Magic Camera Monday: August 6, 2012

Magic Camera Monday: Package From Margo Redo

Recently I received a package from my dear friend Margo, in Tennessee.

Over the past few weeks, Margo has been helping her mother-in-law clear out some of her old jewelry. As she was helping go through it, she thought I might enjoy having some of the pieces, so she decided to box them up and send them my way.

I have put off opening the box until I could photograph it, so you could enjoy my surprise at the same time I did.

Well today’s our lucky day, so let’s get started . . .

Magic Camera Monday: Packing Peanuts

Mmmmm . . . these are my favorite kind of peanuts. Every time I see them I get all tingly inside, because I know something special is hiding underneath these little pillows of protection.

When I say something special was hiding beneath, I wasn’t kidding. Just look at all the loveliness I found in the small box.

Magic Camera Monday: Red Jewelry From Margo

These red pieces are luscious and glamourous. They remind me of May West. Simply gorgeous and completely over-the-top.

Magic Camera Monday: Purple Jewelry From Margo

Along with stunning red jewelry, I received a variety of richly colored purple pieces.

Magic Camera Monday:  Green Jewelry From Margo

The luminous teals and greens are to-die-for, but the textures make me weep.

Magic Camera Monday: Black Jewelry From Margo

The black pieces are big, luscious and exotic.

Magic Camera Monday: Dangle Earrings From Margo

The details in these earrings leave me weak. Just look at the patterns on the metal. Simply scrumptious. 

Magic Camera Monday: Gold Jewelry From Margo

The gold pieces are vintage loveliness. Some are chic and trendy, others like the fish earring are oh, so funky and fresh. Sorry, I’m having Solid Gold Dancer flashbacks. 

Magic Camera Monday: Silver Jewelry From Margo

The silver pieces harken to old Hollywood and Deco chic. Yum-my.

This little box was filled with tiny treasures. Yep, they are treasures from Tennessee and I am thrilled to have them become part of my ever-expanding embellishment stash.

Thank you Margo (and your mother-in-law) for this glorious gift. I will treasure it as much as I do our friendship.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

13 Responses to “Magic Camera Monday: August 6, 2012”

  1. Diane in Texas Says:

    Gorgeous! I’ve got leather jewelry boxes FULL of my mother’s and grandmother’s jewelry. What are you going to do with yours?

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Diane, What a precious gift you have in your possession. What am I going to do with these treasures? I am not sure yet.

      Some pieces are easy to imagine using, but others are a little more challenging. They aren’t challenging from a design standpoint, because they are visually striking. The challenge comes in how to apply them to the quilt.

      I’ve had ideas rattling around in my head for years on how to address the issues of dealing with jewelry, but haven’t experimented with any of them. I plan to do some experimenting in the future. If my ideas work out like I think they will, I’ll be sharing them with everyone.

      I think fabulous and sentimental jewelry should be seen, not tucked away in a box, so give me a little time to play around with my treasures and we’ll see what happens.

      It’s always great to hear from you. Have a fabulous day!

  2. quilterlynn Says:

    Well, Tom, if you’ve got Margo on your team you are already several moves ahead of the rest of the world. She is indeed, a jewel! Beautiful additions to your ‘collection!’

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hey Lynn, Margo is a sweetie, that’s for sure. She thinks that she gave me junk, but I think they are treasures. Yes, she is a jewel and I feel blessed to call her friend.

      Thanks for dropping by to say hi. Hope you have a fantastic day!

  3. Jayardi Says:

    • • • Looks like you may have to start “Crazy” quilting with all those goodies. I can’t wait to see what you do with them.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jayardi, I keep making starts at Crazy quilting, but I can’t seem to get to a finish piece. I agree, these goodies would be fabulous on a Crazy quilt.

      I have no immediate plans for these pieces, but you never know where they might show up. I am just thrilled to have them in collection.

      Thanks for stopping by. It’s always great to hear from you. Hope you have a magical day! xxxooo 🙂

  4. Margo Says:

    WOW!! Tom, your magic camera made Genny’s trash look like real treasures!! Your photos will delight her and I’m sure that you will make better use of the jewelry than we did! Hugs…..

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Margo, You are too funny. My Magic Camera only sees what is there. You gave me treasures and that is evident in the photography.

      Please tell Genny that I appreciate having the opportunity to be a caretaker of her things. I also want to thank you for thinking of me as you were going through her treasures.

      The box was filled with treasures and a joy to go through. Thanks for providing me with such a lovely gift. As Lynn said, you are a jewel.

      Thanks for stopping by to comment. It was great hearing from you.

  5. Helen Seidel, Buna TX Says:

    Tom,
    I have some of those earrings in my jewelry box! Wow, now I have to get inspired.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Helen, How cool is that? Some of the earrings are amazing creations. When I see them, I can imagine doing hundreds of things with them.

      The shapes and finishes on the earrings are as endless. Each one offers endless creative possibilites. I am looking forward to the project that calls for me to use them.

      I am sure they will be challenging to use at first, but once I figure out how to handle them, they will be magical additions to my work.

      Thanks for stopping by. I hope appreciate your taking the time to comment. Hope you have an extraordinary day!

  6. Carla Says:

    I can see the wheels turning. Your creative mind is hard at work coming up with a way to use those priceless pieces fo jewelry.

  7. BJ Says:

    Margo IS such a wonderful friend to so many of us. What a glorious challenge! I can hardly wait to see the way you end up using these delightful treasures. Your mind must be racing with visions of quilts dancing in your head. 😀

  8. jessica Says:

    Hi Tom!
    Treasures for sure! Oh, the ‘quilt-y images’ that will come to you as you play with the pieces. Something vintage and beautiful, I’m sure!

Comments are closed.


