds, all I could think of is “Out on a Limb” for your two little peeps.

    so much love…..
    Kathy

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey You! What fun it is to see your comments. This is a better reaction than I had ever hoped for. Life is wonderful and so full of surprises.

      Thanks for the great name suggestion. I will be adding it to the list.

      I hope you have a day filled with love and laughter. xxxooo 🙂

  30. Barb Rechtfertig Says:

    It has to be called “Pick a little, talk a little” ’cause I’m sure that’s what you’ll be doing on your cruise.

    You could all sing along… I’d lead if I could go. You wouldn’t be leaving from CA. would you?

    Love your work!
    Barb

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Barb, What a great suggestion. I knew I had heard the phrase before, but I couldn’t remember where, so I did a little research. (Thank God for Youtube.) It is a fabulous song.

      I may have to do a quilt inspired by it. Extraordinary to see as well as to listen to. What a fabulous way to start the day!

      BFF FYI: If you’d like to hear the song, here’s a link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jbhnRuJBHLs

      A sing-a-long sounds great and you’d definitely have to lead, because I am no singer.

      Nope the cruise doen’t leave from CA, it leaves from Galveston, TX. Who knows, if this cruise goes well, I may get other offers to teach on the high seas. The idea of departing from CA sounds simply delicious.

      Thanks for you kind words and delightful name suggestion. They were each a treat.

      I hope you have a day filled with magic and memories!

  31. Paul Leger Says:

    OMG, totally amazing. Fantastic quilts and projects Tom. I am so impressed. Your students are in for a great time.

    Paul

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Paul, Thanks for your kind words. They mean a lot to me. We are going to have a blast on this cruise, even if we don’t sew a thing.

      I plan to make memories that last a lifetime on this cruise and I am eager to start making them.

      Thanks for dropping by and offering such generous praise.

      I hope you have a magical day!

  32. Sharon Kisel Says:

    Absolutely beautiful, Tom!! Lucky people who get to cruise with you.
    In Boulder for TQS tomorrow so excited about that. For the bird wool applique, “Together Forever”. Can’t wait for patterns to be available. Congratulations on finishing some beautiful projects! The Secondhand Rose is my favorite but love them all.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Sharon, Why, thank you. Those are very kind words.

      I think I am the lucky one here. This is a magical opportunity and it became more magical when so many dear friends decided to join me on this adventure. I can hardly believe it is happening to me.

      Congratulations on getting to be there for the TQS taping. It is so much fun to be a part of these history making events. You are in for a treat. The TQS show is one the forefront of quilt making history, so any opportunity to be there should be treasured and savored for the gift that it is.

      Thanks for the name suggestion. It’s fantastic and has been added to the list.

      I am thrilled that you like my projects. The response has been more than I ever thought possible. As soon as the patterns are ready, you will be one of the first to know.

      I hope you have a memorable and action-packed day at the TQS studio!

  33. frankfigueredo Says:

    What super projects! The roses are outstanding and look like they’re fun to make. My name for your wool project is “Bird Attraction”. Have fun on the cruise!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Frank, Thanks for dropping by to comment. It’s always great to hear a new voice in the conversation.

      I am glad that you enjoyed the rose project. The roses are fun and easy to do and the most fabulous thing is that the visual impact far exceeds the effort. The techniques used in creating the roses and the background will make you look at your scraps in a whole new way.

      Thanks for the suggestion. It’s been added to my list.

      Oh I am going to have fun all right. It’s the most important thing on my agenda.

      Thanks for adding to the conversation. I hope you hear from you again soon. Have a fabulous day!

  34. Elaine Hennecker Says:

    Tom, Love your work. I first saw you on The Quilt Show and was totaly inspired by you. Good luck in your future endeavors. How about, “It Takes Two To Tango” ;o)

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hello Elaine, Thank you for your kind words. It is wonderful to hear that my work has inspired you. Hopefully I will have the opportunity to meet you and see your work in person.

      Thank you for the well wishes and for the great name suggestion. It has been added to my ever-growing list. YEA!

      I hope you have a miraculous day!

  35. Analisa Says:

    GAH! Tom you just have that special umph! The roses are so lush! Love it all.
    I have a few names for your felted bird piece: The call to summer or
    The calling?
    Anyhoo lots of love! Analisa in Dubai

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Well Analisa!!!! How cool it is to hear from you? I am just tickled to pieces to see your name in my comments section. What a treat for me. 🙂

      I’m thrilled that you like my roses. I hoped that people would like them as much as I did, but I never imaged this response. I hardly know what to say, other than THANK YOU. Your praise lifts my spirits and makes me want to create even more.

