Magic Camera Monday: September 10, 2012

Going Coastal: 2012 Coastal Prairie Quilt Show Opener

The Magic Camera and I went on a little adventure this weekend. We went to the 2012 Coastal Prairie Quilt Show sponsored by the Coastal Prairie Quilt Guild.

I took several photos from this wonderful show, so if you’d like to see them, just click on the photo above or click here. Enjoy!

Tags: , , , , , ,

26 Responses to “Magic Camera Monday: September 10, 2012”

  1. Nikki Brackin Says:

    LOVED the show Tom – thank you so much for sharing!!!!!

  2. quilterlynn Says:

    You did a great job Tom. You even got a couple of mine! tee hee You certainly have learned to do close up magic with that camera!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Lynn, Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed the show. Seeing your name on several of the quilts made photographing the show even more special.

      I really enjoyed seeing your work up close. The orange flower basket quilt was a visual feast. So much fun to look at and filled with fabulous detail. Congratulations on creating such a wondrous piece.

  3. Jo Ann Says:

    The pictures of the quilts are wonderful. Thanks for sharing. Love the close up of the quilting and the tags on the quilts.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jo Ann, I’m glad you enjoyed the show. The Coastal Prairie Guild has a lot of talented members, which makes photographing the show easy.

      I really enjoy the close up photos too.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment. Have a great day!

  4. BJ Says:

    Fabulous quilts and fabulous photography. I did see a few quilts that would have enjoyed some beads and sequins I think. ;D

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi BJ, You are too funny. I am glad you enjoyed the show in spite of the lack of embellishment. It is always a great experience to see so much creativity under one roof.

      Thanks for dropping by to comment. It’s always great to hear from you.

  5. Pen Says:

    Wonderful photos thx so much for sharing them. I do love the quilting on the Rose of Sharon – cheers Tom!

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Pen, I am glad you enjoyed seeing the show. I agree, Francie did a wonderful job quilting the Rose of Sharon.

      Thanks for taking the time to see the show and adding to the conversation. Have a fabulous day!

  6. jayardi Says:

    • • • Wonderful photos – again! Thank you so much for sharing.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jayardi! It’s so good to hear from you. I’m glad you enjoyed the show. Sharing wonderful experiences with my BFFs is one of the best things I get to do.

      Have a fabulous day! xxxooo 🙂

  7. Anne Andrew Says:

    Thanks Tom. It is so nice to see what other quilters are doing in other parts of the world.

    Annie Andrew

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Anne, You are most welcome. I agree. It is always a wonderful experience to see what other quilters are doing around the world.

      Thank you for taking the time to see the show and to add to the conversation. I hope you have a glorious day!

  8. Sharon Kisel Says:

    Thanks for the wonderful photos of the beautiful quilts! You do have a lot of fun and are very kind to share with us.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Sharon, It’s great to hear from you. I am glad you enjoyed seeing the work of these very talented quilters. It is easy to share beauty like this with friends.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment. I really appreciate it.

      Have a fabulous day!

  9. Jackie Says:

    Awesome, once again beautiful pictures! You are so lucky to be able to see the quilts up close. Thanks for sharing.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Jackie, Thanks for your kind words. It was a great experience to see the quilts close up. I find it a challenge to appreciate the details when you are 6 or more feet away from the work. I enjoy shows that give me the opportunity to savor the details.

      Thanks for taking the time to see the show and for commenting. It’s always great to hear from you. I hope you have a magnificent day!

  10. Sandy Says:

    Wow!! Wonderful quilts. Thanks for sharing.

    • Tom Russell Says:

      Hi Sandy, Wow is right. The Coastal Prairie show is filled with wonderful quilts. It was my pleasure to share them with you. I’m glad you enjoyed the show.

      Thanks for dropping by to comment. Have a fabulous day!

  11. Carol Kettlewell Says:

    Like your version of fun birds better than mine, but glad you enjoyed looking at the fun I had playing with birds in a tree.

  12. Jane Hancock Says:

    Great pictures of the quilts at the CPQG show!

  13. Karen Lambdin Says:

    Tom, I have enjoyed viewing your photos of shows that I couldn’t make it to! Thanks to my friend Charlotte who shared your site with me. I can see that you are as interested in the fantastic quilting as I am. Thanks so much for taking all that time to upload these photos for everyone.

  14. Carla Says:

    Great Pictures. I’m never disappointed. The past month has been so busy. I can’t even remember why I didn’t get to go to the show.
    Glad you had pictures to share.

Comments are closed.