      Thanks for the wonderful name suggestions. They have been added to my list.

      It is always a treat to hear from you. I hope you have a day filled with creativity and joy!

  36. Cecelia Says:

    Your wooly birds are “sew” cute! How about naming it – Happy Jean Birds (you know, as opposed to Angry Birds). BTW – I sure hope your patterns are going to include Sparkling Vases. I found it on HGTV long after the pattern was offered and have wanted to make it for quite awhile.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Cecelia, Thanks for your generous and kind words. I have added your suggestion to my list.

      Regarding the patterns, the answer is, yes. Sparking Vases will be one of the patterns I will be offering. It is wonderful to hear that there is still interest in it.

      Thank you for taking the time to add to the conversation. It has been a joy to hear from you.

      I hope you have an incredible day!

  37. Laura Barnes Says:

    Hi, Tom. I think your cruise projects are beautiful. My name for the wool embellishment project is: Dungaree Divas.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Laura, Thank you. I am glad you enjoyed seeing my projects.

      What a fabulous name. I would have never thought of that one. HA! It is hilarious. Thanks!

      I appreciate your taking the time to comment. I hope you have a fantastic day!

  38. Charlotte Betts Says:

    Hi, Tom. Darn, I wish that I could join you and my quilting buddies on the cruise, but as you know, “nana” duties come first. I love your projects for the cruise. They are all right up my alley.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Charlotte, I wish you could join us too. Even though you won’t be there in person, you will be there in spirit, because we will be thinking of you. I’m glad you enjoyed projects. That’s always nice to hear.

      It is always nice to hear from you. I hope you have an extraordinary day!

  39. Elizabeth McKnight Says:

    Tom, your bird look like two ladies gossiping over the backyard fence. I think it should be called “A Little Birdie Told Me.”

    Wish I could take an embellishment class from you. I’m working on an applique project that just screams for more

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Elizabeth, Thanks for the marvelous suggestion. I have added it to my list.

      Please be patient. I am sure there will be an opportunity to take a class from me in the future. I am being contacted by people from everywhere. Hopefully one of the guilds in your area will book me for an embellishment class.

      Even if they don’t, I will be creating books, DVD workshops and patterns that will help teach you what you’d like to know.

      I know how you feel. When a project calls for embellishment, you have to answer that call. Again, please be patient with me. I am working on it.

      It was a joy to hear from you and I wish you a day filled with creativity!

  40. Debbie Says:

    I am a new “follower” after seeing your show on TQS. Your work is lovely.
    Suggestion “I have nothing to declare except my jean-ius” – Oscar Wilde

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Debbie, Thanks for dropping by to comment. I’m thrilled that you have joined the conversation.

      I appreciate your praise. Your words are very kind.

      Thanks for the name suggestion. It brought a smile to my face. It has now been added to the list.

      I hope you have a fantastic day!

  41. bubbecraft Says:

    I’m new to your blog and so haven’t posted before.

    I too would love to learn from you but would not be able to attend a cruise or workshop since we are raising grand daughters on our retirement income. I hope I can learn just by reading and be inspired by your wonderful work.

    Having said that I started free associating words when I looked at your quilt: second hand, vintage, evolved, borrowed spin, rove, wool, parrot, bird, craft … Well you get the idea.

    Here’s what I came up with:
    Are you thready yet?
    Parroty (like Parody or use Parody) of Song
    Burlesque (as in copy, reuse, etc) of Tweets
    Vintage Birdy (as in eccentric)
    Bird-brained Blueprints

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi there, I am thrilled that you have decided to contribute to the conversation. It’s always great to hear from a new friend.

      What you are doing for your grandchildren is an amazing act of love. They are extremely lucky children.

      I would love for you to join me on the cruise, but it will not be the only avenue I teach in. It’s just a very big deal for me, so I’ve made a very big deal of it on my blog.

      I plan to teach at as many venues that are interested in having me. I also plan to create video workshops, tutorials, books and patterns.

      If you will be patient and visit often, you will have a front row seat to everything thing I create. We are going to have a great time together.

      Thanks for the wonderful suggestions. They are fun and have been added to my list.

      Before I go, I would like to thank you again for stopping by to share your story and to offer name suggestions. It was wonderful to hear from you. I can feel that you are a very special person. Your grandchildren are amazingly fortunate to have you in their life.

      I hope to hear from you again. I hope you have a day filled with magic and miracles.

    • Elizabeth McKnight Says:

      Bubbecraft, your grandchildren are so lucky to have you. I know how much work it is to take care of grands, because I had my daughter’s two for 14 months while she was in Afghanistan. It is a labor of love.

      • bubbecraft Says:

        Thank you, Elizabeth. BTW, my name is Jeanne. LOL … Bubbe is Yiddish for grand mother.

        We’ve had Shoshana (my son’s daughter) since she was about 3 weeks old. She’ll be 9 at the end of August.

        Zoe (my daughter’s daughter) is 5 and will have been with us 2 years next month having arrived about a week before Shoshana’s birthday..

        Shoshana we have adopted but I’m hoping Zoe will return to her mother.

        It has been a major readjustment for both me and my husband but we’re managing.

        If nothing else, it has been quite an eye opener for me. Second time around is really QUITE different.

        Maybe all kids should be raised by grand parents?

  42. Candy Says:

    Tom,

    Suggestion for the wooly birds

    “And then I said . . . ”

    Candy

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Well, hey there! What a wonderful surprise!

      Your suggestion is great and I have added it to my list.

      It’s wonderful to hear from you. Have a fabulous day! xxxooo 🙂

  43. Helen Seidel, Buna TX Says:

    Hi Tom,

    Love the new quilts! I won’t be able to make it on the cruise, but my spirit will be looking over your shoulder during the beading class.

    I am so excited about the birds. I have wanted them since I first saw them. You out did yourself doing them in wool. Wool has become my new BFF. I would suggest naming them “Blue jean Feathered Friends” (BFF’s).

    Since I bought your first pattern, I can’t wait for the birds to fly into my studio so I can make them.

    You are so talented and I’m glad I can call you my friend.

    Love and Hugs,
    Helen Seidel
    Buna, TX

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Helen, Thanks for the enthusiastic response to my projects. I couldn’t ask for more. I wish you could be on the cruise too. It is getting closer and I am learning more and more BFFs are signing up. I am thrilled beyond words. It is going to be an adventure like no other.

      I am glad you like the wool project. I have been playing around with the idea of wool for awhile, but hadn’t really done anything other than buy a few pieces and think about. Then the cruise came along and I thought it would be a fun project to work on. Now that I have started playing around with wool, I think it’s my new BFF too.

      Wool is so EASY to work with and the color options available today are amazing. When I finished my sample, I could already tell that wool and I were going to be spending a lot of time together in the future.

      Thank you for the wonderful suggestion. I have added it to my list.

      I am glad you enjoyed my first pattern. More are on the way, I’m tickled to say. I just have to find a few more hours in the day to complete them.

      It’s always great to hear from you and I am thrilled that we are friends as well.

      I hope you have an extraordinary day!

  44. Karen Mundt Says:

    My suggestion is “Tweety Frutti” because the birds look luscious and fruity! Thank you.

  45. Penny Says:

    Hey Tom, greetings from E London! Love love love your Rose quilt – it is so beautiful – and unique – the wool birds design is utterly delightful too – a lovely balance and lovely colour choices.

    An obscure english novel popped into my head as a possible name – ‘Love on a Branch Line’ – my humble contribution to your as unnamed masterpiece! Unless your cruise goes slightly off course and ends up charging down the Thames, I will miss seeing you. If you ever do a European tour, please let me – or us – your arty followers know!

    P.S. We are having a brilliant time hosting the olympics and huge congratulations to the USA on leading the medal table! X. P.S. Would love one day to be able to buy one of your patterns too.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Penny! How wonderful to hear from you. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoy my cruise projects. They were a lot of fun to work on. As I worked on creating each piece, more ideas started to pop into my head. It was a very exciting time and if you like these pieces, you are going to love my other more elaborate ideas.

      Thank you for the name suggestion. It has been added to my list.

      I wish you could join me on the cruise, but I completely understand. Maybe a group will invite me to teach in Europe in the near future and we will meet in person. Until then, we can chat and share here.

      I don’t know much about international shipping, but I will by the time I sell my patterns. I plan to offer a lot of my patterns as downloads from my website, so you will be able to have them without the additional shipping costs. I still have to actually figure out how to do this, but that’s what I plan to have available.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment. It was a joy to hear from you. Have a fabulous day!

  46. Judy from Soddy Daisy, TN Says:

    Tom, thanks for your blogs…they brighten my day!!!!

    Here’s a couple suggestions for sweet birds…..”My Nest or Yours” and “It’s Your Turn To Take Out the Garbage”.

    Looks like great things are coming your way and I wish the very best for you.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Judy! It’s good to hear from you. I’m glad you enjoy reading my blog posts. I have a lot of fun creating them, so your response is fabulous to hear.

      Thanks for your great suggestions. They have been added to my list.

      Thank your for your kind words. I have been blessed and I am very grateful for all the wonderful things that have come my way in the recent months. Sometimes the miracles in my life have left me speechless. Oh yes, I am blessed.

      I hope you have a wonderful day!

  47. Jan Everett Says:

    Hi Tom, I love the wool appliqué. I’d call it “Tweet Harmony.”

    Best wishes, Jan

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jan, Thanks! I’m glad you like the wool project. It was a lot of fun to do. I could tell immediately that wool and I are going to be fast and long-lasting friends.

      Thanks for the great suggestion. I have added it to my list.

      I hope you have a magnificent day!

  48. Pam Says:

    Hello!
    THAT quilt is gorgeous! I would so love to take a cruise, take a class but with two in college…I am busted, lol (!) so I am just going to have to try it with just looking at your wonderful work of art…AWESOME! The name “Peeps” comes to mind….

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Pam, You are funny. Thanks for the laugh. I’d love for you to join me on the cruise as well, but I completely understand. Once your kids are out of college, they will be able to pay for you to go on a cruise. I think it’s a perfect trade off and something to look forward to.

      As I mentioned earlier, I will be adding more things to my website in the future, so even if you can’t make the cruise, there will be plenty of opportunity for me to teach you how I do what I do.

      The workshops and tutorials will be fun, but we I don’t think they will be as entertaining as knowing you are taking a workshop on a cruise ship—which sounds incredibly decadent to me.

      I am glad you enjoyed the project. Hmmmm, Peeps. Why didn’t I think of that. That name definitely has potential and it’s been added to my list.

      I appreciate your taking time to comment. I hope you have a fabulous day!

  49. Carla Says:

    You never cease tp amaze me. WOW! That Rose quilt just jumped off the page with all the color and movement. Love the little birds. I kept thinking those little birds are Singing Opportunity Rejoice. I know it doesn’t make sense but that’s how my mind worked

  50. Marian Howard Gallian Says:

    I love your new quilts and wanted to find out about your cruise. But i tried to click thru several different places and I kept getting a redirect loop. I want to post this on my facebook page but don’t want to post if the links aren’t working. Would love to find out about the cruise. (I use google).

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Marian, Thanks for letting me know that some of my links aren’t working properly. I’ll investigate what has gone wrong, since my initial post. If you click on the Quilter’s Emporium Cruise link, it will take you to the Quilter’s Emporium website.

      The banner at the top of their site has a variety of links. The first two tabs relate to the cruise.

      I appreciate you for letting me know about the links I hate it when things like this happen.

      I also appreciate you taking the time to check out the cruise. It’s going to be a lot of fun and I hope you’ll consider joining us.

      Thanks for commenting and have a great day!

  51. Marian Howard Gallian Says:

    even that one says Quilters Emporium link says
    This webpage has a redirect loop
    The webpage at http://www.quiltersemporium.com/(X(1)S(db2jfh3vnziswz55kwzc51jm))/default.aspx?AspxAutoDetectCookieSupport=1 has resulted in too many redirects. Clearing your cookies for this site or allowing third-party cookies may fix the problem. If not, it is possibly a server configuration issue and not a problem with your computer.
    Here are some suggestions:
    Reload this webpage later.
    Learn more about this problem.
    Error 310 (net::ERR_TOO_MANY_REDIRECTS): There were too many redirects.

  52. Linda Says:

    Hey cousin, I love the roses and the two little birdies are so cute. How about “Twitter-pated” or “Tweeter-pated” for the name .
    Have fun on the cruise. Hope you don’t get seasick!!!

  53. Sheila Dobiliauskas Says:

    How about “Why don’t you come on up and see me some time” – or some variation of that. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE your work. Did I mention I LOVE your work? I have watched your appearance on The Quilt Show three times now, and I know I’ll be going back for more. You must write a book, and I want to be first in line for the purchase 🙂 Patterns, patterns – YIPPEE. Can’t wait to be able to buy them, too. Keep up the fabulous work. I’ll be digging out my beads and buttons for sure.

  54. Sheila Dobiliauskas Says:

    Hi, Tom – revised my name suggestion to “Come up and see me sometime, Big Bird.”

Comments are closed.


